• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.8MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Registered assistance dogs only. Please contact the hotel directly should you have any specific requirements.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo has its own private car park offering over 80 spaces on two levels. Charges will apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:148
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:127
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:148
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local
View More
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local buildings and connect the interior of our hotel to the city’s vibrant and lively streets. Locally inspired Our interiors are inspired by the neoclassical Tyneside styles you’ll see nearby, featuring classical proportions and repeating patterns. You’ll find photos and artwork depicting Tyne Bridge, Grainger Market and many of the city’s best buildings on our walls, meaning you can explore the local area before you step outside our doors! Grainger Lounge, our bar and restaurant uses bold colours, monochrome patterned floors and chic design. It takes its name and design inspiration, from Robert Grainger, the architect of our local area. Discover the neighbourhood The wonderful, Grainger Market is a stone’s throw from our boutique hotel and a good spot for coffee and people watching. And if you’ve got a head for heights, the nearby Sage Gateshead Arts Centre offers an exhilarating guided roof experience .
View Less
Features
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is located in the city centre, close to the railway station and some of the UK’s best shopping and nightlife. You can enjoy spacious bedrooms, warm service and modern facilities, including invigorating spa-inspired rain fall shower, iPod docking station and Free WiFi. Why not enjoy a delicious meal or relax with a cocktail in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill?

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 177 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for money, close to Metro Shopping Center Clean and spacious room. We had a room at the rear side, the railway track at some distance is not an issue, noise levels are very, very low. Sufficient dining facilities adjacent to the hotel. Complimentary breakfast is OK, both variety and quality. Unfortunately the complimentary Wifi was out of order. Convieniently located close to the Metro Shopping Center. Highly recommended for short stays. 27 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Receptionist Aggie was very rude Upon arrival the receptionist Aggie was very very rude! A mistake had been made for the type of room booking I had made. I had a confirmation e-mail stating that I had booked a twin room (two beds) but when the key cards were handed, I had been given a family room (one bed and a sofa bed). I went back to reception and raised the situation with the receptionist (Aggie). She was very unhelpful and was unwilling to rectify the problem. I was also told that because it was a weekend and that there were family's staying, we had to keep the noise down. I spend a lot of time in hotels and I have never been told to keep the noise down. I felt patronized, like I was a child! I felt that was highly unacceptable especially when the next night I was unable to sleep at around 9pm because there was a lot of noise coming from a group of lads in other rooms around me. Throughout my whole checking in experience with Aggie on the friday, I found her to be very very rude and not very helpful. 25 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very noisy a hotel at night We had two rooms in our party and we all got woken up at various times of the night by people walking up and down the corridors drunk and they were shouting and sometimes stood outside our rooms having conversations. When we checked in we got asked what we were there for at this point we should have been issued a room not given a room before they knew what we were there for. If the hotel tried to issue rooms when people checked in we probably would have been able to sleep a little at night!!! Overall we were not happy with the stay because over the two nights we stayed we did not get much sleep. 24 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LOVELY PLACE TO STAT Just back from our 7th stay in this hotel for our yearly xmas shopping trip and can't recommend it highly enough. rooms are immaculate and staff so helpful! Looking forward to next years stay already! 23 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Carloe Have stayed in this hotel before many times but this visit not as good booked no smoking room and as soon as you entered room really strong smell of smoke and bed linen the same. 23 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noise We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn at Newcastle. This was our first time at this hotel and we wont be returning to this hotel again. The room was located near a corridor door so all throughout the night the door was constantly slammed. The room occupants next door were very noisy until early hours of Sunday morning. Along with this cleaning staff disturbed us at 6.45am in the corridors, they were very noisy and had no consideration for any guests. The door was repeatedly slammed. On the morning staff rang us to check out when we still had nearly an hour until checkout time. During checkout no staff member asked us about our stay and were not very friendly. They simply took our key and said thanks. Worst budget hotel experience we have had. 23 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by In need of someone taking charge Probably one of the worst holiday inn expresses I have stayed in! Reasonable check in no issues here. But here's where the good points end. We were only here for the 1 night, and crossed the road for a meal at a nearby restaurant. Came back to have a nightcap, but waited a good 10 minutes at the bar for a drink , only to eventually to be served by a girl who was clearly stressed at being on duty herself and not at all interested in serving me with a smile! So off to what we hoped would be a good nights sleep. No luck there as the bed was more like a trampoline. That and my wife and I kept rolling into one another! So up in the morning looking forward to a bit of breakfast so set us up for the day ahead! Been to many HIE's but someone really needs to have a look at this 1. Got to the breakfast room at 8.45 a good 45 mins till close, and I could choose nothing apart from cereal. No bread for toast. No hot items left. No milk for coffee! Half an hour later I got what I was looking for! Nobody apologising for the delay or shortage of food! Really got to do better!!! 18 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good value comfortable accomodation shame about the guests. We stayed for 2 nights a Friday and Saturday for a birthday treat and to visit the Metro centre for the first time. We have chosen holiday inns in the past for there good value, and this one is no exception. It is a good base for the metro centre which is within easy walking distance. The Friday night was as comfortable as expected but unfortunately the Saturday night was almost unbearable when we were sandwich between some youngsters, who decided that running around in the corridors and shouting loudly etc was acceptable this was repeated when they returned from their night out at 2am and went on for almost an hour..!! so to summarise great hotel but let let down by un rulely disruptive guests. 16 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Basic I was not expecting much and this holiday inn express did just that. . Cold room. Not air conditioning. No explanation how to use the heater. Overal state of the room basic. Bed comfort minimal. Breakfast was very blunt. Scrambled eggs very dry and tasteless. No bacon. Service at reception was as blunt as the place itself. A budget hotel can have comfort, warmth and style... Maybe holiday inn express should try it! 14 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Shopping Break Good value for the money, beds rock hard but would happily stay again. 11 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff but pitiful facilities and poor room quality Rooms are dingy and the housekeeping quite poor. The clientele are generally noisy (especially on weekends) and the rooms are far from sound proof. A bit of a party hotel. Very few business amenities are available and the wifi requires constant 24 hour re-authorization, which must be obtained from the front desk. Recommend looking elsewhere for accommodations, especially when staying for business. 09 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Too many stag and hen parties We used to stay here regularly to visit our family but haven't for the last couple of years as we never had a good nights sleep due to the noise. We decided to try again but unfortunately the same issues apply...whilst there are rosters for security checks and staff do try to contain those who have drank to excess they haven't succeeded. Matress was very poor and the walls are paper thin so the couple next door to us (who had too much to drink) woke us up and then kept us awake with their snoring. Once they fell asleep the stag hen parties took over. I understand the need to run a business by getting people through the door, but too many stag and hen parties! 09 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very good My husband and I stayed for 1 night as we were going shopping at the metro centre which was 10 minutes drive away from the hotel Room was good size clean the only downside was the bed it was to springy so every time my husband turned over I was bounced about. Also the duvet had no over hang so we were fighting for cover The breakfast was alright but there was no bacon but these are a small price to pay for 1 night all in very good stay and service. 08 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ideal location just returned from the hotel,great location for metro center, plenty of restraunts nearby so in all very plesant stay. will return 27 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value Sunday night stay Stayed on a Sunday night & great value for money . Wife found double bed mattress dipped in the middle but it did not bother me .I have stayed here before and would recommend it 26 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good room and service, but noisy sleep-deprived night! First stay in Newcastle bringing my son to University. Room was fine - comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. However, our Saturday night stay was hugely disrupted by a party from Glasgow making huge amounts of noise through the night - 3am til 5am. Really sad. It had obviously been a nightmare for the duty manger, but that is no comfort to guests, who just want to relax and get a normal night's sleep. If this is a regular occurence at weekends it needs to be flagged. For this reason, I would not stay again. It was horrid!!! 26 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Value ! Had a 2 night stay with my wife while working in the area. Good sized room,comfortable bed and a walk-in power shower certainly matched our requirements.Breakfast choice more than adequate. will certainly use again ! 26 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room for improvement having stayed in a few HEI Hotels i must say that the was a lack of interaction from the staff and no depth of welcome, which is a shame. The bedroom was clean, but the bar area was not tidy when quiet or busy, i had to clear away food and empty drinks to get sat down. There seem to many contractors staying that felt at home enough for them to let rip with some lovely foul language at every other word in the public area with no comments from staff. At the other branches i have stayed at there was bacon on offer at breakfast, but none on this visit. Can't say the room was cheap, room for improvement 24 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bar service Was disapointed that the bar ran out of white wine about 21.30 in the evening, other than that very nice hotel 21 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good service, Great location, Would stay again A good hotel in a good location only let down by the uncomfortable bed and a poor breakfast. Cooked breakfast was a bit tasteless and lacked other amenities such as bacon, hash browns etc to complete a full English. 20 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 lovely room lovely comfy room;great location with a choice of eateries adjacent to the hotel. only grumble was the noise from the kitchen below my room early in the morning. 14 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Clean This hotel offers a convenient location for driving and shopping. Staff were friendly and helpful. The quiet wing is a practical solution for travellers. The bed we had seemed to be much softer than the average HIE standard. Cleanliness was of a high standard. 07 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AN EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY THIS HOTEL IS VERY CONVENIENT FOR THE METRO CENTRE AND ALL ACTIVITIES IN NORTHUMBERLAND THE ROOM WAS CLEAN AND TIDY, THE BREAKFAST WAS EXCELLENT, AND THE STAFF WERE VERY HELPFUL WE WILL USE THIS HOTEL AGAIN SOON 07 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal position for metrocentre This hotel is in the ideal position if your taking a trip to the metrocentre. The metrocentre is only a 10 minute walk on a public footpath at the side of the hotel. There is two pubs across the road that serves good food if you dont want to eat in the hotel.The staff in the hotel are very friendly and very helpful. The hotel was very clean and the beds comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was a good choice for everyones taste so in all this is the hotel i will be staying again on my next visit to newcastle 01 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliantly placed for Metro Centre and touring The room was clean and comfortable, a decent space between the main and the guest bed and with a window opening wide enough to let in a much welcome breeze. As HIG members we made full use of the free wi fi. Breakfast, although satisfactory, would have been improved had the toaster worked properly! Was pleasantly surprised by how quiet the hotel was and by how close it is to the Metro Centre. All in all, a comfortable stay and one we would definitely repeat. 29 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stag night at Newcastle Hotel was nice and affordable! Right next to the Metro as well so it was good the next day that we could go visit the mall before heading back to Leeds. We were slightly disappointed about the bad reviews about hen parties running around the corridors - we didn't get any :o( We would definitely stay there again for another stag party! 29 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by nice staff! Easy to locate hotel, close to metro centre, very friendly staff. The room was dreadful. Very hot, the bed, was hard and lumpy and the leg was off! The sofa bed for the children's very uncomfortable! Pillows one each, and flat, one smelt of foist! The bathroom was clean and nice. The breakfast was free!! But was so disgusting we left it on the first morning, and didn't bother on the second! So it ended up costing eating out fir breakfast! 26 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly welcome Stayed at the Gateshead Holiday Inn Express for one night - a bit apprehensive as we had with us our one year old westie who was away from home for the first time. But he was great! And the friendly welcome from the female receptionist on the Friday night (16th August) was so welcoming. Rooms were clean and more than adequate. Breakfast was included and the choice was plentiful. The hotel was gandily located for the A1 and the Metro Centre, and for eats there's a TGI Friday, a KFC, and a fine pub right on the doorstep. So all good but the best thing... the friendliness of the staff. 20 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room lovely - shame about the breakfast A hot breakfast without bacon is just not complete! 16 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tired hotel Bed uncomfortable. Room not cleaned thoroughly. Room either warm or noisy if you opened window! 16 August 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Indigo at night Welcome to Hotel Indigo Newcastle Relax on your balcony with views of Grainger Town Our Reception desk All Superior Rooms have a balcony Angel of the North 15 minutes drive from the hotel Fancy watching NUFC while here Grainger Market gave the inspiration for our bedroom design China Town is a must while here Monument is the centre of all the action Central Station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel Newcastle Assembly Rooms are located nextdoor to the hotel Excellent shopping at Eldon Square just minutes form the Hotel River Tyne just a short walk away Sports Direct Arena is just a ten minute walk from the hotel China town has amazing  art work Visit Castle Keep whilst staying at Hotel Indigo Newcastle World famous Tyne Bridge Just some of our amazing Scenery which is just a short drive away Angel Of The North at night Vist the must see Baltic A must see while visiting the North East - Tynemouth coastline Just minutes away from the hotel the Blinking Eye bridge
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Discover the nights.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading