Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

WELCOME TO

San Francisco

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Dan Sotelo
Chief Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

Don't call it Frisco!

San Francisco is a great diverse city, with its people from all parts of the world. We're friendly and enjoy showing off our city, don't hesitate to ask anyone for directions!
HISTORIC SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL
As splendid as when it opened in 1926, Mark Hopkins is one of the city’s finest historic San Francisco luxury hotels. It’s ideally located at the crossing of three cable car lines, just minutes from Union Square. Each suite is furnished in a unique, stately style. Breathtaking views of San Francisco combine with fine dining and a signature 100 Martini menu at Top of the Mark restaurant. Described when it opened as ‘architecturally perfect’, this San Francisco luxury hotel remains so today.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    The legendary Top of the Mark lays the city at your feet with near 360 degree vistas showcasing the beautiful and scenic skyline of San Francisco. ...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre is equipped with Precor ellipticals, stationary bikes, treadmills and Paramount weight machines, many with flat-screen T...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Contact hotel for details
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    4:40 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service Animals Allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 176 reviewers.
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by PROPERTY IS IDEAL BUT NOT THE STAFF NOT THE HONEST STAFF. WORST EXPERIENCE IN MY ENTRE CARREIER OF THE STAYIN IN THE HOTELS. I TRAVELLED MORE THAN 100 ( ONE HUNDRED) COUNTIRES BUT THE CHECKING STAFF WAS NOT HONEST IN HIS REMARKS. OTHERWISE PROPERTY IS IDEALLY LOCATED VERY NEAR TO TRAIN STATION , 30 MINUTES WALK TO DOWN TOWN, BREAK FAST IS VERY COSTLY . December 19, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value The hotel was very clean and a good value. However, the hotel is definitely not located in the best area of the city, unless you are looking to stay around the civic center. November 29, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will come back.... Nice and clean Hotel with friendly Staff. Big Rooms with nice views. Quiet at night. That's what a traveller wants..:-) P.S. The Breakfast is to expensive..... November 28, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenience Great location to both Muni & Bart at Civic Center Station. But, this station is very dirty. A lot of homeless camp out at this station. On my last visit a homeless woman, with obvious mental issues, was urinating on the sidewalk just outside the entrance of the hotel. Seeing this made me seriously consider is it all worth it to stay here. If I were a woman, I would not walk to or from this hotel late at night alone. However, once inside the hotel it is all together a different experience. The entire staff is friendly & very accommodating. November 25, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed experience We liked the location of the hotel in the middle of down town. Especially the staff in the restaurant was very friendly and service oriented. The rooms were adequate, but the public space is a little out dated. One thing is not acceptable wssdisappointing: the wifi connection. It just didn t work a part of our stay. We had to leave our room and go to the elevator area for a connection. Ofcourse we asked the reception for improvement. They gave as a reason: the hotel was fully booked. In general: in its present state and performance the holiday Inn does not live up to expectations. Little improvement can have a huge positive impact. November 23, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Seemed to be a lot of construction outside and a great number of panhandlers/homeless. Limited Menu November 20, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Central Location This hotel is great for the location its at if you plan to visit San Francisco. It also offers secure and easy parking, usally not available in San Francisco. Hotel was very modern looking. It was also spotless. The rooms were a bit dated/plain along with the balcony. November 17, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel. Only drawback was that if you were going to get out of the hotel to go have something to eat or drink, you need to walk close to a mile to find any decent options. Otherwise, once in the hotel, I think this place was excellent. November 13, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Too much DNA I don't appreciate finding toothpaste on the faucet handles, short curly hair on the toilet bowl, and hair in the shower and on the bed. Those who clean the rooms (this is true for the last five places I've stayed) should wipe down the door trim, the wood work, and the bathroom side of the doors periodically to rid them of smudges and smears that suggest the worst. November 12, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Standard Holiday Inn Service This hotel is one of the standard Holiday Inn nothing special nor the location compare to all the Holiday Inn I stayed before! Not restaurants outside the hotel you have to work to other street to find for restaurants. Nothing has being changed since I stayed over 20 years ago. November 6, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay And Value Everyone at the check-in/check-out desk was extremely nice and very helpful and accommodating. Every request was fulfilled - extra cot, extra towels, late check out, adjacent rooms - without any hassle. Rooms were clean, bathrooms were clean. Beds were very comfortable. Overall very good stay for a very good price. Also, located close to downtown SF and Bart station. November 5, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very well run hotel 1/2 block to bus service and 1/2 block to a Bart station November 5, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Como en casa Este es un hotel que no habia visitado desde hacia algo mas de 8 meses y fue muy agradable regresar y que el personal de la recepcion se acordara de mi, me llamaron por mi nombre y me dieron una bienvenida como si estuviera volviendo a casa... realmente el trato fue ameno, calido y al mismo tiempo muy amable... muchas gracias a todos! November 5, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice view An excellent service by staff .Room decor was nice . Lobby was an excellent November 3, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Value In the City for a family wedding...7 of us and a baby....only needed 2 rooms....and had plenty of space and did not spend the family fortune.... October 30, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great as usual No matter where I go Im always happy with the staff and my suite! If you want hassle free no worries in a secure location then this is your best bet. Rooms are super clean and the staff is extra friendly, helpful and know their city! So much to do and I got to swim in the Pacific so I didn't get a chance to check out the pool and other facilities at this location October 28, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Property Great hotel, in close proximity to the area attractions. The staff is very friendly and nice. The room were very clean and up to date October 24, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAFF I WAS IN THE HOTEL FOR 1 WEEK AND THE ATTENTION OF THE STAFF WAS EXCELENT. October 21, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overpriced and poorly staffed Parking overpriced, unimpressive female bartender....bad for business October 16, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location & wonderful staff! The staff at this location was amazing. So on top of everything and helpful. The location is amazing, just steps from BART and short walks to prime entertainment. The price is more than what I'd typically pay for a Holiday Inn, but as far as San Francisco rates go, it is very reasonable. October 8, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by worst hotel stay I've ever had this was the absolute worst hotel room I have ever stayed in.. I couldn't sleep because of the noise outdoors, the room filled with smoke, and it was generally uncomfortable (air conditioning didn't work and the remote control stopped working during my stay, not to mention the fact that the Internet was extremely slow and I couldn't work from the room). my bathroom is even dirty when I checked in.my bathroom was even dirty when I checked in. October 8, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and awesome service The hotel is nicely located in downtown, close to the City Hall and the BART station. Rooms are super clean and comfy. Staff is very helpful and amicable. October 4, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, questionable location I always stay at Holiday Inn Civic Center when I visit San Francisco. The hotel provides clean comfortable rooms for guests. But the location is questionable, especially at night, even worse if outdoors alone. But it is very convenient for MUNI and BART transportation. Currently construction is occurring beside the hotel which results in noise in the morning (the hotel provides ear plugs) which makes "sleeping in" difficult. There is a parking garage inside the hotel property, but $37 per night is a little excessive. The same with the $20+ breakfast buffet. Members of the Holiday Inn frequent guest program used to receive complimentary coupons for the breakfast, but on my last few visits, none were offered. October 3, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good hotel, great pool Good hotel, not quite so great a location, but we managed. Transport is good, especially the F tram to the waterfront. Would prefer option of a more reasonably priced breakfast packages, eg cereal/fruit/yoghurt, plus poached eggs on toast. Pool is very good, nowhere to change or shower though. American hotels,such as the Holiday Inn chain, need to have (available from reception if need be), an electric jug (kettle) and milk and tea bags for British Commonwealth visitors in particular. Also renting a fridge is a silly idea - should be provided, not expensive - rental cost is exorbitant. October 3, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by little bit of waiting with a busy weekend I was there less waiting time to check in at 3 pm be great ... and checking out one person on the front desk is not enough help..... clean and restful a plus ....computer room a little hard to under stand if its free or not ..it is free to use the computers October 3, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Slept really well. Great stay. Awesome staff. Very warm and comfortable stay. Everyone on staff was amazing. Had a great trip and will most likely stay again in the future. October 2, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location The property has a great location that is centrally located to the BART and MUNI along Market Street. The surrounding area is not the best with all of the homeless people, but the location and cleanliness of the rooms created a good stay. September 30, 2013
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn 50 8th st san francisco ca 94103 Check in computer system was down for over 4 hours. Although staff was friendly it is unacceptable the hotel does not have a backup system to accommodate guests timely. Hotel shower head water flow was also a huge problem. Either the shower head needed cleaning so the water flow rate could improve or the shower head needed to be replaced. Nothing worse than coming back to the hotel after a long work day to try to relax with a good shower and being unable to do so because of a cheap or duty or old shower head. September 27, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location with comfortable beds I stayed at HolidayInn San Francisco by Civic Center in June for one night only while I was in town for business. The receptionist (Ana?) was an extremely nice lady and check-in as well as check-out procedures were a breeze! It was nice to notice the recognition of IHG (then PriorityClub) members and I was given a choice of rooms I could stay in (double vs one bed). The room was clean, comfortable, big and simple. The light sound of the construction was still heard on the top floor, but it didn't bother me at all. Plus, earplugs are provided in all rooms, so light sleepers staying here will be fine as well. The only minus I could find in this hotel is dining. If you are a tired traveler that can't or doesn't want to walk too far, then you will be super disappointed with the on-site choices. 50onEight is their cafe/restaurant, which offers a limited variety of food and seems overpriced for the quality and the service that you get. I looked around the buffet area which was half empty and settled on a pasta meal from the regular menu.. Now, I really don't think that their meals were expensive, but the taste and the quality was really bad and as you can imagine it's hard to make pasta taste bad. The servers looked bored and appeared unfriendly to the customers. Summary. HolidayInn in San Francisco/Civic Center is conveniently located and provides a good and comfortable rest. The hotel staff at the reception is extremely helpful and friendly. Skip their on-site restaurant and you will have nothing to complain about. September 26, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay at the Holiday Inn San Francisco CIvic Center - Sept. 2013 We stayed with my wife at the Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco from Sept. 16 to Sept. 2013. Location is fantastic and very convenient to visit San Francisaco downtown but the ciminality in the vincinity is an issue especially in the evening. The hotel room was large and the bed very confortable and not noisy at all. Still the bathroom and carped was not fully cleaned every day. We were negatively surprised by the outdoor pool facility and the non availability of snacks in the distributors of the hotels (only soft drinks are available). September 26, 2013
    <<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>