Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Mark Hopkins San Francisco

WELCOME TO

San Francisco

Concierge Photo Concierge Signature
Dan Sotelo
Chief Concierge

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

Don't call it Frisco!

San Francisco is a great diverse city, with its people from all parts of the world. We're friendly and enjoy showing off our city, don't hesitate to ask anyone for directions!
HISTORIC SAN FRANCISCO LUXURY HOTEL ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL
As splendid as when it opened in 1926, Mark Hopkins is one of the city’s finest historic San Francisco luxury hotels. It’s ideally located at the crossing of three cable car lines, just minutes from Union Square. Each suite is furnished in a unique, stately style. Breathtaking views of San Francisco combine with fine dining and a signature 100 Martini menu at Top of the Mark restaurant. Described when it opened as ‘architecturally perfect’, this San Francisco luxury hotel remains so today.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    The legendary Top of the Mark lays the city at your feet with near 360 degree vistas showcasing the beautiful and scenic skyline of San Francisco. ...
  • Amenities & Services

    Our 24-hour fitness centre is equipped with Precor ellipticals, stationary bikes, treadmills and Paramount weight machines, many with flat-screen T...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Mark Hopkins San Francisco
  • 999 California Street
  • San Francisco , CA , 94108
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-415-3923434

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, up to 25lbs, with a non refundable USD50 fee per night. Specific rooms or floor only. Pet cannot be left unattended in guest room.
Pet Fee $50.00 per night
  • Local Time

    6:41 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 14 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 716 reviewers.
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and clean but lacking in customer service attitude Front desk staff and procedures are chaotic and lacking in consistency. Bell captains are more interested in angling for a tip than truly helping. Restaurant has poor quality food, mediocre service, and is expensive. Go to a locals place instead. There a lot around. The exercise room and pool are miniscule and the rooms overlooking the pool suffer from both pool noise and street noise. Housekeeping staff are terrific and rooms are spotless. Beds are comfortable. So if you need a cheap place to stay and you can get a quiet room, this isn't too bad. But don't expect a charming welcoming staff at the front desk who go out of their way to assure that all goes smoothly for the customer. March 10, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value with excellent service Had an added night to original stay, moved a block or two from my original hotel. My stay was a better value with excellent service, some areas dated, but rooms were larger with a very comfortable bed March 8, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay, AMAZING location! Staff was very nice and efficient, as well as knowledgeable. Enjoyed my stay very much. Location was AMAZING March 4, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Review Perfect location for the price. Our first time in San Fran and the location worked very well for us (tourist). Walking distance to everywhere. If working in financial district, take transportation. All staff was very helpful & cheerful. Did not eat at facility, cannot comment on dining. Room was quiet & comfortable. Pool faces street with shrubs around it, noisy due to traffic, but nice to be outside in sunshine. We requested a small refrigerator, it was provided without delay. We will go back. February 28, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sales Manager Thank you for making my stay and excellent hotel experience! February 26, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Somewhat dirty room Hair on the walls in the bathroom and pillow smelled like urine. Some of the staff were rude. We stayed at that holiday inn because we thought it had free breakfast but the prices for food and breakfast were outrageous. Almost $6 for a cup of coffee. One nice clerk did suggest a great breakfast place. I would not stay at that location again. February 23, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Somewhat of a good stay This hotel seriously does need to invest in making the rooms quieter for guests. My room faced the streets during the stay, and between 2-5 am every morning, I was woken up by the street sweeper (sounded like a jet engine), Sirens, People yelling down the streets, construction crew causing racket. The room temperature fluctuated drastically as well, it was either too cold or too hot, even though I had adjusted the thermostat. Other than that, the room was clean, staff was friendly and somewhat attentive on greetings. I like the fact that the location of the hotel was very close to the wharf. If the management can work on making the rooms less noisy, this place would be great to stay at. February 18, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This was about as good of a location as one could find if you're a tourist in San Francisco which we were. We had a nice time and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was too expensive and they have a monopoly on parking because you can't park on the street but other than that I recommend it. February 15, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good solid comfort at great location But the food (breakfast we ate 5 times) was off the chart expensive. $51 for two eggs, bacon toast coffee and juice times 2 = too much. Otherwise great place! February 14, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Welcome The hotel employee at the front desk was very welcoming and courteous. She was very helpful and engaging. Breakfast was overpriced and not a good value. February 13, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, nice location, but.... Holiday Inn offers EVERYWHERE free WiFi This hotel also offers Free WiFi... however is unusable... unreliable, slow, frozen lava moving slow. I contact the front desk, they transfer me to a 'internet service' place where a very difficult to understand Asian gentlemen try to help me asking me to change a bunch of settings in my lap top... After spending more than 30 minutes, I give up and told him politely "thank you, everything is ok now"... However 2 laptops, and 3 cel phones that work perfectly fine in my home network and in 100's of other places i have log in.... were unable to function in this location.. even with a 'FULL' reception. I call again, explain that all the equipment I had were not working, they say 'will reset the modem'..... Result: The same. No improvement. However if you are here for vacation, the lack of wifi will allow you (or force you) to relax... Don't plan to be here for business.... February 12, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and location Overall I really enjoyed my stay here. I was in town for a conferene and the location was fantastic and the price was right. Beds were very comfy and front desk staff were fantastic. Also really enjoyed the lobby coffee kiosk and pastries. The only area that could use improvement is in the bar….I was shocked frankly at how disinterested the bartenders were in making drinks or waiting on customers. It was really baffling to all of us. The first night we were there, we had the room to ourselves and there were 10-12 of us sitting at tables. The bartender looked at us, but never came over to assist and there was no one at his bar. One of the girls went up to get a few drinks and he told her, "You better tell them I'm not coming over there, so if they want anything, they need to come up to the bar." He could have made so much money on our group if he'd made even the slightest effort. The next night wasn't much better. It was a different bartender, but she seemed in her own world…one that was also disinterested in pouring drinks. She was very slow. Other than that, we did really enjoy it here. February 12, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great view from our room excellent location, close to Fishermans wharf and North Beach February 12, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location the hotel was clean and employees all were very helpful and friendly. It is in a great location, central to lots of nice areas. The hotel is a bit old, but well maintained and clean. Free wifi but the signal was extremely slow -- at times it was unusable. Would like to see an upgrade there. February 11, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Adequate for a one night stay. My main reason for the somewhat harsh review is the lack of availability of food service at this hotel. I arrived from a delayed international flight at 1010pm and was able to check in, the staff kindly upgraded my room to the executive floor, which was lovely. However the insert in the room advertised a lounge being open from 430-1130pm daily. It was closed at 1010pm when I checked in. I was told that the only option for a meal or beverage was Denny's, just across from the hotel. Additionally in the morning, breakfast was advertised as being serves between 7-11am. I went down at 1045am, a little late yes I admit, and was blatantly reminded by 3 different hotel staff that they were closing the dining room. I was rushed through my order February 11, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Here! We had a brief but wonderful visit to the Bay Area. We were well taken care of by the staff and our accommodations were excellent. This was a very nice room. The location is great for visiting the Bay Area. February 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, accommodating staff and clean rooms The staff was very nice about us changing rooms to a different size bed. The room was clean, and we always had the proper number of towels needed. February 5, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great value and stay I had read mixed reviews about this location but ultimately chose it based on price. When I arrived in San Fran it was easy to locate. I wound up parking off the property, down the street at anchorage square. Cheaper than the hotel and lots of parking available even on a Friday. Staff was friendly, and the room with one king bed was more than large enough for myself and 5 yr old. There was noise from the street all night long but the only reason I know this is from waking up on my own; it wasnt impossible to fall asleep. The Denny's is located in the 2nd building so we just grabbed breakfast after checking out. Location is great, walking distance to fisherman's wharf, pier 39 and ghiridelli square. I plan to return to the city very soon and I will be staying here again! February 5, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comodidad y ubicación Camas y almohadas excelentes para descansar en un hotel cuya ubicacón es estupenda, cerca de restaurantes, y lugares de atracción en San Francisco, en un marco de excelente servicio. February 4, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not a great stay! Because the Holiday in was being "refreshed" we were told to walk our luggage two blocks away to the Holiday Inn Express. The next morning at 4:45 A.M. the men who were "refreshing" began loading their vehicles with steel beams outside our room with an accompanying loud discussion about the previous night. Our plumbing also went during our stay. A Denny's restaurant was in the lobby which attracted some scary people. February 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn-Fishermans Wharf Overall a nice hotel. Be aware - $40/night for parking. Good location for Fishermans Wharf. (Not too far from Ghiradelli's ice cream sundaes either!). February 1, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Somewhat a Jeckyl and Hyde experience. We reserved a room here at the beginning (two nights) and end (one night) of our California vacation week. The desk staff seemed inattentive and uncaring at our first check in. We were offered an apple in recognition of our Platinum IHG status, but we declined and requested bottled water instead. The clerk said they did not offer bottled water to Platinum members. This was immediately after my wife and I witnessed a desk clerk giving bottled water to a different couple who checked in before us. In spite of signs touting the inn's restaurant and menus, and in spite of internet claims of restaurant availability, the restaurant was closed for renovations. Signs remained up throughout the week, and were even changed daily, suggesting customers eat at the (closed) restaurant. On our second sign-in at the end of our vacation week, a different desk clerk seemed much more welcoming. We were also upgraded as part of our Platinum status at this second check-in. Overall the inn is convenient, and just okay. I would probably try a different hotel if I were to visit that area again. February 1, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by do not recommend undergoing renovations without notice, elevator works intermittently, staff is not friendly, no restaurant or bar at the time, vending machines sold out the entire time, the place looks shabby January 30, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty awesome location and great staff Very friendly and courteous people at the front desk. They were good enough to print out a list of vegeterian restaurants in the local area. Nice internet speeds and quick service, walking distance to fisherman's wharf is a big +. I didnt check out the TV so no idea what that's all about January 27, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No breakfast for Frequent User Disappointed in reception at front desk after long trip. January 27, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Happy Traveler Staff provided outstanding service. Loved the pillows and slept like a baby! January 25, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Eight I loved the stay felt safe to leave my car in the underground parking. It was very noisy though I got Jr. suite by the alley. Overall it was clean but the restroom was not well maintenance. I didn't like the fact that they didn't have free breakfast like other hotels do. January 24, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location This hotel is walking distance to Fishermans Wharf and to a CVS which is very convenient. I love the name brand bath products (i believe it was coconut lime from Bath and Body Works). The restroom could use a remodel but it served its purpose. January 19, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by You can always count on Holiday Inn The people that work here are so nice. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was great too. We had a great time. January 17, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK, older hotel, terrible wi-fi This was an Ok place to stay. The price was high. Didn't try the restaurant because there are so many choices on Fisherman's Wharf. A cup of coffee in the lobby was $4. There was coffee in the room which was OK. Internet access was very poor, and maddening to use. It works for a few seconds than completely stops. Other customers have complained about this on Trip Advisor, so mgmt knows about it. I was not even able to complete a rental car booking using the wi-fi. I had to use my phone as a hot spot to complete the booking. We had a room with a king bed. We could hear normal conversation in the next room through the adjoining room door even though it was closed and locked. I recommend making sure when checking in that you get a room without a connecting door. The sheets and towels were clean, floor was OK except for the popcorn on the floor by the window. It wasn't ours. January 16, 2014
    <<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 25 next>>