Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
88%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 1485 reviews
88%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1485reviews

  • 5 Stars
    826
  • 4 Stars
    411
  • 3 Stars
    135
  • 2 Stars
    64
  • 1 Stars
    49

Very clean and friendly polite staff.

By

17 November 2020

Very clean room cleaners came in every day and cleaned the whole room . Staff were very polite and breakfast ordered to room was spot on time . Would stay here again next time i am in this area.

Read More
Read Less

Repeat business traveller

By

14 November 2020

club

Neat and tidy hotel. Friendly staff. Efficient and polite check in. Dining facilities closed due to covid but breakfast was delivered to my run so absolutely no complaints.

Read More
Read Less

Heating in autumn/winter would be nice

By

12 November 2020

club

Booked two rooms for myself and family, the room I shared with my two daughters had inoperable heating the whole time we were there, this was reported on three occasions over two days and nothing was done aside from providing extra duvets so we could actually get to sleep... the option of an alternative room was mooted until staff realised I needed to be next to relatives and they had no adjoining rooms they could live us both to, I ended up heating the room with the supplied hair dryer - that I had to keep hold of to keep it on....
I am still waiting for a promised phone call or email from the manager some 2/3 weeks later.
As we were checking out I raised it again and the guest behind me in the queue for checkout was waiting to complain he’d had the opposite problem and couldnt turn the heating off.
This is an old hote that has been polished round the edges but needs significant work, there are many other better/newer hotels around Ipswich you could use.

Read More
Read Less

God Value .Good Service

By

07 November 2020

platinumelite

Staying at this hotel on a regukar basis as good location for y business.
Friendly staff, Good lounge area . Good choice of food.
And good value for money.
During difficult times for us all ,the staff are handling the situation well

Read More
Read Less

Friendly staff

By

05 November 2020

Executive bathroom very very small,had booked restaurant for meal,but when entered restaurant half in total darkness,not being used,also know onein there,so had to eat in bar,restaurant been refurbished since our last stay,gone from nice comfy ,with nice atmosphere,to what can only described as a cafe,no comfy seating or atmosphere,not a place for a nice eating experiance,had similar experiance at norwich holiday inn,they are changing restaurants to this type,very disapointng,will not be useing these type of restaurants when staying with holiday inn in furture

Read More
Read Less

Good all round experience

By

04 November 2020

Good all round experience, although it can be a bit pricey given the smallish rooms and bathrooms, the service in the hotel is quite good and it’s very clean.

Read More
Read Less

Very good

By

04 November 2020

club

Would stay again. Great service and clean. Get rid of the god ordering app, hopeless and pointless.

Read More
Read Less

Overnight stay.

By

04 November 2020

Convient location away from city and lots of parking space. Hotel is clean and staff very helpful.
Bed are tired and in better economic climate both beds and television could do with upgrading .
Otherwise no complaints as such.

Read More
Read Less

Time to recharge

By

01 November 2020

Stayed here many times in the past, the challenge of COVID -19 has made stays here more difficult. Management need to up their game and make sure sufficient staff are on duty. There were some sadly long delays for food so time to recharge was not as refreshing as it could have been.

Read More
Read Less

Not worth it even if its cheap

By

01 November 2020

Countless problems had to call customer service and duty manger wasn't up to the job .

We didnt enjoy the stay and would ha e checked out had it nit been to late in the afternoon

Read More
Read Less

Covid-19 Experience

By

31 October 2020

club

I arrived late the first evening around 8:50pm and the restaurant closed at 9pm so choose to eat out. The second evening I decided to wait until what I assumed would be after the rush and go down around 7:15pm, unfortunately this made no difference to the level of service.

The wait for food was unacceptable, approx 40 mins for my starter (Soup) and in total my dining experience lasted 2 hrs.

What I do need to mention is this is NOT down to the staff, they were under pressure due to having to cover the whole restaurant, bar, front of house and at times the reception with two members of staff. The Hotel was running a 50% off offer and it was also during half term, so whilst the food was a long wait the staff were very apologetic but under unfair pressure for poor management of staffing levels.

The staff were unable to clear tables and clean them due to the running around like "headless chickens" so tables were full of used plates etc and this limited the seats available to sit at and meant I had to choose a "dirty" table and request it was cleaned before my food came.

Overall the staff were polite and helpful given the mismanagement of required staffing levels, I felt that sorry for them I even offered to help clear tables and wipe down.

Read More
Read Less

poor ...very poor

By

31 October 2020

club

on arrival the reception was unattended and no mechanism to attract a member of staff.

waited fifteen minutes before able to check in, ignored by two members of staff.

mixer tap on bath not functioning correctly therefore unable to have bath ( room specifically requested for this purpose ) and only luke warm shower, impression given this is a known fault.

room 159 should not be used until fixed

Read More
Read Less