Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

20 South Tenth Street , Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15203

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
80%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 1573 reviews
80%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1573reviews

  • 5 Stars
    795
  • 4 Stars
    370
  • 3 Stars
    167
  • 2 Stars
    126
  • 1 Stars
    115

Room too bright at night.

By

19 May 2022

Great Hotel! Only issue was that installed drapes in room were not wide enough to close over window; therefore, light from parking lot kept room too bright at night.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and stylish room

By

16 May 2022

The room style was very nice, giving it a comfortable yet sophisticated feel. The bed was very comfortable and made for a good nights rest. The location of the hotel is well placed, offering many near by attractions.

Read More
Read Less

Good Room, mediocre breakfast

By

13 May 2022

The room was comfortable and clean, but the breakfast, which is trucked in frozen, was cold in the middle, especially the eggs.

Read More
Read Less

The location served me well!

By

12 May 2022

The hotel is easy to find and access to the different parts of the city is very nice! It sets at the base of the 10th st bridge (which is walkable) and is close to Carson St and the Inclines.
The view of the river and bridges from our room on the 6th floor was really incredible!
Staff was great!

Read More
Read Less

Everything was great except for checking in

By

09 May 2022

Room was nice, but checking in was a nightmare. Why give the option to pre-check in, then make me wait well over an hour to physically check in once I get there. Also, the back gate to the parking lot was open the whole time I was there.

Read More
Read Less

Just average experiance

By

07 May 2022

platinumelite

Good location to famous sightseeing area, and quiet place to stay.

But, the roll blind was broken... I talked to the receptionist to fix it while i was out for dinner if it was possible. They did not anything, even gave me any excuses.

I have to roll up by myself to see the night view of Pittsburgh through the window and i found out it had been broken for quite long time.

Read More
Read Less

Great location but needs improvements

By

29 April 2022

This hotel is located in a nice location on the south side - close to numerous food and beverage options. The facility is in need of some major improvements to address cosmetic and mechanical issues in the rooms - peeling wallpaper, unsecure shower curtain rods. The breakfast offerings and quality were extremely disappointing. They charge a $22 parking fee per night which seems very unfair based on the hotel location.

Read More
Read Less

Ok for price

By

26 April 2022

Room needed maintenance but overall stay was fine.

Read More
Read Less

Room was noisy

By

28 March 2022

club

The staff was super friendly especially the front desk. The chair in the room could use a good cleaning. The room was noisy with street and traffic noise. Otherwise, it was a good stay.

Read More
Read Less

100% no smoking - yer right!

By

24 March 2022

platinumelite

It just become one of my least favorite hotels, losing faith in IHG. Little things that added up to make it a less than ideal stay. Long wait to check in even though I had checked in on line and no member recognition / welcome. Got to the room and there was a smell of smoke in the bedroom. There was only 3 pillows, 3 hangers, 1 cup, 1 USB port and 1 trash can for a room with a king bed and pullout sofa bed. I asked front desk if they had more pillows and hangers and they said no! The TV remote control didn't work nor did the reading lights over the bed.
The fire alarm was activated during the stay and the staff seemed to run around telling everyone it was a false alarm rather than following any emergency protocols.
Breakfast was not ready at designated time and on the first morning there were no serving utensils leaving guests to use their forks to get food!
The smell of smoke in the room - discovered housekeeping staff smoking in the hallways!!
So much for a 100% smoke free facility!!!

Read More
Read Less

Room stinks and hotel is dirty and unkept

By

22 March 2022

Our room smelled like a high school gym locker. We immediately complained and asked for a better room. The front desk hesitated, then offered a solution for someone to come up, and spray a foam deodorizer on the carpet. The carpet stayed moist from this for the next three days because the A/C clearly wasn't removing humidity. Even the clean clothes I left with smelled like sweaty clothes from being in the room. On the second day, no hot water, took a freezing cold shower, in a tub that didn't drain!! No bottled water available (free or for purchase). Mildew in the shower, hardware falling off the walls, a door that didn't work reliably, hallways that were not vacuumed, this place is the worst Holiday Inn I have visited in 10 + years and I am surprised you allow your name to be used on it.

I would have told the front desk about the unreported items upon checkout, but they did not ask how my stay was.

Read More
Read Less

"C" - Compared to other HI Express.

By

25 February 2022

platinumelite

2/2022 We stayed at the HI Express over President's Day Weekend. They deserve a "C" when compared to other HI Express. I do not expect to stay at this specific HI Express again next time we're in town.

Why such a low grade, for a chain which has a solid playbook? The saving grace was the room was basically clean.

I think the workers are working, but lack training and supervision. IMO, This is more of a owner/management issue, rather than a worker issue. These are all easy fixes which should not have to be corrected on in this forum.

COVID has been brutal on the hospitality business. These are not COVID problems.

In the room...

* Not enough electrical outlets.
* Blind was broken in the room.
* No Laundry bag.

Common area...

* Overnight they kept the garbage on the guest room floors near the elevator (nobody brought it out at the end of the shift). Who trained the worker? Who supervised the worker?

* Breakfast area was NOT vacuumed at 630AM - still had Cheerios & other food on the floor. Who trained the worker? Who supervised the worker?

* No decaf coffee in the breakfast area. Who trained the worker? Who supervised the worker?

Read More
Read Less