Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
94%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.7

based on 851 reviews
94%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

851reviews

  • 5 Stars
    680
  • 4 Stars
    104
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    14

5 Star Pricing with 3 Star experience

By

20 June 2022

The definition of a 5 star hotel is "The most luxurious hotels in the world", and part of luxury is service. You can have a beautiful 100+ year old building with a nice pool on the water, but severely understaff it so that you feel like you're at 3-star hotel. That was my experience here. While the staff is incredibly friendly, they just aren't where they need to be when you need them, and it's not their individual faults. You can't expect 1 person to be valeting cars, hailing cabs, helping people put their luggage in a car, and accepting new guests all by themself. You also expect attention to detail, like re-stocking fridge/food/snacks during the daily room service (or even daily turn down).

While it's clear that the world is challenged by staffing shortages, a 5 star hotel should price to match. This is one of the most expensive hotels in Amsterdam.. and if you want to pay that for a physical building that is beautiful, great.. but if you want a full luxury experience where each morning you don't step outside to 'hope' maybe someone will be there, just to go back inside, to wait in line for someone else to go find someone for you.. maybe come back once the economy has recovered and staffing shortages are behind us (or robots have taken over)

What would have made this 5 star for me?

1. Have a dedicated valet that deals with cars, and a separate door person.
2. Restock rooms daily
3. Staff more than 1 person at reception
4. Offer room service beyond just what the basement restaurant menu has until 10pm.
5. Hold a taxi waiting during peak times
6. Replace broken art in rooms (Glass shattered in picture.. Next to tea pot, likely steamed to death?)
7. Seal shower doors better so you're not in a pool of water when you step out, since you can't adjust overhead shower angles.

Or, do none of those things.. and cut the cost by 50%.

Read More
Read Less

Great stay great location

By

24 May 2022

Great location. Great service, friendly staff. Great stay, clean rooms.

Read More
Read Less

Comfy bed

By

19 May 2022

Great property, great location. Need to refresh condition a bit. Check in could be available earlier.

Read More
Read Less

Fabulous hotel

By

01 May 2022

Great customer service, lovely standard of food. Just a shame that the bar was closed throughout our stay

Read More
Read Less

Beautiful hotel

By

27 April 2022

Beautiful hotel


Staff for the most part were excellent
Chips in the drinking glasses
Someone had used one of the nice glasses for their toothpaste and still had toothpaste stains in the bottom of it

Breakfast service was nice but not spectacular
Had trouble getting a 2nd cup of coffee I left after 15 minute wait

Put in an order for room service at 11 PM and it had not arrived when I went to bed at 1am
I presume they canceled it once it got so late

Swimming pool area was nice

Attempted to get a drink before going to the concert hall
But bar not open at 6 PM on a Friday
Had a great time at the symphony
I was able to walk back to hotel easily

Did not seem like a five star hotel
But it is a nice place

Read More
Read Less

Fantasic stay - again any time

By

18 April 2022

Stayed here in April for a family vacation - again a wonderful time in a superp hotel. Service was excellent, rooms of the expected high quality and quality of f/b perfect (especially breakfast). Odd were just the offered opening (limited) times for afternoon tea and their bar for a drink in the evening - but maybe that's due to consequences of Covid-19... But again - overall - very good!

Read More
Read Less

Lovely stay in Amsterdam

By

13 December 2021

platinumelite

My wife and I had a great stay at the Amstel hotel. Dinner was perfectly arranged in the room during covid times and the barcocktails and food was all wonderful. We had a great time and rest.

Read More
Read Less

Everything was great

By

09 December 2021

Everything was great from begining till the end of stay.great beds and showers with great view outside the hotel

Read More
Read Less

1st class Hotel

By

08 December 2021

The whole experience at this Hotel was brilliant. The service from all Personnel was outstanding. The breakfast was fantastic and evening meal great. Thank you.

Read More
Read Less

Amazing.

By

07 December 2021

Safe and clean service was over the top. Thank you for a great memory

Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

29 November 2021

platinumelite

Classic hotel in a perfect location with wonderful staff and a terrific pool.

Read More
Read Less

Exceptional And Memorable Experience

By

23 November 2021

platinumelite

From the initial welcome to the final checkout, our stay at the Amstel Hotel, Amsterdam was a most memorable and pleasurable experience. Every member of staff was friendly, helpful, attentive and professional. The restaurant for dinner and breakfast was also a wonderful experience. We would have no hestiation staying at the Amstel Hotel for future visits to this fantastic city.

Read More
Read Less