Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

InterContinental Athenaeum Athens

Important Announcements
Read more Read Less
Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Athenaeum Athens
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
92%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.6

based on 1405 reviews
92%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1405reviews

  • 5 Stars
    980
  • 4 Stars
    296
  • 3 Stars
    77
  • 2 Stars
    36
  • 1 Stars
    16

Personalised service one has come to expect from The Intercontinental

By

15 November 2020

The hotel felt safe and clean in these pandemic times. Staff in particular were very helpful and kept us in good spirits. Food options were perfectly acceptable given the local government restrictions. The room upgrade was very much appreciated as it allowed me to get some work done in a private area. However the room decor needs updating. The main tourist sites are a 20 min walk away or a short cab ride which makes the hotel an ideal place to retreat to away from the hustle and bustle.

Read More
Read Less

Extremly disappointing

By

13 November 2020

Check in was the worst I have encountered at an IHG hotel. Room given had the worst outlook available I think. Room not serviced on one of two days. This has reallt put mw off staying at this hotel again, where I did have such happy memories.

Read More
Read Less

Großartiges Aufenthalt während Lockdown in Griechenland

By

12 November 2020

Das gesamte Personal war stets freundlich und zuvorkommend. Die HK Abteilung hat einen großartigen Job geleistet. Selbst unter den Sitzkissen bei allen Sofas war es blank sauber. Sehr gut! Ansonsten gab es nichts zu meckern. Auch danke für das tolle Upgrade auf ein Premier Suite für Ambasador member. Nur ein kleiner Hinweis, bei einem Upgrade sollte vielleicht FO dem Gast Bescheid sagen, welche Zusatzleistungen der Gast außer der höheren Zimmerkategorie bekommen wird. Wir haben erst beim Check out gemerkt, dass das Frühstück in unserem Zimmerkategorie inklusive ist, obwohl wir kein Frühstück gebucht haben. Das kann nur durch das Upgrade geschehen. Schade.

Read More
Read Less

Athens Stay

By

10 November 2020

platinumelite

Comfortable stay in Athens and near attractions and restaurants. Limited currently due to Covid restrictions.

Read More
Read Less

Very disappointing for an InterContinental

By

08 November 2020

club

The hotel itself is beautiful inside, and the lobby areas look fantastic and are very well maintained. Spotless throughout, with sanitiser available on all floors.

However, this good aesthetic doesn’t match the experience you get there. The changes they have made for Covid don’t always make sense - for example, they have removed all coffee facilities from the rooms, but without making it available in the lobby - this just makes them look penny-pinching.

Also, no one tells you on arrival that the pool is closed... and the door is open with no signs saying ‘closed’. But when I went to use it someone came running out of the restaurant shouting very rudely that it was closed and I had to go away immediately. This man was the rudest hotel employee I have ever met. I shouldn’t be made to feel upset for staying in the hotel - in these difficult times, you’d think they’d make extra effort to be as nice as they can to the few people who are actually travelling.

Overall, not the experience I would expect from an InterContinental hotel, and one to remember in future when choosing a hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent and Safe Stay

By

07 November 2020

Usual Intercontinental welcome.

Greats service and quality.

Felt COVID safe.

Read More
Read Less

Disappointing for a premium hotel

By

04 November 2020

This is supposed to be the jewel in the crown, but the rooms feel tired and dated. It’s all a bit 1980s. There is no USB charging for phone or espresso machine (both available in the Athens Crowne Plaza up the road). The bathrooms are also very dated and the bath is far too small for someone my size (6’2”) - it’s uncomfortably narrow to even stand and have a shower and very uncomfortable to bathe in.

Staff and friendly and helpful and the common areas are spacious.

Breakfast was extremely nice but horrendously expensive. Double the prices of the crowne plaza up the road (where I stayed earlier in the week).

I got a night here on loyalty points and supposedly had an upgraded room, but would certainly not pay to stay here.

Read More
Read Less

Family stay - Oct 2020

By

30 October 2020

We enjoyed another outstanding stay at an Intercontinental property courtesy of the Athens Athenaeum. In late Oct 2020 the staff were doing an outstanding job in very difficult circumstances with fewer guests due to the ongoing Covid situation.
Every aspect was excellent, from dealing with the reservations manager via email to organise our stay, to food

Read More
Read Less

Old tired hotel

By

22 October 2020

platinumelite

Hotel is not fit to be an intercontinental and should be demolished
guests expect a lot more from an intercontinental hotel

Read More
Read Less

OK

By

21 October 2020

Neither bad nor good. Property dated and getting long in the tooth. Ridiculous that pool closes at 6 p.m. Very insistent valet chased me for my car keys, presumably in order to make sure I paid €21 for parking, which was readily available for free right across the street from the hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Few days leisure break

By

18 October 2020

Great hotel sadly affected by covid... nothing wrong was hotels fault .. Lack of restaurants open .. no club lounge .. no higher grade rooms etc food excellent as usual !!

Read More
Read Less

Tired hotel

By

15 October 2020

The hotel beds old and hard and very uncomfortable
With the added problems of old feather mattress protector
If you have allergies it’s a big problem ..
I’m sure this hotel was once a leader in its time
But now it feels run down ..
and only being held together by incredibly good staff...
we moved to the crown and the beds where amazing and to ihg standards ..

Read More
Read Less