Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

InterContinental Hayman Island Resort

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Hayman Island Resort
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 487 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

487reviews

  • 5 Stars
    304
  • 4 Stars
    97
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    20

Magical Stay

By

21 November 2022

Hands down the best resort we have ever stayed in. Very warm welcome with a personal tour around the resort and complimentary room upgrade made our stay very special! Reception, housekeeping and restaurant staff were all very lovely - special mention the hardworking staff at aqua bar who made sure our drinks were never empty - what a relaxing experience!

Read More
Read Less

great service

By

21 November 2022

Perfect place to getaway from the outside world.Peace and tranquility.
Considering the extremely long hours and staff shortages the people on Hayman always had a smile and were happy.
Having holidayed on Hayman for 30+ years, it is a place we continue to rate our #1 Aussie destination.

Read More
Read Less

3 Star Hotel Not 5 Star

By

14 November 2022

Title speaks for itself. Hayman Island was below all expectations. For the money you pay there is very little luxury. The rooms were dirty with stained carpets and dirty benches. The food was atrocious, I’ve had better pub meals. They charge you so much but very little comes of it. Was not pleased at all.

Read More
Read Less

Amazing place

By

10 November 2022

The location and property are excellent
The staff very friendly
Food options quite heavy for the climate.
Beware of food package if offered that you can swap out choices they will try and change you.
Then took 3 times to take the charge off as it kept reappearing in your account. Even after you leave they will find it and charge your card for that separate amount. This was the most disappointing part.

Read More
Read Less

Greeting

By

10 November 2022

Ben Matters greet us on arrival to the island, his knowledge and passion was evident, first impressions are important to any interaction and he left us feeling more than comfortable with our decision to return to the island.

Read More
Read Less

Overpriced

By

10 November 2022

Lovely hotel, rooms nice. Meals and options overpriced and limited.
Transfer is very overpriced and had to ask for a complimentary drink when empty

Read More
Read Less

Hayman

By

06 November 2022

Unfortunately the food has deteriorated since our last stay. Many things were not up to standard . Have tried take food up market to justify outrageous prices and failed. Italian restaurant has one pasta dish can’t poach eggs for breakfast and burnt burger by the pool.

Read More
Read Less

Simply Breathtaking

By

02 November 2022

A very well managed resort in a wonderful location, flawless stay. Would recommend that everyone visit InterCon Hayman at some point. Loads to do in what is a wonderful location and a fabulous resort. People/staff are wonderful

Read More
Read Less

Expectations not quite met

By

31 October 2022

Having to cart my suitcase up and down the ferry ramp at Airlie beach whilst being led by a staff member made me question the standard of service. Not a good start and a dismissive end to my stay on Hayman island.
On the island service improved, staff in general are helpful and friendly but not particularly well groomed. There did appear to be a general lack of pride and enthusiasm, this has to come from the standard of supervision, training programs, culture and rostering.
Having stayed at Intercontinental Duesseldorf and intercontinental Jimbaran Bay Bali, I already had a level of standard expectation. The breakfast was the most disappointing, being a coeliac I was happy to see a GF station, however the muesli was sticky and difficult to get out of the jar, and left open to the air. There was no bread and one poor staff member had to run to the staff village and get GF bread because there was non in the kitchen or patisserie section. The toaster area could have been cleaner and a baby cockroach scratching around didn’t improve my appetite. I took my toast to the chef and asked for egg Benedict and after some time, received some cheap round ham a poached egg and hollandaise from a box. It’s not difficult to make fresh hollandaise sauce and it is far better than the thick gunk that comes from a box. I have seen better presentation of many breakfast buffet, improvement can be made with presentation and cleanliness, again it comes down to pride from the people working there.
The offerings from Bam Bam and Aqua were simple and tasty. Amici lived up to our expectations. The seafood buffet at Pacific was enjoyable, although again, the hot food section was lacking in appetising presentation and pride. We had a steak dinner at Pacific which was very sub standard, low quality gristly scotch fillet, the fries were over cooked and there was no bearnaise sauce to accompany any of the steaks (maybe that’s just a very personal preference!)
I feel that the staff are overworked, under appreciated and not given the training and support from their supervisors. The whole team is very young and therefore training is important, to create a culture of pride and professionalism. Hospitality is an undervalued profession in Australia, low pay, lack of training leads to high staff turnover. IHG marketing leads to high expectations from clients these aren’t being achieved on Hayman.

Read More
Read Less

Most memorable holiday

By

30 October 2022

Thank you to the entire team at Hayman Island for the most wonderful & memorable holiday we have experienced.
The stunning island, first class facilities & exceptional staff exceeded our expectations.
We will certainly be coming back!

Read More
Read Less

Pretty island, bad service

By

28 October 2022

I’ve been to hayman before and loved it but it’s gone down hill…room took hours after check in time to bed ready and the staff were super rude about it, they didn’t care or offer a solution. This theme continued…for such an expensive place the service and food is garbage

Read More
Read Less

Returning guest

By

22 October 2022

Third time visiting Hayman after being there in 1970 and 2010 and looking forward to a similar experience. An overall good experience but not up to the standard set by Qualia at Hamilton Island too weeks previously.

Read More
Read Less