Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

InterContinental Washington D.C. - The Wharf

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Washington D.C. - The Wharf
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
91%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.5

based on 1334 reviews
91%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1334reviews

  • 5 Stars
    952
  • 4 Stars
    213
  • 3 Stars
    80
  • 2 Stars
    47
  • 1 Stars
    42

Find another hotel

By

16 January 2022

platinumelite

- Came by the hotel around 1 PM to see if a room was available, Early Check-In was non-existent (Received VM that room was ready at 3 PM)
- Requested a high floor and received a room on the 4th floor overlooking the side street and right above shipping trucks as an "Upgraded King Deluxe room"
- Received the welcoming sound of trucks loading and unloading inventory as early as 6 AM
- Spa-inspired bathroom has no bathtub
- Internet connection wasn't working when first arrived as my name and room number didn't match. The name on the TV was not mine as well. Had to call the front desk (System update was the reason)
- Internet connection disconnected at least 10-15 times throughout my 2 days there on my laptop and smartphone.
- Bedding was not comfortable, Pillows were flat and the comforter was as thin as a Holiday Inn
- Location is not ideal unless you are rich. Restaurants under the hotel are overpriced. The nearest subway station is at least 1/2 mile away. Great view of the water (not from my room) but nothing else. They should have a shuttle to the two nearest subway stations.

I don't need much in a hotel room. I want a comfortable bed with a good view and everything should be good yet I received neither. Don't waste your time at this hotel and get one north of the national mall. The area around the hotel is filled with nothing.

Read More
Read Less

quiet and restful location

By

08 January 2022

platinumelite

The best location in wash DC to stay.
The boardwalk at the Warf, with lots of excellent restaurants nearby besides the fish market where you can get fresh seafood even cooked right there to your taste.
There is even an ice skating ring.
Stop for the watertaxi is 1 block away.
A great location for business and even family get together.
Walk distance to most attractions in DC around the mall.

Pool seemed to be closed.

Read More
Read Less

Luxurious suites

By

18 December 2021

club

It was a beautiful clean friendly place. Food was delicious. Service was prompt. Bedding was nice. Loved the scent. Lobby was friendly and beautiful. STaff was very nice

Read More
Read Less

December Stay

By

17 December 2021

I booked this hotel for a birthday weekend with my daughter to be close to The Anthem. I thought for the price and advertisement of luxury it would justify the cost. By no means was this the case. I would say the hotel is pretty and the room on arrival was as clean. However, the customer service is just like any other 100.00 a night hotel. Nothing exceptional. Check in was ordinary, crowded lobby with a large wedding crowd that had taken over. Very chaotic. Location to Anthem was great. You can hear all the hallway noise from your room as well.(loud party folks could be heard).Left the next morning for brunch and city walking, returned at 5pm, to a cleaning cart in front of our door, housekeeper was extremely rude to be interrupted by us. We had to leave to allow her to finish. NO restaurant to sit and grab a drink or snack while waiting to get our room cleaned(at 5pm) . Again I would expect this a 100.00 night hotel. Not 500.00 a night. I spoke to the manager who allowed me to check out late the next day but gave me the excuse of cleaning empty rooms is the priority for the arriving new guests. Wow, OK?!! This is not a high end luxurious hotel by any means. It is a hotel in a convenient spot that is pretty but stops there. Save your money, or find a Ritz, where the service matches the experience.

Read More
Read Less

DC birthday

By

16 December 2021

was a wonderful stay,
I would seek out to add some traditional breakfast items for fruit, pancakes, egg dishes.

Read More
Read Less

Great Place to Watch the DC Boat Parade in December

By

16 December 2021

club

I have hosted a party for our friends to view the DC Boat Parade in previous years at another hotel. I decided to try your hotel and almost every detail was perfect. I had reserved a Compass Suite but was pleasantly surprised to learn I was upgraded to an Anchor Suite. The Front Desk staff went through all the details of the evening. She assisted us with getting Valet Parking for our guests, she continually checked in with us to be sure that everything was going smoothly and that we had everything we needed. She also ensured that our guests were welcomed when they arrived and were given access to the elevators. All of the Bellmen and Valet Attendant staff we encountered were efficient, pleasant, and helpful. A blemish on the event, was even though we had arranged for valet parking for our guests, we had a guest turned away as valet parking was full and were all of the self-park lot. This was greatly disappointing, as the guest had travel more than 2 hour to attend.

Read More
Read Less

很新的酒店

By

16 December 2021

platinumelite

之前住的洲际酒店都是很老的设施陈旧。这个酒店设施都很新。体验很不错。唯一遗憾的是泳池冬季不开放。

Read More
Read Less

Great stay!

By

15 December 2021

platinumelite

Had the pleasure of staying here for one night - the hotel itself and room is beautiful. My room and bathroom was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. I love that the bathroom has a little sitting area to do make up.

They upgraded me to the 11th floor as I was a IHG platinum member, and I loved the view from my hotel room! I did not get a chance to check out the rooftop pool, but did check out the fitness center (well-equipped) and restaurant, Moon Rabbit, for dinner.

The wharf area is hopping and beautiful during the holidays. There's plenty of posh restaurants around and there was a cute place with a firepit that sells smores. The hotel is next to Recreational Pier which has swings and so fun to check out on a date, a group or just some solo contemplation.

Would definitely love to stay here again if I'm in the DC area.

Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel

By

15 December 2021

Every time I stay it has been a wonderful experience, I recommend it to all my friends, when they come to Washington DC.

Read More
Read Less

Best Getaway Ever!

By

10 December 2021

club

The Intercontinental at The Wharf not only has the best views but the best staff as well! Upon arriving I was greeted my some kind gentleman at the entrance who also directed me to the front desk. The checkin experience was quick and easy, the lovey woman who checked me in also gave me a few restaurant recommendations around the area which was great! I was welcome to my room with the tv’s welcoming in as well as complimentary water bottles. What really did it for me was the view, it was fantastic watching the sunset over the water. Everything about our stay was more than amazing! We’ll definitely be back again soon!

Read More
Read Less

Terrible Client Service

By

09 December 2021

club

We booked a suite months’ ahead of time for this special event on Dec 6th on the waterfront in Washington, DC. We specifically asked for this suite with the hotel and confirmed it with them the evening before via telephone.

We got to the hotel, and they did not have the room ready (3pm), we finally got the room, but it was not the room we requested. I spoke with the hotel staff, and they claimed that someone has already checked into the room we requested. We settled for the room because we had already had our car parked and all bags sent to the room, and we were tired from the day of travel.

After settling into the room, I noticed that a family was just getting off the elevator on our floor, they proceeded to enter the exact room we had requested. I then spoke with the lady at the front desk who check us in, and she told me that they had just check in to the room. This was a complete opposite of what they had just told us not 10 minutes before. This family had checked in After we did!

That evening we asked for a chair to use to sit in the room, per the valet/bellman we could have one. The manager called the room and told us we were not getting a chair. We instead took one from a room next door (the person there had no issue with lending us the chair for a few hours).

The next morning, I spoke with the manager on duty. He was rude to us, refusing to refund the money, refusing to accommodate us in any way. He even went as far as to tell us that extra chairs are not allow and said that if we needed to sit, that we could sit on the floor or the bed. This same manager also proceeded to tell me that the type of room we had requested was being used for the past several weeks (this was not what the lady at the front desk had told us the day before).

Read More
Read Less

Very attentive staff

By

05 December 2021

club

Lovely hotel right on the wharf. Valet service was excellent, as was breakfast. Very glad that I committed to both when i reserved my room. We'll stay again.

Read More
Read Less