Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 178 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good staff, need better amenities I stayed on a Friday night when there was lots of activity with the Drake Relays going on. This is a throwback hotel, I stayed in Holiday Inn's about 100 nights per year during the 90's and it reminds me of the Hotels that I stayed in during that time. My gripes - coffee is only available in room with those little pots, not the best coffee. Most hotels now have pump pots of quality coffee available 24 hours per day. The café didn't open until 7 am, and as an early riser I expect at least 6 am. Most hotels also have a breakfast buffet included in the room price, not here, there was a breakfast buffet and also menu ordering all at a price. The elevators are very slow and made funny noises. The bar and restaurant are completely remodeled, but with the bar on the opposite end of the room from the restaurant, I don't believe that the remodeling was well thought out. In addition, bar service was very slow with only one bartender and a service manager trying to wait on tables, and shuffle back to the restaurant for Iced Tea and coffee requests. There was also no Saturday paper available except a couple of blocks away at a convenience store. April 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Interstate Noise and unclean bathroom I was a bit disappointed in the cleanliness of the bathroom toilet. I ended up putting toilet paper on the seat. I also stayed in a room on the side of the interstate and the traffic noise was quite loud but they stay was fine. April 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Overall we had a positive experience, and the location was perfect for attending an event at the Iowa Events Center. The room was clean and beds were comfortable...the only complaint I can think of is noise of the other guests into the early morning, but we traveled all day and attended a concert the night we stayed, so we were exhausted and probably could have slept through anything! April 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Two Hotels in one Was very surprised at how very nice, comfortable & modern the lobby, bar & dining area was. Then I got to my room & thought I had stepped back into the 1970's and was in a different hotel? Don't get me wrong, the entire hotel staff & bar staff were very friendly. ,just wasn't what I was expecting overall or have experienced in all my travesl for the $ April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, excellent over stay Convenient and close to downtown events and activities. I would highly recommend staying here again. April 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No problems at all When my husband had surgery at Mercy, I reserved a room at Holiday Inn Mercy campus for the proximity to the hospital. After reading mixed reviews I wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleased to find a clean comfortable room and great service. The shuttle service provided was prompt and the drivers always friendly. Although there was some street noise it didn't bother me. My room was at the end of the hall and I didn't notice much hallway noise even though I know the hotel was busy. The only thing I would have appreciated was a fridge and microwave but it wasn't that big a deal. Overall, the experience was positive and I have already recommended Holiday Inn Mercy to others and will do so again. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service! We went to the Iowa Boys High School Basketball Playoffs in Des Moines and were very happy with our decision to stay at the Holiday Inn. The excellent service we received from the staff was greatly appreciated by us " out of towners".The shuttle service was prompt and the driver helpful. Front desk couldn't have been nicer. Our room was clean and beds comfy. The grandkids enjoyed the pool area. Breakfast buffet was good, however "off the menu" was better. We would surely stay again and recommend this hotel to everyone. Thanks for your hospitality. March 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by quite disappointed I don't normally submit reviews as normally my hotel stays have been acceptable, but... I will say that the front desk staff were very good and the restaurant food and service was quite good for the 2 times we made use of it during our 5 day stay. Our room was quite cold or too warm. Could not get it at a good steady temp. The window did not close/seal properly and a cold draft was constant -on the good side, didn't need to use the fridge, just put our water and wine on the floor behind the curtain! We had a small space heater brought in which somewhat helped. Yes it was a cold snap at this time but that doesn't excuse. The ice machine on our floor did not work for a couple days and we only found that it worked the night before we checked out. Now, checking out, that was a whole other matter. We were on the 4th floor. At 8:30ish in the morning, after waiting 10 mins for an elevator to stop, there are 3 for goodness sakes! I took the outside stairs which led to the pool entrance (thank goodness it was unlocked) and hurried to take the shuttle to our event. My husband waited another 10 minutes and then made three trips on those stairs with our suitcases and 2 large boxes - NOT a good thing!! Admittedly the hotel was quite full the time we stayed but that made no sense at all. That said, the shuttle service was great. March 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Need Help!!! Two issues. First there were two huge events going on AAU State Wrestling and Deer Classic. They have three vans to transport people and they only had enough employees to run one van. So we had to walk back to the hotel from Wells Fargo in below zero weather with three little children. The other was not sure if hotel kitchen knew there were going to be that many people wanting to eat breakfast before 8 o'clock or not. There were not enough plates and could not keep up with the buffet. PLAN AHEAD!!! Maybe next year our club will stay somewhere else and pay the parking fee. March 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by crowded and noisey Hotel was crowded, noisey. Elevator was super slow, waited sometimes 15 minutes for elevator. Steps were not accessible and had to go outside to use. Restaurant service was slow and food disappointing. Cold showers both ams at 7am. Hotel is convenient location. But for the cost will consider staying elsewhere next time. March 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is a mixture of fantastic and terrible...depending on who you get! I stay at this Holiday Inn location at least once per year for business reasons. It is booked by an Association, so I don't have much say in where we stay. It's a mixed-bag at this hotel. The front desk staff are usually very welcoming and the rooms are clean, but some of the staff lack training. We waited over 35 minutes to get our bills after supper, even after speaking with the manager 2x. The waitress gave no real apology. On the flipside the staff at the breakfast buffet was well-trained, extremely courteous, and prompt to bring out coffee and drinks. The breakfast buffet was an excellent value. The rooms were clean and beds were comfy, but my room had a lot of traffic noise making it difficult to fall asleep. I'm not from a city center so I have a hard time sleeping with noise. Overall I would stay here again, but they definitely need to improve night time wait staff skills. The manager did make it right by comping our drinks. The shuttle driver was also very professional and courteous. March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The beds and the rooms are why I stay. I required a room for an overnight stay - A queen room was available - Even at the late hour I arrived, excellent! This is a new Hotel with an excellent bar and resturant. March 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable room and great food My experience was very positive. The dining room was enjoyable, the shuttle was always helpful and very appreciated. The guest room was well kept, quiet and offered all that was needed. March 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place, request a room thats not adjacent to a conference room though We booked a room here the day before a 7:30AM hospital check-in time, because we live 60 miles away from DesMoines. Unfortunately our room was on the 10th floor next to a conference room that was being used for a late night celebration. We called the front desk about the loud noise and they told us that the party would be done by 11:00PM. After two additional calls to the front desk the noise subsided to a dull roar after 2:00 AM the next morning. February 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cold Texan blessed by an Angel I was headed towards Des Moines, Iowa from a funeral in Galesburg, IL., when it started to snow and cause hazardous road conditions. After driving around Des Moines for a period of time, I was guided into the Holiday Inn by very friendly store clerk. I walked into a very crowded lobby and bar area. I approached the front desk, spoke with Candice and inquired about a room. Candice informed me that all the rooms were reserved for a convention and my heart sank. This Texan did not wanna drive on the slippery roads of Iowa. She did, however say that she would check with her manager. Due to my situation I was afforded a room.. God bless you Candice and your manager. Your kindness defines the quality of training and respect you offer your guests with reservations and in my case, those without. Thank you ever so much for your helping hand.. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good guest service I had seen mixed reviews on travel sites, so came in with some concerns. However, my experience was very good. I used the shuttle three times, including a pick-up from DSM airport. Each time the driver was very courteous and the wait was minimal. The front desk staff was always nice in person and on the phone. The room was clean. I was 2 doors down from the elevator, so I was able to hear the foot traffic as there was a state wrestling and cheerleading tournament that weekend, but the noise was no more than in any other hotel and certainly did not disturb my sleep. The location, with the courtesy shuttle, was very convenient to Drake, downtown eating and drinking establishments, and the state capital. I was a little surprised Des Moines hotels were as expensive as they were, but thought this was a decent value compared to other hotels in the city. On the whole, I had a very good experience and would certainly stay at this location in the future. February 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fairly nice place too bad I couldn't eat! This was a last minute reservation for me as my flight was cancelled while in route to the airport. I normally stay with a competitor’s chain so this was my first stay in a long time outside of that chain. The hotel has convenient parking. The hotel staff was friendly. The front desk associate who checked me in seemed to be new and not sure of things while checking me in. I'm not sure if there was a problem or something else. After I received my room key I was waiting by the elevator, turns out the front desk associate gave me a non-working key. I'm just happy he caught it before I went up to my room (8th floor) as nothing is more annoying than to get to your room and your key doesn't work. Good catch. The room was fairly nice and clean, nothing over the top and not gross. The bed was comfortable, my room faced the hospital side and I could hear the helicopter land/take off although it wasn't too much of an issue from my POV. The bathroom was tiny so don't expect to have a lot of room to spread out. When checking out I wanted to get some breakfast before I started my day. Around 6:30 AM I went to the restaurant in the lobby, I was walking up I noticed a restaurant employee (hostess/waitress) say good morning to me and walk right past me. I stood there for about 2-3 minutes with no one offering to seat me or ask me if I needed any help. I didn't see anyone else that seemed to work there so I left. All in all not a bad place IMHO but a few small things definitely need some closer attention. February 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Overall this Hotel is conv. if you want to be in the center of it all. The bigest problem for me, was the noise, coming from the side street.. The one thing that I really like was there was parking for my 72 foot TV tractor and trailer. February 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An evening away to relax We needed an evening away- disconnected from the hustle and bustle. Slipped over to Des Moines to have dinner at our favorite sushi place near the Drake campus, and then took a nice stroll through the Jordan Creek mall. Our room for the evening was wonderful- clean, well appointed, and exactly as requested. Staff were very cordial and we felt welcomed. February 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Noisey This is a very clean and well maintained hotel. It also has very limited and congested parking facilities. Also, everytime a door shuts anywhere, you will hear it. The hotel is located 1 block from the hospital and right beside the interstate. You will hear every emergency vehicle siren and helicopter flight as if they are going through the hallway. I realize this isn't the hotels fault. But none the less, if you need to sleep....don't stay here. February 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms need to be updated The hotel did a good job of remodeling the lobby area, but failed to update the rooms. The windows in the rooms are like paper and you can hear everything outside especially the traffic noice or when the wind is blowing. I came in one night when the wind was blowing so hard through the window it was blowing the curtain back. I couldn't stay in that room and requested another room. The manager came up and moved me to room that I could still hear the wind, but is wasn't as bad. January 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Would not Reccommend The workout room was definitely the worst I have ever experienced in a hotel. The equipment didn't work, it smelled awful, and it was just not good. If I am going to pay to stay in a hotel, I would like a decent facility to get a little exercise. January 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice Very nice bed, great night sleep. The room was dark and quite! January 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by cold room Our room was cold, We called the front desk and the maintnece person came to the room . He checked the thermostat and said it was working. He did close a window that was cracked open slightly. Had the thermostat set on 77 and when we got up the next morning it was 69 degrees in our room 203. Something is wrong and that room needs to be re evaluated for the heat problem. We are not experts, just know if the temperature is too cold or too hot. He was very pleasant, and fixed the drain in the bathroom lavatory while he was there checking the heat for us. Thought you should know about the lack of heat problem in room 203. We have stayed there previously, with good experience. December 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Shuttle service and front desk service We stayed here for the State Dance Competiton. We had 7 rooms. We needs to go back and forth to the Wells Fargo Center and they had shuttle service to and from that day of competition. If I was waiting for more than 10 minutes they called someone else to use the van to shuttle us to the Event Center. That was wonderful!!!! Everytime we needed help the front desk was very quick to respond. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. We enjoyed are stay there and will stay there again. December 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay-Great Staff Hello, I recently stayed at your hotel on 12/3/13 and 12/4/13 and would like to say that I greatly appreciated the service from all of your staff. The greeters at the front desk were very pleasant and professional. One young lady, I can’t recall her name, went out of her way after my car wouldn’t start; to assist me in making arrangements to get to a very important business meeting as I would have been late otherwise. I also dined in the restaurant and a young woman named Haley I believe, was my server and did a great job and was very personable. This server took time to speak with me and was very attentive throughout my meal. Overall the rooms and accommodations were all very nice. You should be extremely proud of your staff and the level of service they provided. I am a firm believer in positive feedback and recognition for jobs done well and would appreciate it if you would pass on my gratitude to your staff members. I can assure you I will be staying again on my next visit to Des Moines. December 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service My party bus ended here on my 21st birthday, don't judge us too harshly! Not only did your staff give out goodie bags of water and snack foods to many of my guests. But also your female bartender (Blonde hair, can't remember her name) helped a few of my upset friends. Your staff when out of their way to make sure my party way safe and I just wanted to thank you so much for that! December 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unfortunately this 3-night stay wasn't as good as most. Stay away from room 610 unless whatever is causing the pulsating noise in the middle of the night is fixed. First morning when I woke up to the noise, I thought it was an alarm clock in a nearby room so didn't think too much about it. Second night when I shut the TV off around 11 p.m., I heard the noise but didn't do anything at that time of night...should have because I didn't sleep but maybe a couple of hours. Next day I informed staff and was told that someone else on 6th floor near my room also complained and they were having maintenance staff look into it so I stayed in the room. Third night...was up working late w/TV on until about 1 a.m. and when I turned the TV off, the pulsing was there! Again, didn't want to change rooms in the middle of the night. Very disappointing! Never had this experience in a hotel before. Have had better experience is much less expensive rooms. November 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by like sleeping in the interstate median Its a good thing its being remodeled. I hope they replace the 1st floor windows because there is little to no sound dampening from the interstate noise all night. Bathroom was not clean at all. But at state rate it was tolerable. Breakfast don't waste your time. Over heated and over priced buffet style. Order off the menu instead. Beds were comfortable though and staff was friendly. Nice bar. November 20, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Over 200 stays in a hotel this year, this was the worst. They have a nice lobby, that is the only kind thing I can say. Over 200 stays in a hotel year and this holiday inn had the most unfriendly staff I've ever met. From checking in, to getting a replacement room key, or asking for my bill the staff was unfriendly, rude and not helpful. They seemed annoyed with having to do their jobs. The room was dirty, the furniture old and uncomfortable, and the walls paper thin. The bathroom was tiny, the toilet was basically touching the shower, and the toilet ran all night long. The elevators were exceptionally slow or not working all together. I seriously suggest you stay somewhere else. November 18, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>