Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
85%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 1337 reviews
85%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1337reviews

  • 5 Stars
    747
  • 4 Stars
    323
  • 3 Stars
    136
  • 2 Stars
    77
  • 1 Stars
    54

Pool was Freezing

By

March 21, 2020

club

The hotel overall was very nice and clean. Most staff was friendly, I did not get a receipt on checkout nor one via email. Staff did not ask about my stay. It was relatively close to downtown. I choose this particular hotel for the pool as I am training from an Ironman and wanted to get a couple laps in. Should have brought my wetsuit, the water was freezing. MY grandaughter wouldn't even go in it and I could only do a few laps without my teeth chattering. But if you didn't care about the pool it was a nice place to stay. It is across from the hospital and I heard a few ambulances and helicopters but I expected this.

Read More
Read Less

I have stayed here a lot, but this was the worst

By

March 19, 2020

I stay at this hotel quite a bit, like 5 to 10 times a year; however I will not be again if my experience is ever similar to this last stay.

I am a gold member, and usually receive a free drink or extra points at check in. This did not happen... Not enough to cause me to leave this review but annoying.

Then I requested a late check out as my wife had a teleconference at a time we would not be able to be home for. From 9 am to 1 pm we had cleaners come to our room 2 times and the manager once disrupting my wife’s teleconference.

I get this is a difficult time, but I’d figure any customer willing to stay would be treated with enhanced customer service. That didn’t seem to be the case.

Read More
Read Less

Would stay again

By

March 14, 2020

platinumelite

This is a great property. Key positives here are No Pets Allowed. This is great for people with severe allergies or sensitivity to irritants and are staying at this particular hotel due to it being close to area hospitals and clinics. Other big time positives are Free Parking and Free Wifi. Very friendly staff - I'd stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

Dsm downtown

By

March 13, 2020

club

Great experience overall. Thank you. Look forward to next time.

Read More
Read Less

Great service Beautiful view

By

March 12, 2020

club

The staff was always smiling, the view from our room was beautiful! Looking out at the snow capped mountains threw a HUGE bay window was stunning! The Room was large and clean, charging ports where conveniently located. The breakfast was delicious, (definitely try the cinnamon rolls) free coffee available all day! There's a fitness room, hot tub and pool and laundry facilities which was lovely to see after a long trip! There is actual full-sized shampoo, conditioner and body wash mounted in the shower and plenty of soft fluffy towles!!

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and quiet room

By

March 10, 2020

Bed was very comfortable and the room was very quiet after a long drive and several hours visiting a family member in ICU at a local hospital.

Read More
Read Less

Great value

By

March 09, 2020

Great service and quality. Hotel and restaurant staff were friendly and efficient.

Read More
Read Less

Above all other hotels

By

March 09, 2020

club

I was scheduled to stay in a double room for a few days while attending meetings at this hotel.
I asked the front desk if there was a larger room that we would be able to use for a meeting as we where going to have 13 others arrive for that evening’s meeting and we needed a quiet private place. The
Manager came out and asked me a few questions and without hesitating he told the front desk to put us in a suite, this room was perfect for the amount of people we had coming for the evening ,I was overwhelmed with the generosity of this facility.
They really do care about there customers and go above and beyond to make our visit an enjoyable one. Thank you!

Read More
Read Less

Fabulous Staff

By

March 08, 2020

club

The staff at the front desk and kitchen were exceptional!
The food, especially the omlette, meats, and service were fantastic.
The staff were super friendly and always willing to do whatever was needed to make the stay amazing for guests. I love that breakfast started so early and ended at a time where you could afford sleeping in and not missing it. The prices were great and provided immense value for the quality of food. The bedding and bed were very comfortable and I woke up early every morning on my own with no alarm clock, feeling very rested and ready to take on the day. The room was very quiet and relaxing. The view from the 9th floor as awesome, especially at night. I would highly recommend this hotel when staying in Des Moines, and will definitely be staying again when I return. The thing I love the most about each Holiday inn is the consistency, value, and quality. Thank you for having us!

Read More
Read Less

hotel stay

By

March 03, 2020

club

poor, very loud location, does not have a hot tub or sauna, wasn't very clean, outlets and phone did not work in our room.
Lobby doesn't have many areas for people to sit in comfort other than at tables.

Read More
Read Less

Great shuttle service

By

March 01, 2020

club

Shuttle will pick you up and drop you off at the airport and take you around town. They always seem to be available and eager to help. Mark and Don were the greatest

Read More
Read Less

Exceptional Customer Service!!

By

March 01, 2020

I have been staying here for the past 14 years on primarily business the past 14 years. Many of the same employees that I met 14 years ago still work here which tells you the ownership takes care of their employees. I experience exceptional customer service on my last stay. A week ago I parked in the underground garage. It had snowed and the streets were sloppy. My car was filthy. When I left the next morning I noticed there was some larges spots on the hood of water but didn't think anything of it. Later that day when I got home I ran the car thru a full service car wash. The spots did not come off! I took it to the dealership body shop. They worked on it for almost 30 minutes and got everything out but a line down thru a headlight. When I returned to the hotel this week I mentioned it to the owner so he would be aware in case other cars parked in the same spot. He asked me where my car was parked then called his maintenance staff asking them to work on my headlight. As I was eating dinner at the bar the owner came up and told my headlight was clean. I thanked him. Also I had to have maintenance come twice to the room Last week the hotel was full and Joe told me the kids unplug the HTML cord to play video games and don't plug it back in. Then the hairdryer wouldn't work. Joe came back, then went and got a new hair dryer. Two or three great examples of exceptional customer service and why I will continue to stay here every time I'm in Des Moines.

Read More
Read Less