Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 193 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good guest service I had seen mixed reviews on travel sites, so came in with some concerns. However, my experience was very good. I used the shuttle three times, including a pick-up from DSM airport. Each time the driver was very courteous and the wait was minimal. The front desk staff was always nice in person and on the phone. The room was clean. I was 2 doors down from the elevator, so I was able to hear the foot traffic as there was a state wrestling and cheerleading tournament that weekend, but the noise was no more than in any other hotel and certainly did not disturb my sleep. The location, with the courtesy shuttle, was very convenient to Drake, downtown eating and drinking establishments, and the state capital. I was a little surprised Des Moines hotels were as expensive as they were, but thought this was a decent value compared to other hotels in the city. On the whole, I had a very good experience and would certainly stay at this location in the future. February 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fairly nice place too bad I couldn't eat! This was a last minute reservation for me as my flight was cancelled while in route to the airport. I normally stay with a competitor’s chain so this was my first stay in a long time outside of that chain. The hotel has convenient parking. The hotel staff was friendly. The front desk associate who checked me in seemed to be new and not sure of things while checking me in. I'm not sure if there was a problem or something else. After I received my room key I was waiting by the elevator, turns out the front desk associate gave me a non-working key. I'm just happy he caught it before I went up to my room (8th floor) as nothing is more annoying than to get to your room and your key doesn't work. Good catch. The room was fairly nice and clean, nothing over the top and not gross. The bed was comfortable, my room faced the hospital side and I could hear the helicopter land/take off although it wasn't too much of an issue from my POV. The bathroom was tiny so don't expect to have a lot of room to spread out. When checking out I wanted to get some breakfast before I started my day. Around 6:30 AM I went to the restaurant in the lobby, I was walking up I noticed a restaurant employee (hostess/waitress) say good morning to me and walk right past me. I stood there for about 2-3 minutes with no one offering to seat me or ask me if I needed any help. I didn't see anyone else that seemed to work there so I left. All in all not a bad place IMHO but a few small things definitely need some closer attention. February 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Overall this Hotel is conv. if you want to be in the center of it all. The bigest problem for me, was the noise, coming from the side street.. The one thing that I really like was there was parking for my 72 foot TV tractor and trailer. February 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An evening away to relax We needed an evening away- disconnected from the hustle and bustle. Slipped over to Des Moines to have dinner at our favorite sushi place near the Drake campus, and then took a nice stroll through the Jordan Creek mall. Our room for the evening was wonderful- clean, well appointed, and exactly as requested. Staff were very cordial and we felt welcomed. February 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Noisey This is a very clean and well maintained hotel. It also has very limited and congested parking facilities. Also, everytime a door shuts anywhere, you will hear it. The hotel is located 1 block from the hospital and right beside the interstate. You will hear every emergency vehicle siren and helicopter flight as if they are going through the hallway. I realize this isn't the hotels fault. But none the less, if you need to sleep....don't stay here. February 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms need to be updated The hotel did a good job of remodeling the lobby area, but failed to update the rooms. The windows in the rooms are like paper and you can hear everything outside especially the traffic noice or when the wind is blowing. I came in one night when the wind was blowing so hard through the window it was blowing the curtain back. I couldn't stay in that room and requested another room. The manager came up and moved me to room that I could still hear the wind, but is wasn't as bad. January 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Would not Reccommend The workout room was definitely the worst I have ever experienced in a hotel. The equipment didn't work, it smelled awful, and it was just not good. If I am going to pay to stay in a hotel, I would like a decent facility to get a little exercise. January 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice Very nice bed, great night sleep. The room was dark and quite! January 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by cold room Our room was cold, We called the front desk and the maintnece person came to the room . He checked the thermostat and said it was working. He did close a window that was cracked open slightly. Had the thermostat set on 77 and when we got up the next morning it was 69 degrees in our room 203. Something is wrong and that room needs to be re evaluated for the heat problem. We are not experts, just know if the temperature is too cold or too hot. He was very pleasant, and fixed the drain in the bathroom lavatory while he was there checking the heat for us. Thought you should know about the lack of heat problem in room 203. We have stayed there previously, with good experience. December 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Shuttle service and front desk service We stayed here for the State Dance Competiton. We had 7 rooms. We needs to go back and forth to the Wells Fargo Center and they had shuttle service to and from that day of competition. If I was waiting for more than 10 minutes they called someone else to use the van to shuttle us to the Event Center. That was wonderful!!!! Everytime we needed help the front desk was very quick to respond. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. We enjoyed are stay there and will stay there again. December 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay-Great Staff Hello, I recently stayed at your hotel on 12/3/13 and 12/4/13 and would like to say that I greatly appreciated the service from all of your staff. The greeters at the front desk were very pleasant and professional. One young lady, I can’t recall her name, went out of her way after my car wouldn’t start; to assist me in making arrangements to get to a very important business meeting as I would have been late otherwise. I also dined in the restaurant and a young woman named Haley I believe, was my server and did a great job and was very personable. This server took time to speak with me and was very attentive throughout my meal. Overall the rooms and accommodations were all very nice. You should be extremely proud of your staff and the level of service they provided. I am a firm believer in positive feedback and recognition for jobs done well and would appreciate it if you would pass on my gratitude to your staff members. I can assure you I will be staying again on my next visit to Des Moines. December 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service My party bus ended here on my 21st birthday, don't judge us too harshly! Not only did your staff give out goodie bags of water and snack foods to many of my guests. But also your female bartender (Blonde hair, can't remember her name) helped a few of my upset friends. Your staff when out of their way to make sure my party way safe and I just wanted to thank you so much for that! December 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unfortunately this 3-night stay wasn't as good as most. Stay away from room 610 unless whatever is causing the pulsating noise in the middle of the night is fixed. First morning when I woke up to the noise, I thought it was an alarm clock in a nearby room so didn't think too much about it. Second night when I shut the TV off around 11 p.m., I heard the noise but didn't do anything at that time of night...should have because I didn't sleep but maybe a couple of hours. Next day I informed staff and was told that someone else on 6th floor near my room also complained and they were having maintenance staff look into it so I stayed in the room. Third night...was up working late w/TV on until about 1 a.m. and when I turned the TV off, the pulsing was there! Again, didn't want to change rooms in the middle of the night. Very disappointing! Never had this experience in a hotel before. Have had better experience is much less expensive rooms. November 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by like sleeping in the interstate median Its a good thing its being remodeled. I hope they replace the 1st floor windows because there is little to no sound dampening from the interstate noise all night. Bathroom was not clean at all. But at state rate it was tolerable. Breakfast don't waste your time. Over heated and over priced buffet style. Order off the menu instead. Beds were comfortable though and staff was friendly. Nice bar. November 20, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Over 200 stays in a hotel this year, this was the worst. They have a nice lobby, that is the only kind thing I can say. Over 200 stays in a hotel year and this holiday inn had the most unfriendly staff I've ever met. From checking in, to getting a replacement room key, or asking for my bill the staff was unfriendly, rude and not helpful. They seemed annoyed with having to do their jobs. The room was dirty, the furniture old and uncomfortable, and the walls paper thin. The bathroom was tiny, the toilet was basically touching the shower, and the toilet ran all night long. The elevators were exceptionally slow or not working all together. I seriously suggest you stay somewhere else. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Favorite downtown hotel by far Had a great stay here last weekend for the Keith Urban concert. Closest and nicest hotel to the Wells Fargo arena and has the best view of downtown Des Moines. The lobby area is brand new with a nice restaurant/lounge area that is perfect for a pre and/or post going out drink and appetizer. Hotel shuttle even took us to the front of Wells Fargo arena to drop us off. Great service and nice rooms. Will be staying here again! November 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Service was awesome!!! The service at this hotel was Awesome but unfortunately I worked night shift and they worked on the hotel all day. I got no sleep what so ever but the hotel was super friendly. Just not night shift friendly. November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Excellent stay. Love the updated lobby. Construction was not a big issue with my stay. Shuttle service was very convenient. November 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by bed was ok. Elevators were so slow, out of 3 one out of order. Hotel booked solid and only 2 elevators. We were on the the 10th floor and had to wait up to 15 minutes for an elevator. Our hospitality room was on the 11th floor, just one flight up, but we couldn't take the stairs because the doors are locked going up. Bathtubs were disgusting. Brush painted with a coverup. No refrigerator or microwave. I would never stay here again or recommend this hotel. October 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms need small frig and microwave I stayed as part of the marathon and wish they would offer a 3 p.m. later checkout as I am a slower marathoner. I was also surprised that their kitchen was closed on the afternoon of the marathon! I had checked out and had a couple of hours before my flight and low and behold, no place to eat at the hotel. I also wish they had a small frig and microwave in each room. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business and Pleasure Got to the hotel before the 3 pm check in and had to wait a few minutes as they were still cleaning from night before. The wait was alright as I checked in for my meetings that were taking place at the hotel and by the time I had checked in their they had our room ready. Room was on the 9th floor away from the interstate and was quiet, if I opened the window I did hear some traffic noise but never with the window closed and ready for bed. The bed was comfortable and they had a amazing choice of pillows, internet connection was great. Had supper in the restaurant in the lobby and it was great, Breakfast both days was a buffet breakfast and I got my fill both time food was hot and fresh. The staff were very helpful in meeting the needs for our meetings and banquet staff were outstanding. If I am in the area I will stay again Hotel is doing some remodel work and upkeep They do need to get the third elevator running makes it easier to get around when it is busy October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent stay as always had a wonderful stay the lounge was wonderful so was the room October 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good but . . . The room was very nicely appointed but the paper products were substandard, the TV almost useless as the channel guides were not accurate (never did find the game I wanted), the coffee maker didn't work correctly and the ice bucket had water in it when I returned to the room on day 2. The poor handling of several bus loads of teenagers at the "rush hour" left us without elevators and a jammed lobby. 60+ year olds climbing 6 stories of stairs was not a good plan. Otherwise, a good, but typically overpriced, hotel. October 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Smells like cigarettes I really like HI but my room at this property smelled like an ashtray and I can't stand a cigarette. Too bad others ignore the No Smoking policy. The hotel should have made them pay the fine and sterilized the room. This property really needs a remodel. The staff was very nice though. October 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close enough to downtown A decent hotel for the price. Just two things: 1. One elevator was down for our entire stay (3 days), another broke Saturday night. As there was a wedding on the top floor, this was very inconvenient. Only 1 very slow elevator worked that night. Even when the elevators did work, they often stopped at every floor when they did not need to or went all the way down or up before stopping on the floor you chose. It was rather strange. 2. Speaking of the wedding, if there is an event happening on the top floor and you want to sleep, don't get a room on the 10th floor. We could hear all of the music until about 1:00 am. Otherwise no complaints. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and service The king size bed was perfect. The morning buffet was very tasty and had a good variety of food. The shuttle service was extremely accommodating. I will be back. We also liked the fact that we were right off the freeway with free parking. October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful remodel This is the 5th year we have come to the Holiday Inn-Mercy for a convention and have always been pleased with the service and location of the hotel. This year we were pleased to see the lobby and restaurant remodel. The decor is beautiful and updated with a more open look. The new menu in the restaurant was a welcome change with new dishes and a nice variety. We make use of the free shuttle to the convention center and nearby restaurants and the drivers are always friendly and helpful. The hotel is also located just a short walk to the convention center in nice weather. October 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great if you dont need connectivity I have stayed here on 3 different occasions and have had a horrible time trying to connect to WIFI. Traveling for work it is necessary for me to connect. I will not be able to stay here again due to that. The rooms were great and the food was even better. Great location but I just can not be with out connectivity. Sorry guys. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Below Par Food but terrific service I ate the pub in the main area. I had the ribs and they were quite bad, overcooked and small in portion. I was impressed that the waitress Tamra waited to let me try them and then quickly checked in to see how I was doing. I explained I wasn't impressed and she offered to take care of the problem and was very pleasant. Made what could have been a bad experience better. October 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, but noisy Hotel has been updated. Room was nice, bed was comfortable, nice pillows. Easy free parking. Lots of noise from the elevators and the halls... Only bad thing.. A lot of noise. October 1, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>