Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 217 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Interstate traffic noise level when staying on the front side of the hotel (city view) the noise level is awful. Will not get a restful nights sleep. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! Loved the stay! The transportation service is worth every penny! The staff are terrific! Very clean and modern feel! June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff, Hotel needs updating Hotel staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful. The rooms are way out of date. Uncomfortable DOUBLE mattresses, heating/air conditioner unit very noisy. Doesn't keep a constant noise, makes loud noise when starting up and running. Downtown Des Moines needs a better Holiday Inn product! June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay This hotel has been consistently comfortable and accommodating. The staff is exceptional. I look forward to staying here again. May 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by SO Disappointed We were so disappointed. The check in staff was not friendly or welcoming. The rest of our dance team stayed up the road at a different hotel while we stayed here because we loved our Holiday Inn experience in Ames, Iowa. Our dance group, at the other hotel, paid the SAME price but had larger rooms, their rooms included microwaves and small refrigerators, they received complimentary bottled water, free breakfast each morning and wasn't kept up late by teenage girls running through the hallways. We also ordered room service for breakfast, paid $80 for it and part of our order was missing. they put a 'rush' on fixing that part of the order but it still took long enough that everyone else's food was cold by the time that order arrived which defeats the purpose of breakfast in bed. We had to find staff to ask for towels both times that we went to the pool. We also found our toilet unflushed when we checked into our room. I asked for a late check out- the girls at the desk said 2pm would be fine but to call down int he morning and remind the front desk. When I did call down the man said we had to be out by noon (rewards member or not), i explained my conversation with the woman at the desk the night before and he said 'that's too bad' and hung up. We did enjoy the shuttle services to the local area attractions and restaurants. I had originally tried to talk out Dance Team to stay here because we were so impressed with our Holiday Inn experience in Ames, Iowa. Now I am seriously considering signing up for a membership with this other hotel chain. We will never go to this hotel again. SO DISAPPOINTED. May 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay Clean room. Quiet floor. Spacious. Good restaurant. May 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty shower average service Upon arrival check-in staff did the basic, name credit card, sign here. No welcome, no direction as to where to park or how to get to elevators, no explanation of amenities. No thank you either. Early am hours water drained from shower in room above into our shower / bath and filled the bath half way with used water. Once I pulled the plug and drained - water continued to leak from above. Nasty water. When relayed to the front desk at check-out - they responded "Ok - we will take a look at this". No apology or I'm sorry to hear this or what can we do to make it allright. The morning restaurant hostess was very nice and when I inquired about fresh fruit to go - she helped and made sure we were all set. May 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum Heater for pool was broken. Room facing main road was very noisy. Staff in restaurant was very good including meal. Bed was comfy but room decor is outdated. Could see overspray where ceiling had been painted May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly and helpful staff This was my second stay at this hotel. Both times for my brother having surgery at Mercy hospital. The staff of the hotel was extremely nice and very helpful. It was joy staying here. One less thing to worry about. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody staying in the area. May 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good staff, need better amenities I stayed on a Friday night when there was lots of activity with the Drake Relays going on. This is a throwback hotel, I stayed in Holiday Inn's about 100 nights per year during the 90's and it reminds me of the Hotels that I stayed in during that time. My gripes - coffee is only available in room with those little pots, not the best coffee. Most hotels now have pump pots of quality coffee available 24 hours per day. The café didn't open until 7 am, and as an early riser I expect at least 6 am. Most hotels also have a breakfast buffet included in the room price, not here, there was a breakfast buffet and also menu ordering all at a price. The elevators are very slow and made funny noises. The bar and restaurant are completely remodeled, but with the bar on the opposite end of the room from the restaurant, I don't believe that the remodeling was well thought out. In addition, bar service was very slow with only one bartender and a service manager trying to wait on tables, and shuffle back to the restaurant for Iced Tea and coffee requests. There was also no Saturday paper available except a couple of blocks away at a convenience store. April 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Interstate Noise and unclean bathroom I was a bit disappointed in the cleanliness of the bathroom toilet. I ended up putting toilet paper on the seat. I also stayed in a room on the side of the interstate and the traffic noise was quite loud but they stay was fine. April 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Overall we had a positive experience, and the location was perfect for attending an event at the Iowa Events Center. The room was clean and beds were comfortable...the only complaint I can think of is noise of the other guests into the early morning, but we traveled all day and attended a concert the night we stayed, so we were exhausted and probably could have slept through anything! April 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Two Hotels in one Was very surprised at how very nice, comfortable & modern the lobby, bar & dining area was. Then I got to my room & thought I had stepped back into the 1970's and was in a different hotel? Don't get me wrong, the entire hotel staff & bar staff were very friendly. ,just wasn't what I was expecting overall or have experienced in all my travesl for the $ April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, excellent over stay Convenient and close to downtown events and activities. I would highly recommend staying here again. April 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No problems at all When my husband had surgery at Mercy, I reserved a room at Holiday Inn Mercy campus for the proximity to the hospital. After reading mixed reviews I wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleased to find a clean comfortable room and great service. The shuttle service provided was prompt and the drivers always friendly. Although there was some street noise it didn't bother me. My room was at the end of the hall and I didn't notice much hallway noise even though I know the hotel was busy. The only thing I would have appreciated was a fridge and microwave but it wasn't that big a deal. Overall, the experience was positive and I have already recommended Holiday Inn Mercy to others and will do so again. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service! We went to the Iowa Boys High School Basketball Playoffs in Des Moines and were very happy with our decision to stay at the Holiday Inn. The excellent service we received from the staff was greatly appreciated by us " out of towners".The shuttle service was prompt and the driver helpful. Front desk couldn't have been nicer. Our room was clean and beds comfy. The grandkids enjoyed the pool area. Breakfast buffet was good, however "off the menu" was better. We would surely stay again and recommend this hotel to everyone. Thanks for your hospitality. March 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by quite disappointed I don't normally submit reviews as normally my hotel stays have been acceptable, but... I will say that the front desk staff were very good and the restaurant food and service was quite good for the 2 times we made use of it during our 5 day stay. Our room was quite cold or too warm. Could not get it at a good steady temp. The window did not close/seal properly and a cold draft was constant -on the good side, didn't need to use the fridge, just put our water and wine on the floor behind the curtain! We had a small space heater brought in which somewhat helped. Yes it was a cold snap at this time but that doesn't excuse. The ice machine on our floor did not work for a couple days and we only found that it worked the night before we checked out. Now, checking out, that was a whole other matter. We were on the 4th floor. At 8:30ish in the morning, after waiting 10 mins for an elevator to stop, there are 3 for goodness sakes! I took the outside stairs which led to the pool entrance (thank goodness it was unlocked) and hurried to take the shuttle to our event. My husband waited another 10 minutes and then made three trips on those stairs with our suitcases and 2 large boxes - NOT a good thing!! Admittedly the hotel was quite full the time we stayed but that made no sense at all. That said, the shuttle service was great. March 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Need Help!!! Two issues. First there were two huge events going on AAU State Wrestling and Deer Classic. They have three vans to transport people and they only had enough employees to run one van. So we had to walk back to the hotel from Wells Fargo in below zero weather with three little children. The other was not sure if hotel kitchen knew there were going to be that many people wanting to eat breakfast before 8 o'clock or not. There were not enough plates and could not keep up with the buffet. PLAN AHEAD!!! Maybe next year our club will stay somewhere else and pay the parking fee. March 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by crowded and noisey Hotel was crowded, noisey. Elevator was super slow, waited sometimes 15 minutes for elevator. Steps were not accessible and had to go outside to use. Restaurant service was slow and food disappointing. Cold showers both ams at 7am. Hotel is convenient location. But for the cost will consider staying elsewhere next time. March 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is a mixture of fantastic and terrible...depending on who you get! I stay at this Holiday Inn location at least once per year for business reasons. It is booked by an Association, so I don't have much say in where we stay. It's a mixed-bag at this hotel. The front desk staff are usually very welcoming and the rooms are clean, but some of the staff lack training. We waited over 35 minutes to get our bills after supper, even after speaking with the manager 2x. The waitress gave no real apology. On the flipside the staff at the breakfast buffet was well-trained, extremely courteous, and prompt to bring out coffee and drinks. The breakfast buffet was an excellent value. The rooms were clean and beds were comfy, but my room had a lot of traffic noise making it difficult to fall asleep. I'm not from a city center so I have a hard time sleeping with noise. Overall I would stay here again, but they definitely need to improve night time wait staff skills. The manager did make it right by comping our drinks. The shuttle driver was also very professional and courteous. March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The beds and the rooms are why I stay. I required a room for an overnight stay - A queen room was available - Even at the late hour I arrived, excellent! This is a new Hotel with an excellent bar and resturant. March 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable room and great food My experience was very positive. The dining room was enjoyable, the shuttle was always helpful and very appreciated. The guest room was well kept, quiet and offered all that was needed. March 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place, request a room thats not adjacent to a conference room though We booked a room here the day before a 7:30AM hospital check-in time, because we live 60 miles away from DesMoines. Unfortunately our room was on the 10th floor next to a conference room that was being used for a late night celebration. We called the front desk about the loud noise and they told us that the party would be done by 11:00PM. After two additional calls to the front desk the noise subsided to a dull roar after 2:00 AM the next morning. February 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cold Texan blessed by an Angel I was headed towards Des Moines, Iowa from a funeral in Galesburg, IL., when it started to snow and cause hazardous road conditions. After driving around Des Moines for a period of time, I was guided into the Holiday Inn by very friendly store clerk. I walked into a very crowded lobby and bar area. I approached the front desk, spoke with Candice and inquired about a room. Candice informed me that all the rooms were reserved for a convention and my heart sank. This Texan did not wanna drive on the slippery roads of Iowa. She did, however say that she would check with her manager. Due to my situation I was afforded a room.. God bless you Candice and your manager. Your kindness defines the quality of training and respect you offer your guests with reservations and in my case, those without. Thank you ever so much for your helping hand.. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good guest service I had seen mixed reviews on travel sites, so came in with some concerns. However, my experience was very good. I used the shuttle three times, including a pick-up from DSM airport. Each time the driver was very courteous and the wait was minimal. The front desk staff was always nice in person and on the phone. The room was clean. I was 2 doors down from the elevator, so I was able to hear the foot traffic as there was a state wrestling and cheerleading tournament that weekend, but the noise was no more than in any other hotel and certainly did not disturb my sleep. The location, with the courtesy shuttle, was very convenient to Drake, downtown eating and drinking establishments, and the state capital. I was a little surprised Des Moines hotels were as expensive as they were, but thought this was a decent value compared to other hotels in the city. On the whole, I had a very good experience and would certainly stay at this location in the future. February 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fairly nice place too bad I couldn't eat! This was a last minute reservation for me as my flight was cancelled while in route to the airport. I normally stay with a competitor’s chain so this was my first stay in a long time outside of that chain. The hotel has convenient parking. The hotel staff was friendly. The front desk associate who checked me in seemed to be new and not sure of things while checking me in. I'm not sure if there was a problem or something else. After I received my room key I was waiting by the elevator, turns out the front desk associate gave me a non-working key. I'm just happy he caught it before I went up to my room (8th floor) as nothing is more annoying than to get to your room and your key doesn't work. Good catch. The room was fairly nice and clean, nothing over the top and not gross. The bed was comfortable, my room faced the hospital side and I could hear the helicopter land/take off although it wasn't too much of an issue from my POV. The bathroom was tiny so don't expect to have a lot of room to spread out. When checking out I wanted to get some breakfast before I started my day. Around 6:30 AM I went to the restaurant in the lobby, I was walking up I noticed a restaurant employee (hostess/waitress) say good morning to me and walk right past me. I stood there for about 2-3 minutes with no one offering to seat me or ask me if I needed any help. I didn't see anyone else that seemed to work there so I left. All in all not a bad place IMHO but a few small things definitely need some closer attention. February 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Overall this Hotel is conv. if you want to be in the center of it all. The bigest problem for me, was the noise, coming from the side street.. The one thing that I really like was there was parking for my 72 foot TV tractor and trailer. February 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An evening away to relax We needed an evening away- disconnected from the hustle and bustle. Slipped over to Des Moines to have dinner at our favorite sushi place near the Drake campus, and then took a nice stroll through the Jordan Creek mall. Our room for the evening was wonderful- clean, well appointed, and exactly as requested. Staff were very cordial and we felt welcomed. February 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Noisey This is a very clean and well maintained hotel. It also has very limited and congested parking facilities. Also, everytime a door shuts anywhere, you will hear it. The hotel is located 1 block from the hospital and right beside the interstate. You will hear every emergency vehicle siren and helicopter flight as if they are going through the hallway. I realize this isn't the hotels fault. But none the less, if you need to sleep....don't stay here. February 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms need to be updated The hotel did a good job of remodeling the lobby area, but failed to update the rooms. The windows in the rooms are like paper and you can hear everything outside especially the traffic noice or when the wind is blowing. I came in one night when the wind was blowing so hard through the window it was blowing the curtain back. I couldn't stay in that room and requested another room. The manager came up and moved me to room that I could still hear the wind, but is wasn't as bad. January 27, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>