Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 178 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Favorite downtown hotel by far Had a great stay here last weekend for the Keith Urban concert. Closest and nicest hotel to the Wells Fargo arena and has the best view of downtown Des Moines. The lobby area is brand new with a nice restaurant/lounge area that is perfect for a pre and/or post going out drink and appetizer. Hotel shuttle even took us to the front of Wells Fargo arena to drop us off. Great service and nice rooms. Will be staying here again! November 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Service was awesome!!! The service at this hotel was Awesome but unfortunately I worked night shift and they worked on the hotel all day. I got no sleep what so ever but the hotel was super friendly. Just not night shift friendly. November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Excellent stay. Love the updated lobby. Construction was not a big issue with my stay. Shuttle service was very convenient. November 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by bed was ok. Elevators were so slow, out of 3 one out of order. Hotel booked solid and only 2 elevators. We were on the the 10th floor and had to wait up to 15 minutes for an elevator. Our hospitality room was on the 11th floor, just one flight up, but we couldn't take the stairs because the doors are locked going up. Bathtubs were disgusting. Brush painted with a coverup. No refrigerator or microwave. I would never stay here again or recommend this hotel. October 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms need small frig and microwave I stayed as part of the marathon and wish they would offer a 3 p.m. later checkout as I am a slower marathoner. I was also surprised that their kitchen was closed on the afternoon of the marathon! I had checked out and had a couple of hours before my flight and low and behold, no place to eat at the hotel. I also wish they had a small frig and microwave in each room. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business and Pleasure Got to the hotel before the 3 pm check in and had to wait a few minutes as they were still cleaning from night before. The wait was alright as I checked in for my meetings that were taking place at the hotel and by the time I had checked in their they had our room ready. Room was on the 9th floor away from the interstate and was quiet, if I opened the window I did hear some traffic noise but never with the window closed and ready for bed. The bed was comfortable and they had a amazing choice of pillows, internet connection was great. Had supper in the restaurant in the lobby and it was great, Breakfast both days was a buffet breakfast and I got my fill both time food was hot and fresh. The staff were very helpful in meeting the needs for our meetings and banquet staff were outstanding. If I am in the area I will stay again Hotel is doing some remodel work and upkeep They do need to get the third elevator running makes it easier to get around when it is busy October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent stay as always had a wonderful stay the lounge was wonderful so was the room October 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good but . . . The room was very nicely appointed but the paper products were substandard, the TV almost useless as the channel guides were not accurate (never did find the game I wanted), the coffee maker didn't work correctly and the ice bucket had water in it when I returned to the room on day 2. The poor handling of several bus loads of teenagers at the "rush hour" left us without elevators and a jammed lobby. 60+ year olds climbing 6 stories of stairs was not a good plan. Otherwise, a good, but typically overpriced, hotel. October 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Smells like cigarettes I really like HI but my room at this property smelled like an ashtray and I can't stand a cigarette. Too bad others ignore the No Smoking policy. The hotel should have made them pay the fine and sterilized the room. This property really needs a remodel. The staff was very nice though. October 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close enough to downtown A decent hotel for the price. Just two things: 1. One elevator was down for our entire stay (3 days), another broke Saturday night. As there was a wedding on the top floor, this was very inconvenient. Only 1 very slow elevator worked that night. Even when the elevators did work, they often stopped at every floor when they did not need to or went all the way down or up before stopping on the floor you chose. It was rather strange. 2. Speaking of the wedding, if there is an event happening on the top floor and you want to sleep, don't get a room on the 10th floor. We could hear all of the music until about 1:00 am. Otherwise no complaints. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and service The king size bed was perfect. The morning buffet was very tasty and had a good variety of food. The shuttle service was extremely accommodating. I will be back. We also liked the fact that we were right off the freeway with free parking. October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful remodel This is the 5th year we have come to the Holiday Inn-Mercy for a convention and have always been pleased with the service and location of the hotel. This year we were pleased to see the lobby and restaurant remodel. The decor is beautiful and updated with a more open look. The new menu in the restaurant was a welcome change with new dishes and a nice variety. We make use of the free shuttle to the convention center and nearby restaurants and the drivers are always friendly and helpful. The hotel is also located just a short walk to the convention center in nice weather. October 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great if you dont need connectivity I have stayed here on 3 different occasions and have had a horrible time trying to connect to WIFI. Traveling for work it is necessary for me to connect. I will not be able to stay here again due to that. The rooms were great and the food was even better. Great location but I just can not be with out connectivity. Sorry guys. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Below Par Food but terrific service I ate the pub in the main area. I had the ribs and they were quite bad, overcooked and small in portion. I was impressed that the waitress Tamra waited to let me try them and then quickly checked in to see how I was doing. I explained I wasn't impressed and she offered to take care of the problem and was very pleasant. Made what could have been a bad experience better. October 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, but noisy Hotel has been updated. Room was nice, bed was comfortable, nice pillows. Easy free parking. Lots of noise from the elevators and the halls... Only bad thing.. A lot of noise. October 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Parents Weekend at Drake University The location to Drake is great! The lobby and staff service were very nice. The room was very clean. The maids were nice but knocked on my door really early in the am and I had the do not disturb sign on the door. The beds were ok and a little small. The elevator was very slow. The restaurant service and food were just ok. The service was very slow. We ate breakfast and ordered off the menu instead of ordering the buffet. It took a while for someone to come over to us, we ordered coffee but never got it, I ordered oatmeal and saw the waitress just go over to the buffet and scoop it into a bowl. I was hoping to get a fresh batch from the back not one that was sitting at the buffet for hours. My husbands "skillet" was supposed to have cheese on it and it did not. It was a clean room and that is really what was important to us. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you for your service to an from Mercy Hospital. Our stay was GREAT. It was nice to be so close to the hospital. Service was great, room clean. Thank you for everything! September 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and lobby This Holiday Inn does have a prime location immediately near the city center. Lobby has been renovated as well as other hospitality spaces on the main floor. Rooms do need to be updated. Only other criticism is the age of the exterior window system and the minimal sound isolation it provides from the exterior. I am in the architectural business and do recognize that the building was most likely designed during the 1960's or 1970's. The exterior window glazing/framing system appears and functions as if it might be original. Today, there are glazing systems that would perform much better at isolating the rooms from exterior highway and air traffic noise from the hospital. If money is being budgeted for interior renovations, it would be wise to invest in exterior wall sound isolation improvement such as a new glazing/frame system if possible. September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better Check in was OK, but he gave me a room at the very end of the hall. I am 68 and have bursitis. One trip down to my room and back to the elevator told me that I was going to have an issue. When I returned from supper, I asked for a room closer to the elevator. Candice was very accommodating and gave me a room that was much closer. Not only did she help me with my issue, she also sent a staff person to retrieve my luggage from the room at the end of the hall for me. That is going above and beyond the call of duty in my book. Not something I see often at this hotel. Went to eat at Genevieves on the first night of the new menu. I'm sure they are trying to impress, but the menu was a bit intimidating. Although it's in English, it probably needs to be written with subtitles so we know what we are ordering. What the heck is Duck Comfit? Ended up ordering a $29 steak. Nothing special about it, except lots of gristle and bones. I'll eat someplace else in the future. The room was very clean and I tipped the housekeeper because she does her job well. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Do Not Miss This One This hotel was a favorite of mine even before the renovations, and now it's even better! The lobby and lounge/bar areas have a chic, upscale look but comfortable feel, and the rooms are beautiful. (I was also blessed with a fantastic view of the city from my 8th floor room.) The only drawback is the look of the doors to the rooms - those obviously have only been painted over and really need to be replaced altogether. They are sturdy and secure, don't get me wrong - they just look 'a little on the trashy side.' But, convenient location, easy access, free parking, free shuttle service, friendly, accommodating staff - where else in Des Moines can you find all that? And, it is not snobbish, though it could be. I can't speak to the food quality as i did not dine there, but everything else was wonderful. Don't make the mistake of staying somewhere else - try this one! September 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Simple things added up The staff and aestetics were definitely above average, but little things added up to our family probably not staying there again. We were there for a weekend sports tournament, but no refrigerator made it a challenge to keep water, gateraide and fruit cold. The downtown location provided a great view but the windows kept out very little noise. We each checked a couple times to make sure it really wasn't open even just a crack because the traffic was so loud in our room. With so many other options nearby we will likely go elsewhere in the future. September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great King suite Very roomy. Lobby redone is beautiful! Pool was great and warm, too! Breakfast was hearty and lots of great choices. September 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by The transport guys were the best After booking a king room I arrived after a 36 hr flight to not have the room requested. That's was ok. I was starving and admitted it was late. The lady at the desk said that everything was shut at 10pm. I arrived at 10.20. The transport boys were fantastic taking me everywhere iWanted to go. They were the reason this hotel shined. I locked my door on the inside after needing a well deserved sleep in. The cleaners opened and the door, even though it was locked from the inside they still broke in and switched the lights on. I was not happy about this!!!!!!! Happy, friendly and overall 3.5/5 September 6, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed I was recently on a road tour with my husband and stayed on several and diferent Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express along the road. When we passed Des Moines we decided to stay at this one since it was downtown and it looked very nice from the outside. The front desk staff was not very friendly but we stayed anyway because we drove a long way that day and we were very tired. When we arrive to our room it felt a little chilly. I checked the temperature and notice that the AC was set on 63 degrees...Since it was late at night the room did not reach the desired temperature and had a cold night!! The room also smelled like smoke and was not that clean...I should have walked out at that point...but I was to tired to complain so we stayed... bad choice...never again. I am a IHG Rewards Club member and I am use to getting breakfast for my party but in this particular hotel they only offered breakfast for me, since my husband is not a Rewards Club Member and could not eat the complimentary breakfast we passed on the breakfast. I have stayed in many Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express and Staybridge Suits and none of them are like this one...this has the best building but the worst in everything else September 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Usually much better!! I have a son attending a University in Des Moines and visit regularly from Texas. We always stay at this hotel and are typically very happy with the stay. This visit I traveled by myself and was less than impressed with my experience. For one, I was in a room at the VERY end of the hall. Each morning I would go work out before getting dressed. Each time I left my room, there would be a couple of the cleaning staff outside my door just talking and staring at me as I left my room. I felt very uneasy about it. Also, I went to EVERY vending machine on EVERY floor and there was NO WATER in any of the machines. I don't know if this was because the HyVee Triathalon was the same weekend or if it was just poor management of the vending, but it was so frustrating!! Finally, my biggest complaint is on the cleanliness of the fitness center/room. I know for a fact that it was not cleaned every day. I noticed the first morning I was there that there was hand prints on the mirror and a used towel on one of the machines. The next two days they were still there. Additionally, the trash was not emptied, as there was debris all around the trash can on the floor. I was disgusted!! If the neighborhood was better, I would have gone outside to run in the mornings. Very disappointed this trip!! September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great accommodations Convenient and close to downtown Des Moines. Spent an enjoyable evening downtown, followed by a relaxing beverage in the bar with a great nights rest. Breakfast in the restaurant to cap off a perfect weekend getaway. September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay I enjoyed my stay during the Women of Faith conference. If you need a place to stay I would reccommend this hotel. I will stay there next year for the Women of Faith conference. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great, great customer service! Our stay was for a conference. The staff was very friendly without overdoing it. Our room was very nice and comfortable. At first the noise from the freeway was annoying, but once I fell asleep, I slept like a baby!!! Will definitely stay here again! August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good stuff Cocktails are pretty expensive at the bar. The lobby is very nice. One thing to mention is that my toilet ran all night. I didn't mind it though, I like noise when I sleep. Holiday Inn should add little fans to rooms. Employees are very friendly. I asked for a pizza joint's number and the man at the desk printed me off a list of all the pizza places in the area, which was very helpful. I was very surprised to see my receipt tucked under my door when I woke. Saved me a little bit a of time. Good location if you're looking to be near the downtown area August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed/pillows! overall, I would come back. Nice updates to facility. August 24, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>