Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 212 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly service and great helpful staff Had a great time and enjoyed the premises and amenities at the hotel. They took good care of our crew. My only complaint was I had a room on the freeway side, even tho the view was great of the downtown area and the state capitol; the windows seals were failing and allowed wind whistle and ambulance sirens / traffic noise to be above ambient noise levels. Fix the windows and this would have been a 5 star establishment. Also I am a priority club member but did not receive the points because the room was booked under a business account, I would like Holiday Inn to find a way to still reward their members with some kind of points when they stay under these circumstances. June 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Older Hotel Under Renovation - Great for a meeting/ Horrible for Night's Stay The hotel is an older Holiday Inn property that is currently undergoing rennovations. We were hosting a 1 day meeting at the facility and the meeting staff was helpful and made all the arrangements as asked in a timely manner. The luncheon we had served was well cooked and presented nicely. However, there is only so much that can be done about an older hotel. While I applaud the changes that they have made so far to the public areas of the hotel, there was still the "smell" throughtout the 8th floor, not to mention the a/c never did cool down and the hot water in the shower never did get hot. Calls to the front desk brought apologies, but there were no other rooms to move to. Also, due to it's location to the hospital, the traffic #sirens/helicopters/etc# is quite loud and disruptive. Would I stay here again? Probably not. Would I recommend the meeting staff or venue for a meeting? Yes definately. June 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable accomodations, friendly staff. Thank you for the "welcome packet" with water and snacks. The continental breakfast was good with a variety of selections. Easy access and sufficient parking is available. June 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mostly good service I had to remind them at check in about the complementary gift bag, but the front desk is the exception to most of the staff. The two older ladies that work in the restaurant, during breakfast, have always been great. Tamara has always been a welcome smile when relaxing in the bar, after working all day. She has always made us feel appreciated. June 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bit stingy Bit stingy with offering continental breakfast. At these prices everyone should get a continental breakfast. June 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown stays So far during my travels to the Des Moines area I have stayed at each Holiday Inn, and even though they are all nice, this is the one that I truly recommend. The staff is great, the restaurant has quite good food at more than reasonable prices, and the bar has a good selection of beverages if one needs a night cap. Rooms are comfortable and very clean with up to date amenities. The Internet works well regardless of what floor you are on, and are right alongside the downtown area. June 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff and service Bartender was very unpleasant. Good place for a bar but get a new bartender. June 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean but noisy The interstate runs just outside your window if you are not on the parking lot side of the hotel so it was extremely noisy. It is near Mercy Hospital so we heard sirens several times throughout the night as well as the helicptor leaving and returning. Geared more for adults than children. We were with an athletic team. There was no area for us to gather as a group. Very small area in the shallow end of the pool and quickly goes to 8ft deep. The couple tables that were in the pool area had dirty dishes and leftover pizza boxes on them for several hours and were actually still there when the pool closed. Rooms were clean. Staff was friendly. June 8, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn-Mercy Hotel is worn out.... This property should be a 1 star or less. They are spending money fixing the common areas such as the bar area, which is a good strategy, because if you drink enough, you may miss out on the musty smelling rooms, windows that let in all the wonderful sounds of Helicopters and ambulances heading towards Mercy Hospital. (1 block away) Did I mention you can hear every car, truck and Harley that drives on I235 if your blessed with a view of Downtown Des Moines (South) I have tons of Priority Club points and will not stay even for free at this Hotel again. June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Delicious Desserts! This hotel was in a good location. It was right in the heart of Des Moines, so it was easy to get to places within the city. I definitely recommend the onsite hotel for desserts. After eating dinner elsewhere, my young daughter and I wanted dessert. They do not have a written dessert menu for the restaurant, but they do have several desserts available. I got the chocolate cake, and my daughter got a brownie sundae. Both were excellent. The next morning, we had the breakfast buffet, which had a variety of items, but the food was just okay. I would stay here again and definitely get a dessert! June 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No morning lobby coffee. No morning coffee in the loby - Bad, Bad, Bad. Will avoid this hotel in the future. June 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed This hotel is antiquated to say the least. As Priority Club members we inquired re: an upgrade to which the staff made NO verbal response but the "how dare we" came across loud and clear. We were subsequently given a larger room that appeared to not have been freshened in weeks. Aside from trash on the carpet, there were spider webs in the corners, and the in-room coffeemaker had, at best, only been rinsed since it had last been used. The bathroom was tiny, inconvenient, and poorly lit. We ate dinner onsite. Martinis tasted pre-mixed; Caesar salad was room temperature, over-dressed, and the lettuce was noticeably old and flabby. Sandwich was ill-conceived, poorly executed, and underwhelming. Bartender/waitress commented on the inconvenience of a minor change in our order. May 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good breakfast We had breakfast in the restaurant, which was delicious with large portions but the down side was the service was really slow. I don't know if it was because we didn't have the buffet or maybe our waitress wasn't aware we were seated in her section. She was pleasant and accommodating. May 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great shuttle driver Always great front desk staff but our shuttle driver was fabulous, great people skills May 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice and quiet for being downtown always appreciate the great service as a Priority Club member. Beds are always comfortable and quiet, so I always wake up refreshed. May 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay Check in was reasonably easy. Just a little glitch with a young woman with an attitude. She wasn't outright rude, but she had an attitude and wasn't friendly. I received my Priority Club bag and went to my room which was very nice, clean and comfortable. Love the choice of soft or firm pillows. I love the remodeling that has been done. The new bar area and restaurant is beautiful and welcoming. I ate two nights at Genevieve's and it was delicious both times. When I returned home, I realized that I had left my IPAD charger in my room. I called and the young lady with attitude answered. (Yes, I recognized her voice) I explained my situation and she told me that I needed to speak to housekeeping on Friday. I asked if the housekeepers turn in lost items at the desk and again, she informed me that I needed to contact housekeeping on Friday morning. End of conversation. I called on Friday morning and asked for housekeeping. I left a message on their voice mail and now today is Tuesday and I still haven't heard from the housekeeper, manager or anyone else concerning my charger. Even with the noise from the construction and the helicopters flying overhead, I love the hotel. My job requires me to travel to Des Moines at least 8 times a year for about three days each visit. Unfortunately, I don't feel very welcome at this hotel most of the time. They check me in only because that is their job, not because I am a person and they need people like me to keep the hotel in business. I am over 65 with white hair. I guess I should be used to it by now. May 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Slow, poor service The hotel itself was fine. We just had horrible customer service at many different levels. First dining experience was miserable....although we were a fairly large group we were the only ones in the restaurant and that was COMPLETELY OVERWHELMING for the staff. Took FOREVER to get our checks!!!!!! Staff was not responsive to noise complaints.....when LOUD, disruptive guests were complained about they did not reprimand them but actually moved the poor person who could not get any sleep!!! Paper thin walls, noisy hallways. Just overall poor service!! One bright spot.....Dan the bartender :-) May 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Expereince Came into Des Moines for just one night but spent most of the day of my stay at the hotel and most of the next morning for meetings. The staff treated me and my team members like superstars! No request to small, no worries and always a smile. What a great staff, a wonderful hotel and an excellent place to have a meeting in Des Moines. April 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Snickertini!! We were in town to visit our son who is studying at a local university. As always, the staff were very accomodating and helpful! The hotel is under renovation, but the work was almost complete. We LOVED the new design of the bar area. It is so much more inviting than the old bar and lounge area. Also, the bartenders were so amazing, friendly and fun! I HIGHLY recommend the snickertini! I looked forward to my nightly snickertini and visit with the bar staff each night we were in town. Thanks so much for another great stay!! April 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff/ Nice Hotel My wife and I stayed on the 9th floor and were pleased with our stay. The food in the restaurant downstairs was wonderful and all of the staff were great hosts The room was a moderate room nothing fancy but that's what we paid for. The location was exceptional, we were there for Bon Jovi as were many of the hotel guests, and the hotel took us and many others right to the entrance of the Wells Fargo arena. After the concert we walked back to the hotel. We had a wonderful view of the downtown area the only minor complaint I had was the outside of the windows were fairly dirty. To the hotels defense we've had 2 weeks of rain and it backs up to the interstate. They could use new windows to drown out the interstate sounds, didn't bother me though I sleep better that way All in all a very pleasant stay April 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Remodel and Room Stayed recently and throughly enjoyed our stay. The remodel has given this hotel an updated and refreshing look and feel. We were upgraded to a magnificant suite. Highly recommend. April 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I'm pleased with my stay The staff was hospitable and professional. There was a bar and a separate restaurant; niether of which I tried. I was staying because of a wedding reception. I had a king room which everything was clean and comfy. Reception went well. Food was tasty and served nicely. Staff was working hard to keep up with a gentleman in a suite on staff also pitching in to expidite the bussing. There were a couple other receptions in house I overheard. April 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Pool Tournament The staff was very helpful when it was directions we were looking for but when we called and asked for an ice bucket they promised to bring one up and never came. We were unable to cool the room despite the fact that it was only around forty degrees outside. The windows didn't open far enough to let in the cool air and the air conditioner didn't work. April 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 2013 ISPA Tournament The room was clean and staff pleasant. However, clearly they were not prepared for such a large group: refreshment stations not filled regularly, room service not answering phone, no shuttle bus service past 11 PM...not good if you are in a pool tournament. There was no refrigerator or microwave in the room. Breakfast buffet was the same menu daily and pricey. In spite of confirming reservations twice there was confusion when checking in. April 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff but that is about it We have stayed at this hotel several times. I am a priority club member but I see my stay is not on my account. I assume the hotel staff did not use my priority club card though I gave it to them. We made reservations for two rooms to be near each other. Our daughter's family was in one room; we were in the other. They arrived first and their room was on the fourth floor. When we arrived we were told that our room had been moved to the 6th floor. When I questioned this the staff told me they had to move me and no reason was given. When I asked to be moved back to the floor near my daughter I was told there was nothing available. Our room smelled musty. The window was cracked and there was no screen on it. The temperature could not be regulated. It went from hot to cold. The elevator was extremelyslow. The food is dismal and expensive for the quality. Our neighbors were very loud and wandered around the hallways with open whisky bottles throughout the night. The hotel has been in the process of remodeling for at least a year and I see no changes. We stay in Des Moines regularly and do not stay at this hotel unless nothing else is available. The only positives about this hotel is the staff is friendly and helpful and it is close to Mercy hospital. As a priority member I do expect better. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FRIENDLY STAFF After reading previous reviews, I was a little concerned about staying at this property as the reviews were not satisfactory. When we arrived, our room was ready and it was immaculate. The bed was comfortable and furnishings were very nice. We were facing the highway and also the elevator was across from our room. Neither of these factors detracted from our sleep. The staff went out of their way to make sure everyones needs were attended to. The shuttle was a plus for transporting to and from the arena. It was a convenient location to the arena. I am glad we stayed there and would do so again if we were in that area. Thanks for making our stay comfortable and enjoyable. April 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by perfect I have stayed in many hotels and holiday inns over the years. This was the most accommodating and friendly hotel ever. We were there for the NCAA wrestling tournament. I have been to at least 20 in the past years. This was the first hotel that ever worked with the tournament schedule. The staff worked multiple shifts and worked with little if any sleep. They never complained and were always there when needed. Food was excellent! April 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Attended the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships. With the amount of traffic the hotel endured I thought they did a great job hosting us. The hospitality was EXCELLENT and the beds were real comfy. THANK YOU! March 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Can't follow reservation requests and terrible food/cocktails I requested a room away from the interstate and elevators. Initially, that is not where I was placed! I had to get that changed after listening to what was loud noise at still approx. 7:00 p.m. from the interstate. I had to repack my bags and move across the hall. In the new room, the lightbulb was out in one of the lamps, and the heat wasn't turned on as I was told it would be. I never got the microwave or frig that I requested and the food and cocktail in the lounge was terrible, i.e., salmon scorched and rice dry and overcooked, martini TOO strong. I barely touched any of it. Never again... March 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our new Des Moines Hotel This was a last minute trip to Des Moines and the Holiday Inn was a great choice. The complimentary shuttle to Downtown Des Moines was great, especially since we went there during St. Patrick's day weekend and it was a busy weekend downtown The room service was delicious and my husband loved the wings. The view of Downtown was beautiful. We always stay at a hotel with a pool and the Holiday Inn's pool was quite enjoyable. The only regret we had was that we couldn't stay longer, but are excited to come back and stay! Highly recommended. March 19, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>