Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 318 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK but in need of modernisation. We stayed for 2 nights (Fri/Sat) having used this hotel over the last 8 or 9 years. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. The hotel has a large free car park and is about 1m from the City Centre so walkable if you are reasonably fit with a very nice walk alongside the race course (or across the race course and along the banks of the river Ouse but this adds another 1m to the journey but well worth it). Alternatively regular bus service from outside the hotel literally in both directions.. the bedrooms are very small and starting to look dated as are the furnishings and bathrooms are as small as you can get (It is an old TrustHouse Forte hotel from the 70s). Bed matress is fine and firm although duvets barely fit. Drinks in the bar are very expensive with a small bottle of beer costing £4 - nearly as bad as London prices! Breakfast is available for £9.95 if booked the night before otherwise £14.95. The reduced price is reasonable for the choice and the quality but even that has slipped over the last few years. Full Fill English breakfast in Loch Fyne in York is only £7.95 but more central locations charge higher prices catering for tourists. There are no disabled rooms with walk in showers or wet rooms as all bathrooms have a bath with the shower over the bath but there are plenty of handrails. We will certainly be thinking of choosing other hotels in York that are more modern next time we visit later in the year. January 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable & welcoming! We had a one night stay here with our dog, Ruby, & we were all made most welcome. We were given a lovely room which was very clean & comfy. Couldn't eat here as we had the dog but it is a great policy to allow dogs & we weren't charged for her. Some places allocate a small area for diners with dogs which could be a way forward as although I appreciate not everyone wants animals around, times are tough & we do bring trade in!! The whole stay was a nice experience & would definitely stay here again - not least because it's less than a 2 mile stroll into York which saves stress trying to park etc.!!!! Thankyou. January 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I will come back again Nice hotel, nice friendly staff, but unfortunately the same HI Corporate Restaurant Menu Again! This may not be the hotels fault, but I have to say the corporate menu choices are pretty poor and dissappointing. I'm sure the chef is very well qualified and skilled so why don't you give him the opportunity to show us what he can do and let him create his own menu, or at least create some 'daily specials' January 13, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by York For some reason my last review was refused, stay at this hotel at your peril, genuine complaints were met with very poor managent response January 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel. Peaceful setting. Food and service variable. We enjoyed our family stay. Easy access to Park and Ride scheme as York city parking not cheap or readily available. Breakfast good and staff pleasant and efficient. Evening bar food left much to be desired and was expensive for what it was i.e. burgers, sandwiches.Service was slow. Bar staff (one) seemed to have too much to do in both bar and restaurant. She was unable to find a corkscrew for our wine stating the staff must have "nicked" it! The bedrooms were clean and comfortable. January 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay. We love this hotel and spend every Christmas here plus try to come during the Summer as well. As Platinum Members we have always been upgraded to a superior room and this is very much appreciated. This Christmas we thought was the best so far as regards attitude of the staff (much improved!) and food in bar and restaurant (menu much improved and quality of food likewise). Appreciated the info in the room about Christmas in the hotel and York generally and all in all can't wait to go back. January 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room but food quality below expectations rather disappointin visit compared to our visits during the year. Check in was perfunctury with no advice as to evening meals and priority club. Staying on a B&B rate we have come to enjoy our breakfast at the holiday inn, but this time it was obvious that preparation of the food was poor, the melon fruit was unripe and chopped nto LARGE chunks, other fruit was poor in quality. The cooked breakfast was most probably the poorest in the last 5 years of staying at the HI. Fried egge dried up, scrambled eggs dried up, black pudding cut into large chunks and sausages, burnt and appearing as left over from the previous day. However serving staff as usual were excellent in attending to our requirements. The evening meal was of poor quality food wise. This I must admit has varied from each visit and makes us wary of eating at the HI in the evening, which is what we require after an 8 hour drive to get there. January 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas stay We stay at the Holiday Inn York at Christmas as we visit family nearby. This year the hotel was vibrant and festive. The staff did their best to create a festive environment and succeeded. Our room was comfortable and serviced daily. The breakfasts were good and eggs were cooked to order. A great improvement on the previouse year. January 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT ROOM AND STAY WE STAYED FOR THE CHRISTMAS MARKET AND HAD AN EXCELLENT NIGHTS SLEEP. THE ROOM WAS OF A HIGH STANDARD IN BOTH CLEANLINESS AND STYLE - LARGE FLATSCREEN TV FRIDGE ETC., AND VERY NICE DECOR THE STAFF WERE FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL, AND THE FOOD EXCELLENT, BOTH DINNER AND BREAKFAST AND THE SERVICE BOTH FAST AND FRIENDLY. OVERALL AN EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE, WOULD DEFINATELY STAY AGAIN. December 14, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by DISSAPPOINTED Bought my husband for his birthday,staff did greet him as a member,we called about 12.30,to see if the room was ready but it was,nt.but my husband noticed on the paper they had him down as a gold member ,so he told the,they said they would change it for when we came back,but it still read gold instead of platuim.when we got to our room ,there was no water in the room.so my wife rang down and was on the phone for near 10mins waiting for an answer!!!!!!so she asked about the water and chocolate that we had been given in the passed,but they said they dont do it now.But someone would come up with some ,they did 2 bottles of water and 1 kitkat??which we found even more strange.as the last holidayinn we stayed at we had a bottle of wine and chocolate.I asked the manager I think stood at the desk for a comment booklet he told me to ask at the desk,she then said they dont do them any more!!!!!!!?kind regards mrs charlton December 13, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Surprisingly Disappointing We stay at the Holiday Inn a lot and this trip to York is an annual Christmas Shopping event. We booked a standard double room which, in the past has always been up to our standards. Unfortunately, on the occasion, when we found our room and entered, it smelled strongly of smoke. All rooms are none smoking so we could only assume that this was as a result of the smell being on the soft furnishings. This led us to make assumptions as to how old the furnishings actually were. We didn't cause a fuss and wanted to get on with our weekend and so we didn't inform the staff of our concerns. The room generally was shabby at best. The furniture and decor appeared tired and in need of updating and it was not to the same standard as other rooms that we have stayed in in the past, which are allegedly the same standard. We ordered room service that evening and the food (Yorkshire Menu# was very good, although extremely expensive. The following morning #afte a very noisey night of regular door slamming, loud conversations and generally inconsiderate conduct) we found that the shower in the dated, in need of repair bathroom, was running cold. After small investiagtion we phoned reception who informed us that the boiler was not working and that a number of guests had already phoned down. We went the full day without a shower as we needed to be in York for 10:30am and it wasn't fixed by the time we left. Another noisey night follwed and we checked out the following morning. The evening before checking out we enquired about whether the hot water was back on. We were told it was. Upon checking out, we asked the receptionist if there would be some recompense for the lack of a hot shower on the first morning. She removed the drinks and service charge from our room service bill, totalling £12, which we thought was quite an empty gesture. On asking us if everything else was ok, we told her that we had a few issues and concerns, to which she replied OK, but didn't ask what they were. We were quite disgusted by the lack of concern from staff in general. Those staff we spoke to about the hot water issue appeared quite dismissive of the issue and one even told us that it was only off for an hour, even though we felt that it wqas more. Either way, the point was irrelevant as the hour it was off was the hour that we needed it. Overall, we are disappointed about the standard of the room, considering the cost, but we're even more concerned by the lack of interest from staff in making us feel satisfied with our stay. Considering the company put such emphasis on Priority Club Membership we didn't even feel like we were treated well as regular customers. We have now started to consider other hotel chains to use in replacement, in the future. December 12, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It's a Holiday Inn... It's a Holiday Inn. You know what to expect. Arrived very early in the hope that we could park the car for free and were told that as our room was actually ready we could check in there and then - great bonus. We were also allowed to leave the car after we had checked out for a few hours. Room was a bit small but clean, though the design is a bit seventies and could do with an update. Bathroom very small but adequate. Took the breakfast option - food plentiful and good. Dined at the hotel one night - again food and service good. Hotel location is excellent with easy public transport options in to York which is much easier and cheaper than using the car. The hotel itself is a typical Holiday Inn - it could be anywhere. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Price was a bit high but this is York! Would definitely stay here again. December 10, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Snookered in York We stayed it Tthe Holiday Inn over a weekend to see the UK Snooker finals. We shared a room with our young 10 year old grandson who slept in the huge sofa bed. The Hotel was busy, but there were no annoying noises. Breakfast the next day was good and well organised. Only slight complaint was the lack of really hot water in the morning. We mentioned this at the reception who apologised and said that a boiler had failed and they were reparing it. A couple of days later we received a letter from the hotel apologising for the problem. Nice of them as it wasn't really a great problem. As soon as we get the snooker tickets next year, we will book again with the Holiday Inn. December 9, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by H I York The hotel has good parking friendly and attentive staff quiet comfortable rooms with open views and is within easy walking distance for the centre a perfect place to stay December 9, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by st. nicholas fayre unfortunately our stay at York was not the good experience we enjoyed the last time we stayed there. No staff on desk on our arrival and was told by another member of staff passing by to "just shout and someone will see to you" not what we expect from Holiday Inn. Staff were definitely not on the ball. No hot water available on the Sunday morning, apparently a boiler had broken down so we were reduced to getting washed and ready with lukewarm water. Sorry Holiday Inn will probably stay elsewhere next time. December 7, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 all round excellence recently had a long weekend in the Holiday Inn York, excellent relaxing time, the staff are first class in all areas, helpful at reception made a long weekend into a long relaxing weekend. December 7, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We stayed at this Holiday Inn for our Daughter's Wedding. We had three rooms for the time we were there. The staff could not have been more helpful with all the preparations for the wedding. They looked after all of us (including the bride) brilliantly. All the staff, reception, chambermaids and restaurant staff were fantastic. Thank you all so muchfor making the occasion so special! December 7, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and excellent staff. We stayed here for one night on a Saturday with my partner and our son.The ladies on reception were efficient,polite,and very friendly.Our room was excellent,very clean,and perfectly adequate for a nights stay,I requested a quiet room,and that's what we got.One gripe was,we had room service on the night ,which when arrived was a little cold,I understand on a Saturday night they were busy,but it spoilt it a bit.Breakfast next morning more than made up for that.Staff on service were excellent,and couldn,t do enough for us,as for breakfast,one of the best we,ve had!. Overall,we would stay here again and recommend it to friends.p.s.having to pay for wifi was annoying. December 1, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and location Third time at this hotel and it always delivers. Good clean and well decorated rooms. Staff always helpful and friendly, especially George in the breakfast restaurant. Looking forward to returning soon. November 26, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good quality room. Excellent value for money. Room clean and comfortable, staff very professional but friendly. Stayed for graduation ceremony at York minster and taxi reasonable. November 23, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight stay Easy parking, excellent welcome at reception and good food. Would stay again November 21, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Always welcoming. Always welcoming, friendy and smiling. good food , and recognize you Priority status, I always stop here if i'm in the area November 18, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Why do I have to pay for internet? The hotel was average but the staff more than made up for that. The server in the restaurant was very helpful making suggestions to meet special dietary requirements and was most apologetic about the noise in the bar. However all this friendliness and upgrades and service just doesn't gel with paying extra for WIFI. Why not add another 5 to the bill and give it free? A much nicer feeling November 17, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel and Comfortable. Able to relax but spoilt by no Broadband connection. Good general service with exception of one Staff at Breakfast time but it was dealt with by management quickly and satisfactorily. It's a shame that the Wi-Fi connection is so, so expensive. Broadband connection should be inclusive. After all this is the 21st Century - 2012 and not 1912. Without Free Broadband Connection , it did hinder our full enjoyment at the Hotel. Telephone for Customer Service is expensive. Should not use 0871 code. I spent over £3.00 on phone call to Customers Service from Norfolk to Hotel. Why not use local number or 0845 code? November 9, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by PITY ABOUT THE WI-FI The room was comfortable and the service was acceptable, apart from a somewhat abusive incident when my companion used the toaster for a croissant which then burned. The breakfast attendant was a bit aggressive about it and belatedly a notice about the use of the toaster did appear. Embarassing scene in which my companion told the attendant where to get off! The major downside to the visit was that I could not get a vodafone signal in the hotel. This would not have mattered but for the fact that Holiday Inn wanted to charge £5 for an hour's wi-fi connection (unheard of in my experience of decent hotels). By buying a half pint of beer in Plonkers in York I was able happily to access their wi-fi. But in my hotel, NO! November 8, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service This was a weekend break the first we have had for some time due to having two small puppy dogs. The hotel accomodated them for us. When we arrived we were in a room on the second floor. Due to having the dogs we were re-allocated a room on the ground floor. Nothing was to much trouble and we were made really welcome. We had breakfast in the hotel each morning and it was excellent. York centre is not to far away so the hotel is in an excellent location. Really recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit York. November 4, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn York I booked a reward night at this hotel for my step daughters birthday. The reception staff and housekeeping were excellent in arranging for the room to be decorated with balloons and a few cards prior to us checking in. She was really made a fuss of, (isn't that what girls like?) and had a great time. I would recommend this hotel, in a fabulous city full of history and its own North Yorkshire culture, to anyone wanting a great place to stay. Food and drink as always was excellent. October 30, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overnight break We found this to be a perfect base for a stay in York. Staff were very welcoming and attentive, hotel was very clean and comfortable and food was delicious...dinner and breakfast. Only negative was bathroom was small but still functional. Bus service is right outside hotel but it's a nice peaceful location and only ten minutes bus ride from the centre of York. October 26, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 very uncomfortable bed , Saturday 20th October 9am work being undertaken on the 2nd floor, removing carpets, no concideration for guest wanting to have a relaxing Saturday morning . Sticky underlay was left for us to walk on . Health & Safety issue. Reported this to Reception said a manager would contact us -Have heard nothing- no appology . Hotel should have informed us prior to our arrival if this work was taking place . October 26, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy night We often stay at this hotel but on the last 2 occasions we have been kept awake during the night. On the last occasion 20/10/2012 we phoned reception at 5 am it took around 5 minutes to answer the call we were told they would go and tell the people to keep the noise down . But the noise continued in the morning we complained to the duty manage who apoliged& offered us 50% off our next stay, at the time we excepted but on reflection as we had lost a nights sleep now on 2 occasions I think they should have offered more October 26, 2012
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 next>>