Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 290 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendliest Hotel In The UK This hotel is situated in the redeveloped docks area of Cardiff and nearby to all of the attractions and amenities there. It is a well maintained building with good facilities, but it scores best of all for its friendly, warm and helpful staff. I will recommend this as the best place to stay in Cardiff. October 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average but acceptable accommodation Holiday Inn Express located at Cardiff Bay within walking distance of Cardiff city centre. Old but acceptable rooms and average ratio quality/price September 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful weekend The staff were very helpful especially as the swipe card would not open our room. ( other people had this problem is this a regular concern?) The staff offered to open the door everytime we needed! However eventually a card was found that worked. The staff ecommended different types of transport to the city centre and priced them which was great, we eventually went by boat. We would never have thought of that. We would recommend the location easy to walk to bars and restaurants. Very helpful staff. We would have loved bacon as a breakfast option but the quality of the food was good. Will definately book again when in the area. September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good experience great all round experience and will stay again - could not fault hotel or staff September 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cardiff Bay unfortunately the lift was out of action for all of our 5 nights but the kind staff carried our cases up to the 3rd floor and compensated us with free wi-fi thank you for providing my wife with dairy free products at breakfast the only problem with breakfast is that grapefruit is not suitable for people on statins, perhaps peaches or similar could be offered as an alternative? This seems to be a problem at most Holiday Inns - not just Cardiff September 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by pleasant stay for family The service overall was very good as the staff from the reception to the cleaners all greeted us with a smile throughout our stay. The tv could do with an upgrade as it was tiny and the selection of channels and reception was poor . Even Freeview would have been adequate. Our room was smaller than expected even though it could sleep 4 people with the addition of a sofa bed. But the bed was nice and comfy. The location was ideal to explore the cardiff bay area September 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient for City Centre but Quiet Convenient location within walking distance of the city centre. Plenty of car parking. Quiet area next to old dock. The bedroom was comforable but just starting to show signs of wear and a refurb will be needed soon. The lift was not working so had to use the stairs. Staff very friendly and keen to make amends for the lift problem and found us rooms on a lower floor. Breakfast was fine although no bacon, just sauceages. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Break A well positioned hotel between the bay and the city centre. Attentive staff, clean room and breakfast sufficient. Only drawback was that the lift was out of order during our stay - was a pain because we had a 2 year old and all their requisite paraphenalia with us. September 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by holiday in wales everything was fine except the fact that you charge money for wifi while in 90% of hotels it's free. Considering the amount of money i paid (2 rooms for 6 nights) this is a bit unfair. staff and service was fine...breakfast for uk standard a bit below avarage i think thks! September 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Central, accommodating staff,comfortableand family friendly Chose this hotel as close to the bay, family of 4 in a family room - which was able to accommodate us quite easily. Easy walking distance to the bay, about 5-10 minutes easy flat walk. Staff at the hotel were welcoming and helpful, room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was busy, but food was plentiful, fresh and very good value. Located next to a Brains establishment, where we ate in the evening - very good value pub food and child friendly. Checkout was easy, again staff helpful, asking if we needed directions etc to get to any of the days activities or back to the motorway. Will definitely return, and have already recommended this hotel to friends. September 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Have had better stays Chose this hotel having stayed here several times recently. It is the perfect location for shopping and eating being in walking distance of both the City Centre and Cardiff Bay. On this occasion, the room let me down badly. Half of the lights didn't work and the Air Con was next to useless, meaning i had to use my dependable desk top fan. The staff did their best to help bringing in an extra table lamp but with no maintenance staff on at night were stuck Our Bill was reduced to compensate which was nice. No doubt i will be returning September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and excellent overall stay I stayed at the hotel with my 2 children and we all had a lovely stay. From our arrival we we received a friendly welcome and received great advice as we hadn't visited Cardiff before. The breakfast was excellent and I felt that the hotel was well located and excellent value overall. Would definitely recommend it. August 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well placed and friendly staff We have recently holidayed in America and used Holiday Inn Express. We were so pleased with them that we decided to use them for our two day break in Cardiff. The hotel was well placed (10 minutes walk to the bay or the city centre) and we were greeted by friendly staff on our arrival. The room was clean and comfortable although the walls are very thin. We were OK but I can imagine it would be a problem if you had noisy neighbours. In America, wi-fi is provided free. I know this is coming in 2014 but it is a disappointment that it is not available now. We liked the breakfast as we only have cereals, toast and yogurt. However, I was surprised that the cooked breakfast was limited to sausage, beans and scrambled egg. The choice in America was more extensive. Overall, we were pleased we stayed here and would use the hotel again. Not quite up to American standards but not bad. August 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay/poor breakfast Very enjoyable stay: friendly ,helpful staff; clean room and good location. Disappointing breakfast (especially scrambled eggs and sausages). Would recommend hotel to friends. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient for all amenities It is the first time I have stayed at this hotel. It is convenient for all amenities. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast choice was better than I remember for a Holiday Inn Express. Rooms are clean well maintained. There was some road noise from the other side of the river though. August 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and comfortable room The staff was very good and helpful. Room was very comfortable and will visit again. August 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by General state of Hotel We last visited the Hotel 2 years ago.It is in danger of becoming shabby.Our WC had broken tiles andgrouting that was black , most uninviting ,this was compounded by only one set of towels! We fell the service charge for parking should be included in the Hotel costs as there is no onstreet parking near .It was a pity because we enjoyed our stay before . August 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dogs allowed in Bedrooms..Yuk ! Our experience at this mid range average hotel was exactly as we expected and to start with we were pleased with our choice as we did not have high expectations. However when we saw a dog at breakfast we made a vow not to stay in a Holiday Inn again. Who wants to sleep in a room where dogs have been and possibly even on the beds. Sorry, but this is not to every ones liking. August 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location Good location, easy to walk to the city centre or Cardiff bay. I will use this hotel again August 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by NOT A GREAT LOCATION This hotel is not close to the facilities at Cardiff Bay, it is quite a walk away. Nor is it close to central Cardiff. So dining/drinking choices are limited. There is a pub next door. It is set in an area of flats. Shouldn't have to pay for parking as it is not in the City centre, also not enough car parking for the size of the hotel. No free Wi Fi. Poor quality TV, wrong Aspect Ratio on some channels. Very slow lift and only 1 lift. Breakfast area was not large enough to deal with hotel guests, although another room was opened to ease crowding. Sausages not very nice, bland, although scrambled eggs good. August 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Will Not Be returning to any Holiday Inn Our plan was to break up our journey home after holidaying in the UK, we have a 3 year old and a 5 year old. The room was small and did not have any Bath which for a family room was quite strange in my opinion. On arrival we had to pay £9 for supposed Hi Speed internet, the first code i received did not work had to go back down to reception, second code worked but would only allow us to use one device i.e. could not connect iPhone and Laptop, to connect iPhone would be another £9. We walked across the bridge to the pub "The Harbour" and it had free Wi-Fi???? we ate there and returned to the room as we were all wrecked, TV remote didn’t work, tried to call reception phone didn’t work, walk back to reception for different TV remote, was given another one, back to room and that did not work either, Back to reception and had enough at this stage. The duty manager did come to the room after our conversation and replaced remote and phone. Following morning we had Breakfast about 8:30, half the cereal stations were empty and the scrambled eggs were disgusting, we thought they were powered or something they were rotten, half way through our breakfast cleaner walks over opened door beside my daughter and proceeded to spray cleaning agent onto the glass, she could live with the cold but the taste of cleaning spray did not add to the already poor food. This is my first review ever, I could not in good conscience not leave this one to help warn other potential families. If the Hotel next door is €100 more we will suffer that than risk a similar stay in another poorly run and desperat establishment as the Holiday Inn. Oh and to leve the following morning it would take £5 parking, the kind Duty manager did comp us as he could see we did not enjoy our stay at all. In short they try and charge you for everything as much as they can and what they are selling is not worth the money. August 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Could do better First off you need to pay for the parking, which is OK as it's clear up front. However, the look of the hotel when you approach it tends to dampen your spirits. You can tell immediately it's dated and you're not going to get much out of this. The breakfast is just adequate. I think they can do alot better with the quality (for example, the orange juice doesn't exactly taste like orange juice, it tastes more like concentrated juice watered down). The rooms are very much dated (a bit on the small side compared to other holiday inns) and I had a bit of an issue with the housecleaning. The only positive about this hotel is the staff who are very friendly. When we raised housekeeping hadn't vacuumed the floor, the head of housekeeping apologised and showed concern to find out what was wrong. Overall, stay was OK but if I had to choose again, this probably won't be my first choice. Only reason why I would consider this is the staff who friendly. However they need to improve on other fronts if they want to attract visitors back. August 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hi Room is ok but bathroom not good and light too ,sofa bad also big gap children's not sleep properly , August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by lovely relaxed atmosphere myself and my adult family really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to make a return visit when visting cardiff in the near future. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worth a visit Visiting cardiff was made easier by staying at The Holiday Inn Express in The Bay Area. A five minute walk from The Millenium Centre and all the bars and restaurants to feed an evening. The hotel is modern, very clean and yet has a relaxed air about it. Two very comfortable nights we spent as a family of four in a double room with a sofa bed (for the children). The buffet breakfasts were perfectly substantial to help us past lunch. The staff through the shifts were both professional and personal. Attributes at a level i would normally associate with a higher classification hotel. I would recommend this hotel without doubt. I will return. A perfect hub from which to explore. August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well located, comfortable but a little noisy This hotel is perfectly located to explore Cardiff, with the centre and Cardiff Bay in walking distance. We had a great few days with the family. The staff is nice and helpful and the choice of breakfast is good. More important, the price was great! It is just a little noisy because of the highway that runs at the other side of the wharf. August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and experience Excellent location, nice hotel, good value. Try it! August 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Generally very good, just a few gripes This was the 7th time we have stayed at this hotel which says that we like it. The staff are always polite and attentive and seem to be genuinely keen to ensure you enjoy your stay. As usual I had booked a family room which contains a double bed and sofa bed. Unfortunately the sofa bed was uncomfortable with a distinct crater on the right side resulting in our two children and my wife sharing the double bed and myself using one side of the sofa bed. Two days into our 4 day stay the air conditioning began to make a very loud noise . I told the girl at reception who said she would ask the maintenance man to take a look at it. The man came and diagnosed a noisy pump. He emptied the a/c condensate drip tray and said it would be ok, unfortunately he was wrong as during the night it kicked in 3 times waking us up on each occasion. The following morning whilst checking out I mentioned that we had suffered a broken nights sleep. The receptionist was very apologetic and waived the parking charge which I thought was a nice gesture. Despite these issues we still enjoyed our stay and would definitely return as the hotel has many plus points chiefly location, ambience, value for money and service. August 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice room, excellent staff Can;t fault staff or the location of the hotel. issue with key card, staff very very helpful. breakfast was a challenge, i feel for the staff they simply couldnt get the food out quick enough. As things got very busy opening the Dylan Thomas suite was a good move. This hotel offers the best for families value wise as it it close to the very popular Dr Who Experince, Cardiff Bay itself or a short walk to the City Centre, August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Room was clean and tidy, very comfortable. Nice decking area to relax. Staff were very nice and helpfull. Excellent variety for breakfast. Will definitely stay here agian August 5, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 next>>