Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
(e.g. Oct-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 323 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel good- Bed Not Our family does enjoy our stays at various Holiday Inn Express' The only complaint i have is the Bed. Soft and not very comfortable. On our second stay the bed was also badly made. I ended up sleeping on the mattress cover. This will not deter us from staying at other HIE On our second stay I was NOT recognised as a Priority club Member May 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Unterkunft für "English in Chester" Das Hotel lag für meine Zwecke ausgesprochen günstig. Mein Zimmer war für eine einzelne Person prima, für 2 wäre es eng gewesen. Das Frühstück war gut und der Service mit dem Transport zu 2 Restaurants nach Wahl sehr angenehm. Die Lage am "Roodee" ist sehr schön und nahe zu den Rows und allen Geschäften, weiteren Restaurants, Cafés und Pubs. May 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent & unique location This hotel was in an excellent & unique location. It is within 10minutes walk of city centre & our room had unique, extensive views over entire racecourse. The room was very comfortable & clean. However, we were very dissappointed with the standard of breakfasts, with poor quality fruit juice, limited choice of cereals (no high fibre), only 3 items of cooked hot breakfast- sausage,scrambled eggs & beans( "don't do bacon" !!) & hard bread rolls which appeared to have been reheated in a microwave?! May 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Still not impressed Sink slow to drain, not fixed despite leaving a 'please unblock me' note by the sink. Poor choice at breakfast. Orange juice is still undrinkable. What's so hard about providing fresh orange juice? Toaster doesn't work properly. Staff not iterested. I've stayed here last year and the same problems occured. April 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient & satisfactory food Very convenient for accessing Chester by foot and around area by car. Obviously widely used by business people\groups. Heating controls not brilliant & bathroom would be enhanced by bath as well as shower. One morning no fruit salad or similar choice at breakfast & limited choice of Yoghurt.- told delivery had not come in!! Cereal choice would be enhanced by availability of Muesli and dried fruit. On occasions hot food selection appeared sad & overcooked. Why if emphasising environment were towels changed when not indicated need for change? April 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight stay I used this hotel as I needed to be in Flint the following day. The hotel is well located, the rooms are what they are, that is spacious,reasonably equipped and well maintained. The bar area is fine with the food on offer basic but fine. The Real plus point is the staff, nothing is to much trouble for them, they were welcoming and friendly. Well done HIE Chester. April 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 STUNNING location.. A superb view of the racecourse form our room. Literally 200m walk to the town centre shopping areas. 10 mins from Chester Zoo. If you're looking for a great location to visit Chester and the Zoo then this is it. Nice clean facilities, nice hotel, and a really really good minibreak. If you want more than this then you're too picky, and too much of a diva. Can't fault the hotel at all. April 7, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by OUR EASTER BREAK. HAVING BEEN HERE BEFORE AND HAD GOOD SERVICE, THIS TIME WE WERE DISAPPOINTED FIRSTLY WITH THE ROOM WHICH WAS A DISABLED AS SHOWER HAD A SEAT AND PULL CORD. IT WAS A COLD WEEKEND AND IT WAS DIFFICULT TO GET THE ROOM TO A COMFORTABLE TEMPERATURE, ALSO THERE IS NO HEATING IN THE BATHROOM AT ALL WHICH AFTER THE COMFORT OF CENTRAL HEATING AT HOME IS HARD TO COPE WITH. ADDITIONALLY THE HOT WATER AT THE WASH BASIN WAS ONLY WARM NOT HOT WHICH MAKES IT DIFFICULT FOR HAVING A SHAVE USING A FOAM AND BLADE. THE WATER AT THE SHOWER WAS FINE BUT THE DRAIN MUST HAVE BEEN SLIGHTLY BLOCKED AS THE WATER WAS SLOW TO RUN AWAY AND WHEN MY WIFE SHOWERED THE WATER WAS COVERING THE FLOOR OUTSIDE THE SHOWER. THERE WAS ALSO A SMELL. April 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This is our 3rd visit to this great hotel. The Reception staff are extremley polite & helpful. The rooms are basic but clean & modern. Breakfast is more than adequate, plenty of healthy food with a couple of hot food options. We will return, thanks. April 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by HOTEL CHESTER THIS IS THE WORST HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS I HAVE STAYED IN FIRST NIGHT WE HAD A LEAK IN THE ROOM AND WE COULD NOT SLEEP ALL NIGHT THE ROOM WAS SMELLING OF DAMP AND 2ND NIGHT WE HAD A FLASHING LIGHT ALL NIGHT . April 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by room 325 We always stay in the holiday inn express at Chester race course which is fantastic and may we say that the refurbishment that has taken place since we were there last in January is excellent well done looks and feels modern , We have just stayed in march 2013 and we where given room 325 which was really comfy and clean all apart from the LIFT is wright next to the room and you can here it all night up/down and the cables pinging minor problem but I will make sure not to have this room again, but many thanks thanks to all at Chester race course holiday inn (; March 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Lovely clean room, small but compact. Staff friendly and accommodating, asked to change rooms from front of hotel as on main road and traffic noisy, back of hotel great and nice views of race course. Great location, 5 minute walk into the city. March 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tom enjoyed a more than enjoyable stay most relaxing friendly staff & very good service March 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Chester thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay ,the hotel is in an excellent location making it easy to explore Chesterand the staff were very friendly and helpful.The room was clean and more than adequate and the breakfast was value for money. We will stay there again and would recommend it to family and friends as a place to strongly consider when visiting Chester. March 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very good value we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, room was excellent for the money we paid, also the complimentary breakfast was more than ample, nice also to be able to park our car for free and walk into the town centre March 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall a great package of comfort and value We didn't expect such a smart clean room with breakfast within 5 minutes of Chester town central with free parking. Would recommend to anyone wanting a short break in Chester. March 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not upto standard for Chester.... I stayed here for 1 night in March on business - surprised by the condition of the room - an unpleasant odour greeted me as I walked through the door and there were stains on the carpet. Not the most inviting of welcomes. Breakfast was ok but could do with a bit more choice. Staff friendly and helpful. March 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleasant and comfortable stay We spent two nights at the beginning of March and we were a bit apprehensive about what the standard would be having read some of the reviews. However on arrival we were able to check in early and our room was more than acceptable. Both bedroom and bathroom clean and tidy. Bed was very comfortable and I was very surprised that we had clean towels for our second night. Tea and coffee were adequate, we always take extra anyway. Breakfast was plentiful, good choice and regularly topped up. Only comment would be a second toaster would help at busy times as there was quite a queue. All in all we were very happy with our stay and will be going back again this year at some point. Only thing I would advise is the walk into the centre is uphill which if you have health problems as my husband does, it can be a struggle for them, but quick on the way back! March 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location , good value Very enjoyable stay room clean & comfortable, good location with free car parking ,breakfast good and stafff friendly & very helpful , would stay here again March 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very little sleep Stayed for 2 nights but hardly got any sleep for a number of reasons; mattress had a 'roll together' dip in middle & noise from room next door. Our room had an adjoining door to the next room so, probably due to a lack of sound proofing, we could easily hear the snoring of the occupant on the first night and the second night was worse with revellers shouting & swearing at 12.30am, 4.30am & 6.30am. There is also a design fault with the bedside shelf nearest the wall which has a 3cm gap between shelf & wall. In the night my husbands specs went down the gap & lodged in the even smaller gap beside the skirting. After much trying there was no way of retrieving them. Luckily reception were able to provide a wire coat hanger which, when unravelled, did the trick. Inexpensive but would happily pay more for good sleep! March 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cold room but very clean. Fantastic location, however the room we had was right next to an extremely busy and noisy railway track . To compound the noise issue the rooms heating was at best Luke warm which made for a cold night. As I say fantastic location but for a Holiday Inn I expected better. Can't comment on breakfast as we could not wait to check out. March 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service this was booked as an anniversary weekend. A great big thankyou to Emma who help out in bringing the extra touches to life. Flowers and chocolayes were in the room ready and waiting for a surprise the hotel could not help enough. The only let down was breakfast queue forming for toast and then still not done probably. Otherwise would stay here again. March 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by first visit to chester very pleased we chose this hotel. only 5 minutes from wall and town. free secure car parking.hotel staff very friendly and helpful. room good and spotless. breakfast good fair selection.our room overlooked racecourse.slight noise from trains nearby but didnt bother us.we were there on a monday and tuesday 2nights, wish we had stayed longer.( maybe could be noisier weekend)would definately go back to this hotel. March 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by home comforts hotel was spotless throughout,very welcoming and relaxing. its very handily placed for exploring Chester-without having to find parking spaces. This is possibly the jewel in the Holiday Inn express Crown. Will be visiting again very soon March 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fab value for money Loved this hotel. We asked for a room away from road noise so we were at the back overlooking the racecourse. Just be aware of the train track!! Luckily we were not near this. Very friendly receptionists. Good breakfast selection shame there was no bacon but overall was plenty. Just 100m to city walls. Loved the multi door for the shower room. Overall great would go again. February 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and clean rooms We had a one night stop here, perfect location, room was clean and furnished exactly how you expect a Holiday Inn to be. The bed, however, was not very comfortable at all because it had collapsed in the middle. Breakfast was good, well stocked and a pleasant experience. Would stay again. February 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, excellent service Great location, only 5 minutes walk into centre of Chester. Staff were very courteous and professional. Very pleasant stay, highly recommended. February 20, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Too cold! Hotel is clean, but our stay was ruined by being far too cold. A small electric heater in the room and summer weight bedding in February meant that we spent the night wearing jumpers with coats on the beds for extra warmth. Poor choice of hot food at breakfast. On the plus side, quiet position, free parking and close to the city centre. February 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Oasis from a busy schedule Living in Manchester, Chester is within 45 minutes to an hour away. It is far enough to forget family, friends and work for a couple of days. We chose the Holiday Inn because of the short distance to the shops and eateries and we were not disappointed. Our room on the first floor overlooked the racecourse, surely one of the most picturesque in England, and was just what we ordered. Firm or soft pillows, comfy bed, power shower, sufficient clothes space and enough room not to be each others way. The breakfasts were served fresh and replenished regularly by a cheerful and friendly staff, and tables were not hard to find with guests not needing to queue up and wait. The coffee machine gave a variety of coffees, mocha, cappuccino, latte or just plain. We left on both mornings feeling satisfied and full. Just the ideal start to the day. The reception staff were knowledgeable not only for our queries but in guiding visitors and guests around Chester and the neighbourhood. They remained cheerful and helpful throughout our stay. When we returned to the hotel after our evening meal there was always a welcoming atmosphere at the bar with prices cheaper than some of the bars and pubs we visited. I particularly liked the response from the bar staff when I returned our empty glasses that previously took to our room. They thanked me so warmly. Finally, we would recommend this hotel without reservation. It won't serve to suit everyone as some of the reviews I read will prove, but I stayed in a 5 star hotel in Crete last year that was fantastic but still got bad reviews; everyone has different views and experience different scenarios. We shall return. February 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Could do better We have stayed at this hotel several times but this last visit was not as good as previously. The DOUBLE bed had a thin SINGLE duvet on it which thankfully the staff changed once it was brought to their attention. So out of 3 nights - 2 were very uncomfortable. The shower and sink where not clean. Black mould in the shower and dried toothpaste in the sink. The breakfast was very poor - especially if one is GLUTEN intolerant. The only food that can be eaten is fruit and scrambled egg. Previously the hotel served bacon - but this has disappeared off the menu. February 15, 2013
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 next>>