Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 131 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by One of the worst I checked into the hotel normally I am greeted platinum member and given at least a bottle of water. Nothing. The room I was put into had trash in the trash can and used towels in the bathroom on the sink. Bed was not made up complete. I was put into another room with 2 beds. The computer table wasn't big enough for my computer and work properly. The chair at the table was way to low for seating at the table chest level. There were no other chairs in the room the room was the most uncomfortable room I have ever stayed at at any hotel. Needless to say this hotel will never see me in it again. I don't as for much but as much as I stay in HIE I expect a tad better than what I received at this hotel. September 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Best I love staying here, everyone is so nice and I feel so safe here. I had my grand daughter with me so I wanted to be sure we were comfortable , this place is the best. The staff here are so kind, I give them a rating on scale from 1-10 a 10+++++ its a great place! If you need anything they are there to help and always have a smile and greeting! Thanks for the wonderful stay I had at your hotel, I will be back! September 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Labor Day Weekend Stay 2013 While the HIE in Marina was not terrible, it was not great either. We stayed the previous weekend at the HIE in Salinas and it was much nicer hotel than this one. On the plus side, its close to the freeway and the staff was very friendly and helpful. There were several aspects to the hotel that I think distracted from our stay. One, the first rooms we were given smelled badly of cigarettes. This is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel, but I suspect they used to allow smoking and the smell has never left. Even the towels had that cigarette smell to them. The desk clerk was very understanding and moved us to new room. While the cigarette smell was not a prevalent, it still lingered when you ran the air conditioner. Secondly, there should have been a large chair in the corner of the room, but it was missing. It know it should be there because I rented three rooms that weekend and it was in all the others. Third, the breakfast area seemed understaffed. It was a holiday weekend and the hotel was booked and they only had one person managing the breakfast area. They frequently ran out of items and the poor girl left in that area to fend for herself could not keep up. Conclusion: If you don't like the smell of cigarettes you should book another hotel. Otherwise, it was fine for one or two nights. I would probably not stay there a second time. September 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast needs improvement Breakfast selections were not that great. There were no muffins or pastries, other than those sticky cinnamon buns. Overall, the breakfast area was not very inviting, and I've stayed in many HIEs over the years. Also, the breakfast area should have small trays so one can take food back to one's room. This is the situation in many other HIEs I have stayed at, but not this one. Spelling and grammar on posted notices needs attention. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Holiday Inn Express We Have Ever Stayed In! This is an excellent Holiday Inn Express! The front desk staff was cheerful, the breakfast was well stocked and they kept re-stocking items as it was labor day weekend and very busy. Our room was beautiful, quiet, clean, comfortable bed, great shower (good water pressure), and everything worked perfectly. We enjoyed the nice LG flatscreen tv with lots of free HBO channels. The on-site laundry was convenient and there is a Walmart within walking distance and also a 7-11 and restaurants. Short easy drive into Monterey - we would stay here again for sure. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed is very important! With my back problem, a comfortable bed when I travel is very important to me & this facility's bed won my approval. I came with a hurting back & left with no back pain! The front desk service was excellent & checking in & out was smoothly done. I will be back! September 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, good breakfast, reasonable price Check-in was easy. The room was immaculate and the service was excellent. Great breakfast choices. Easy access to restaurants, beach and tourist attractions. August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Facility to stay close to Monterey This is a nice and clean hotel with variety of room options; suites with queen or king beds and standarad rooms. The facilities are nice, however, they should consider adding an indoor or outdoor swimming pool. It is close to Monterey area and no point of paying the double or triple prices to stay at other locations closer or within the Monterey Bay area with smaller rooms and not as comfortable. We always stay at this property and always have had a good experience. August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experiance I was just at a Holiday Inn in Portland , Oregon -the staff there was very polite and greated me as a Platinum IHG member. The individual at this Holiday Inn Express could have cared less if I checked in or not. The room and property were great. Just diappointed in the front desk staff. August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Scary sign without explanation This was a very nice hotel, little expensive for the location. However, there is a sign at the elevator that is completely inappropriate to place in clear view of the guests (at elevator entrance) without further explanation. Sign is next to the elevator and talks about risks associated with chemicals on the property, without any further explanation. What can a guest do or not do to minimize the risk? the staff says the sign is there because of a California law but cannot explain what the concern is. without explanation it makes a mockery of the law and does nothing to cause people to do the right thing. Poor example by a corporation like Holiday Inn Express. August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed feelings This was our second stay at the hotel on this vacation as we travelled south and then back north along the Pacific Coastal Highway. Our first stay received an excellent review. We were unable to have the same suite on our second stay and had the unfortunate experience of not only having the room next to the elevator but also the drinks and vending machines and ice machine. Consequently there was a loud and constant rumble from the air con unit necessary to cool the heat from refrigeration units. Had our stay been longer than just the two nights we would have asked for an alternative or shortened our stay. I would never stay in room 314 again - ever. Such a shame as the room itself was very comfortable. If I was rating the room only it would certainly be at least good but as it is combined with comfort the noise level brings the overall score down. The hotel itself is conveniently located with easy access to Route 1 at exit 410. I would certainly stay at this hotel again but ensure that it was not in this room. August 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value but... Location is wonderful with nearby beach and Moss Landing, Pacific Grove and Monterey just a short distance away. I generally like Holiday Inn Express but beds are a bit soft and this hotel room needed a carpet cleaning...too many stains which I have not found in other Holiday Inn Expresses. August 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Air conditioning Broken in room Customer Service said they fixed it, but nothing was actually done. Room was hot and uncomfortable. August 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Saturday Night in Marina We have been staying with you for a number of years because we come to the area once a year to see family. There was a large group of young people--school age--staying there on that weekend and they were extremely noisy. We called twice around 10 pm and management got them quieted after 2nd phone call. It was annoying because you charge extra for the weekend and we are senior citizens and like to retire by 10. I'm hesitating to stay with you at the next time we return. August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff We had to extend our stay due to automobile problems, and the staff was extremely helpful. August 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good experience. We checked in on a Friday evening for a 1 night stay and got a room on the bottom floor. As soon as we entered the room I noticed a strange odor. After just a few minutes we all decided that this was not an odor that we wanted to tolerate overnight. I went to the front desk and was met by an extremely nice young woman who gladly moved us to another room. The second room was also on thebottom floor. We entered the room and were pleased to find it odor free. All was well until bedtime when I rolled into bed. This was the worst bed I have ever slept on. (Or rather attempted to sleep on). The bed was so soft and broken down that I could feel the springs. My kids were already asleep in the next bed so I declined to make an issue with management at that point. I suffer through a very uncomfortable night. The best part of the stay by far was the breakfast. Lots of choices and very good. I have stayed in a lot of Holiday Inn Express hotels and I can not recommend this one. In addition to the problems mentioned above, my general impression is that this place needs some TLC and it is not getting it. As an example the interior hallway carpet was not very clean and the spa room needed some fresh paint and cleaning. August 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Served its purpose, but found the HI Express Marina sort of run down Although the customer service is excellent at this hotel and the front desk employees try their best to make sure guests are taken care of, the hotel needs some TLC - it is getting pretty run down looking. Management needs to pay attention to entry and common area tile floors (filthy), paint and condition of the elevators (scuffed, scratched, dirty), wallpaper around guest room windows (dirty and torn), housekeeping in the guest bathrooms (toilet seats are not being properly cleaned) and guest room carpets (made the bottoms of my bare feet dirty after I had just showered just from walking across them). For the prices charged at this hotel, I expected better facilities. Since I was only staying one night as a business trip stopover, I didn't make a big deal of it, however I would not stay here for an extended leisure trip or any longer than a night. I prefer nicer surroundings such as those found at other suite-type hotels in Seaside, 5 minutes up the road. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great all around!!!! My family and I have stayed at this Holiday in for the last 2 years and its been great every time. Customer service is tops in the game. Will be back on my next fishing trip to Monterey in a month. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Relaxing Mine and My family experience at the Holiday Inn Express in Marina was a great one. It was very affordable and clean. We also enjoyed the wide selection of delicious breakfast items and the friendly, helpful staff. We loved the fact that the beach was in walking distance. July 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not very clean Our room did not have any towels and when I asked for some they said they did not have any more washclothes. The phone did not work in our room and the elevator area was dirty. One bright spot was the breakfast bar attendent. She was very friendly and helpful. July 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Expecting more from the front desk staff The front desk staff couldn’t help me with the promotion they have with the Monterey Aquarium. That was the reason I decide to stay the night with my family there. They just say sorry instead of trying to offer a better solution to their customer. July 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel with close proximity Everything was great. The spa temperature was too hot. That's the only complaint. July 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by A great location but it has problems.... We have stayed at many Holiday Inn Expresses and this is not a 4 star by any means. We encountered several pesky problems in our room. The electrical outlet in the bathroom didn't work and the coffee pot was situated in a place far from an outlet so we ended up sitting the coffee pot on the floor to use it because the cord on the pot is only about 2 feet long. These are not huge problems but when you're trying to get dressed at 6 am it just makes a morning hassle that shouldn't happen. I spoke with Anna at the front desk regarding these issues and was treated very rudely (I never did get the extension cord so we could at least sit the coffee pot on a table). We understand that once in a while mistakes happen, that's just life, so we would still come back in spite of the outlet and coffee pot problems, but we will not come back to this Holiday Inn Express because of being treated so rudely! July 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Confusion over Anniversary Reward Night Check Out staff has confusion over my free Anniversary Reward night when I checked out. I was told to pay for it until I showed her the confirmation free night email. Upon checking the sign in agreement, there was no charge indicated on the paperwork. Problem was finally resolved. First time ever I have problem with free reward night with a Holiday Inn. July 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything great clean room, nice beds, housekeeper service great - came when needed and left alone when not needed- friendly staff - all needs taken care of, additionally nice complimentary breakfast July 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Monterey and Carmel !! Excellent service! We choose to stay here using points and the close proximity to Monterey and Carmel and not paying the hotel prices of these locations. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had to cancel one night due to a flight change and Anna made sure my points were put back onto my account. Spoke with Britt who was also very helpful. The hotel is super clean, spacious and updates if not newer. Even the breakfast wait staff was super friendly. I stay in many Holiday Inn's and this might be the best so far. Thanks for everything! July 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience! Would definitely stay again! Great location near Monterey for much better value! Room was clean, spacious, and well maintained. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially since we arrived at 1:00 a.m. :) The only issue we had at such a late hour was finding parking. The hotel parking lot is rather small, and the only parking close by is behind the hotel and across the street near a duck pond. I wouldn't recommend parking in this back lot as it cannot be scene from the hotel and would be a perfect target for vandalism, or worse! July 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unauthorized Charges I regularly stay at the Holiday Inn Express because of its quality. However, this is the second time I stay at the Marina and they mistook my profile information for another guest. Consequently, they charged my bank account for her stay to the tune of $551.44. This was supposed to be a direct billing to the company I work for, their mistake has left me short on funds for the awaited 4th of July holiday and all they could say was "sorry for the inconvenience". Where is accuracy and customer service? July 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place, old mattresses My wife and I enjoyed our two day stay. We did find the king size mattress we had to be older as we knew where all the springs were at. I slept fine, my wife had some minor lower back pains. June 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Depressing Property We were situated on the bottom floor in a room that was incredibly depressing. It was clean, bu the decor was dark and unwelcoming. I would never stay here again and I have serious doubts now about any Holiday Inn!! June 21, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>