Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-15-2014)
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 315 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value and convenient This is a no-frills hotel that offers everything you need for your visit, in a good location. Cons: the room and bathroom were small, the bathroom was looking a bit tired in places, the lighting in the room was quite horrible (blueish neon lights), the breakfast wasn't particularly inspiring (watery scrambled eggs, limited hot food options), the decor in the public spaces, e.g. dining room, is pretty basic. Pros: comfortable bed, choice of pillows, decent shower for a hotel, good location, very quick and easy prepayment, check-in and check-out, free parking in Gunwharf Quays car park. Overall it was a convenient place to stay, and pretty good value. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location in central Portsmouth Business stay but close to shopping and restaurants August 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Hotel - shame about the Breakfast The hotel is situated in a very good location for visiting The Dockyards Museum, Spinnaker Tower and a good choice of restaurants nearby. The room was comfortable and the staff friendly and very helpful. However, considering the cost of the room, the breakfast was the worst ever whilst staying in a hotel. The only hot food on offer were ghastly sausages, scrambled eggs and baked beans with the opportunity to warm some bread in the toaster, apparently the only offering in a Holiday Inn Express. We also booked using the family and friends website and the cost turned out more than booking by other means and with payment up front no chance of cancellation, August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Good value hotel in the best location for Gunwharf Quays and Portsmouth Historic Dockyard. Lots of great restaurants and bars adjacent to the hotel. Convenient parking nearby August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Short Break Location really good, no need to use the car. Did not go down to breakfast, as it finished at 9.30, and felt we needed a rest so would have been better if it finished around 10.30. Some small repairs could be done, but all areas were clean and tidy. Only down side is there is only one way into the area and we arrived at a busy time, it took nearly an hour to get to the car park from the main road and after a long trip we just wanted to get out of the car and into the room. August 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very warm welcome We arrived in a crumpled mess from Torquay after several train changes. We were greeted by a very warm and enthusiastic Shaun who made a big fuss of our two children. The room was a typical HI room and not too tired. Clean and functional. We dined out at Jamie's Italian, literally the building next to HI and the kids played in the sand pit opposite. All told a memorable stay, made all the more enjoyable by a genuinely warm and obliging host in the form of Shaun, for whom nothing was too much trouble. August 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All round good experience This is my second stay at this hotel. I find the comfort, cleanliness and great location makes this an ideal place to visit Portsmouth. It is a shame that you cannot book in until 2 pm and the carpark access is a little confusing. Apart from that I have no complaints and it would be my first choice when visiting the area again. August 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room OK, nice staff, slow elevator. Everything was good except for the price they charge... August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal location This fab hotel is idealy situated for a great dayout, in walking distance of all the shops and resurants. staffed by an excellent team will come again. August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed too small :( We have been staying at this hotel for a few years now, mainly because of its great location for a shopping trip in Gunwharf. This time we found the bed to be way too small for us. My partner is a big man and we have a super king bed at home. We were both sleeping on the edge and couldn't turn over as there was simply no room. I ended up trying to sleep propped up on the 2 seater sofa, only problem being, there were no spare blankets or covers, therefore i had a very uncomfortable and cold night! Couldn't wait to get home for a sleep!. We will probably try somewhere else in future, as the other local hotel has bigger beds and it is a bit cheaper too. To upgrade at Holiday Inn was a tad expensive for us. August 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by MurrayMints Location couldn't be better and the charge for parking excellent. Everything is on your doorstep. We had a problem with the TV which was sorted out within minutes. Reception staff very friendly and helpful, had a great time. Only criticism is the towels -they are awful - worn out and grey and didn't want to use them - apart from that all good. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Modern, clean and comfortable We stayed overnight in August 2013. This is a modern, clean and comfortable hotel right in the heart of Gunwharf Quays with easy access by car and extremely convenient parking - free for 24 hours which was a bonus and increased the value of the hotel price. The breakfast was adequate and well presented as a buffet. Staff extremely helpful and welcoming. Good tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom with an excellent en-suite shower. Don't forget to ask reception for the good deals available if you have dinner at one of the many restaurants in the Quays. Excellent overnight stay. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly Recommended Two of us stayed here for one night. The beds are so comfortable. The location is perfect. The breakfast was wonderful too. The staff were very helpful looking after our cases for a few hours after we had booked out so we could visit the nearby attractions. The security of the hotel is very good too. We will definitely stay there again when we are next in Portsmouth. August 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good service and excellent location really lovely hotel in the middle of gunwharf excellent location, brilliant service really friendly hotel staff and good breakfast options in the morning lots to choose from. very clean hotel rooms and good powerful shower. The only complaint is that I was on the sofa bed and it was not as comfortable as I would have liked but it was still an enjoyable stay. August 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location I really like Gunwharf Quays near Portsmouth Harbour train station & this hotel is right in the middle of it. Nice waterfront, the Spinnaker Tower, lots of shops & great restaurants with discounts at many of them if you're staying at the Holiday Inn Express. It's also close, within walking distance, to Portsmouth itself, Southsea, The Historic Dockyard & the ferry & hovercraft services to Ryde, Isle Of Wight. The included breakfast is okay, although if you've stayed at Holiday Inn Expresses in the USA you'll miss the hot cinnamon rolls! Nice to see signs asking guests to respect other people trying to sleep when they return to their rooms late at night, not that any body takes any notice. That's the one thing that stops me taking more hotel breaks, especially at weekends. During the week, especially during school holidays, it's inexcusable. August 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful staff The room was comfortable, quiet, and clean. The staff was friendly and very helpful with luggage and my wheelchair. Air conditioning worked well and was much appreciated as we were there the hottest week of the year. August 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Stay Excellent position in the Quay for shopping and eateries. only downside our room was opposite Bar 18 which was very noisy even with ear plugs in!! as all the doors of the bar were open as it was a lovely evening would ask for alternative room if stopped again. August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location We had been staying in Paris in a comparable Accor property near Port d'Orleans. We found the room very comfortable and the bathroom very clean. The included breakfast was very good, and there is a small pub there which was welcome when we checked in late at night. The hotel offers some very nice discounts at many of the local restaurants. They also offered a less expensive ticket to the Spinnaker Tower. Surprisingly, they didn't also offer discounted tickets to the other main attraction in Portsmouth, the HMS Victory. Very surprising. Our only complaint was the lack of free internet. 5 pounds for a limited access and something like 12 pounds for unlimited is absolutely ridiculous considering all the free WiFi hotspots we left in France, including the ferry that brought us to Portsmouth! It seems like a small thing to complain about, bu when you are traveling from Canada and are relying on WiFi to keep in touch back home, it is a concern. August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location & perfect room. We were very lucky to be given a room overlooking the quay which was great for people watching. The room itself was very spacious and had everything we could wish for. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful. Checking in & out was very easy. The location of the hotel was perfect. We were in walking distance of most things & parking at the Gunwharf Quay car park for a small fee was an added bonus. August 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by visit staff unaware of IHG status which is Gold and does include internet - however they insisted I wasn't and in turn I had to pay for it at xx.xxGBP a day for 4 days - NOT VERY HAPPY entrance was a guess at best - not in front and had to look for it elavator way to slow and found to go from floor 2 to 3 one must go down first then back up room was comforatable August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT PLACE TO STAY We had a great stay, the staff were friendly and helpfull, the service was excelent, rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable, just perfect. We asked to be allocated a room on an upper floor and they gave us one on the top which was great. We would go there again. Thank you August 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by To basic for the price I found the hotel quite basic. Breakfast did not have enough food for all the guests and wifi is very expensive. Also, had problems with unauthorized withdrawals from my bank account in holiday inns name after booking August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and value the location was great and this hotel is excellent value for money. the rooms were comfortable and clean and the breakfast a definite plus August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely location and excellent service Stayed for 3 nights. The location is perfect for the shops and marina. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast is ideal, great selection and buffet always re-filled throughout. Was my 2nd stay there and going back to stay for a work trip again very soon July 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by made welcome with pleasant staff only one real complaint the breakfast, included in the price, was dreadful the worst we have ever been served in any hotel. unfortunately did not have time to complain as reception staff very busy checking people out did manage to get a coffee and muffin away from the hotel to start our day- July 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Unpleasant Experiences We had previously stayed at another Holiday Inn Express (Sheffield) on this trip and had a nice room with pleasant and helpful staff and service.We booked the Portsmouth (Gunwharf Quays) hotel even though it cost far more than others in the area because we liked the location and felt for that price we would have a quality hotel. Not so. We arrived in a heatwave to find a room where the temp was 25. We switched air con full on and I tried to have a shower. Shower head was so limescaled few jets worked and the water went out sideways if you turned the pressure up. Also shower had curtains rather than a proper door- not what one expects nowadays at the price they charge. Came out and got dressed- temp had risen to 26.5! Went to reception and told them was subjected to a long inquisition as to whether I had read instructions on how to use aircon and was told there was no problem with the shower- but nobody went and checked. We said we would go out to dinner and hope it was sorted by the time we came back. It wasn't- room was still at 26 after 9.30 pm so I asked for a room change as my husband has a heart condition. First the manager said they had nothing then eventually we were offered a room on the 3rd floor which turned out to be at the far end of a very long corridor. We are both obviously OAPs but were told by the manager we would have to take our own luggage. However one receptionist did offer to help us. Carpets in corridors were grubby and shabby and the room itself was also very "tired" with a double bed and a grubby sofa bed over which a sheet and duvet had been loosely thrown( we booked a twin room). I turned back the sheet to find grubby upholstery with a gap between immoveable cushions so I ended up sleeping diagonally with my feet at the head end as the head was lower than the foot!. But at least the aircon and shower worked and it was late in the evening by now. Next day I tried to watch television but the remote didn't work. I checked batteries- they were corroded in so at breakfast I took it down to reception. They didn't check batteries -the same manager told me there was nothing wrong with it and again I was give a patronising lecture on the use of a remote control! All this was in public at the reception desk. We had only booked one more night as we were leaving early next day on the ferry so I said no more and left it but I took photos of the ragged curtains, chipped furniture, grubby upholstery and corroded batteries. I have emailed Holiday Inn Express but so far have had no reply which is why I am now posting this review. We paid well over £100 per night for this! The only good thing about the hotel was the location. July 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel Did all I expected, location ideal, breakfast better than expected. July 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff and Service The hotel is very conveniently placed for all activities in Portsmouth. It is very comfortable and well maintained. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Only down side is that it is a little expensive for an Express Hotel. July 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful staff We had a great relaxing break at this comfortable and clean hotel. Staff were helpful and sorted minor problems without delay. Air-conditioning was fantastic in the heat wave conditions. Location is unbeatable for Historic Dockyard and Spinaker Tower, parking at £2 per day is excellent value. Thanks for making this a great holiday. July 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home from home! I use this hotel on average twice a month. It is consistently good. The rooms are very clean and comfortable,the staff are very friendly and helpful. You cannot beat its location in Gunwharf with many good restaurants and shops. The only lower rating is for breakfast which is 'free' but they cannot really do hot breakfasts because of limited kitchen facilities. It has become a home from home! July 22, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 12 next>>