Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Important Announcements
Read more Read less
Book now
More options Fewer options

** Best available rate search does not include affiliation rates.

Find your stay
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
Find

* Required field

Upcoming reservations
Find your stay
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
Find

* Required field

voco St. David's Cardiff

Compare notes

We like knowing our guests have had a great stay with us – or finding out how we can make their voco experience even better. Read our verified guest reviews below.
alt
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
85%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 369 reviews
85%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

369reviews

  • 5 Stars
    244
  • 4 Stars
    63
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    15

Local area Covid Break

By

26 October 2020

club

As we couldn’t travel we decided to stay at St David’s Hotel. We booked a Junior Suite which was spacious and had lovely views over the Bay from the seventh floor. It was little things that could be easily fixed that let this hotel down for us, one of the blinds was broken so we couldn’t lift it to see the view (whilst the maintenance guy did turned up the one day he said it was a two man job and said he would fix it the next day, he didn’t return), bulbs were broken / not working in the main room

Read more
Read less

Great hotel

By

25 October 2020

Great hotel staff great, front desk could be better

Read more
Read less

Birthday break

By

24 October 2020

club

I am a local resident and have looked upon this hotel for years, wanting to stay but something always popped up but this year my husband and I decided last minute to book bed and breakfast. From the second you walk through the doors the staff are friendly and helpful, the food was delicious, the room was 100% luxury with an amazing view, great bed, coffee machine and robe.
The hotel and experience was fantastic, I even had a birthday card from the hotel reception. The pool facilities were lovely and myself and my husband left feeling relaxed and comfortable.

Read more
Read less

Cardiff bay

By

24 October 2020

platinumelite

Nice hotel and location
But in need of a freshen up looking a bit dated

Read more
Read less

Short break

By

21 October 2020

Great location and modern looking hotel. Opportunity in modernising bathrooms. Not offered an opportunity to upgrade room and availability of products in the bar

Read more
Read less

Great place

By

21 October 2020

club

From the moment we arrived to time we left we were treated like royalty. From the desk staff to restaurant staff, and room staff, everyone was friendly and rushed around to make sure we had everything we needed for a wonderful relaxing time.
The room was spotless, great view of the Bay, food was excellent.
I needed a restful weekend and got one thanks to everyone at the hotel , I even managed to get a long awaited swim in the fantastic pool they have there while treating the missus to a massage in their relaxing Spa.
Love the place, will be back again asap

Read more
Read less

Great Break

By

20 October 2020

club

With Covid-19 restrictions we wanted a break but couldn't travel far so we travelled across Cardiff to St, David's despite all the facemasks the staff were great & we were delighted to be able to use the pool.
Fantastic view across the bay from our balcony, we felt a world away from home.
A welcome change of scenery gave us the break we needed.
If restrictions are still in force we will go again

Read more
Read less

Challenging times for a hotel

By

20 October 2020

We have stayed at the hotel over 20 years. Whilst respecting covid - our last 2 stays over the last 6 weeks have been challenging. Parking is an issue - with large payments for the hotel car park but this has been reported before. Firstly our experience is that there is no problem with the staff - the staff are doing the very best they can - they are very largely kind and helpful. What is challenging is the catering especially if you are a vegetarian - the menu at the moment is very limited and time and again things were off - on a limited menu. I did offer at one point where haloumi cheese was not available over 6 weeks - to go to the supermarket round the corner and buy some. I believe despite covid times - management needs to be clear of stocking a limited menu of food. Again I praise the staff in general at this time - but wonder about the presence of management to ensure that this works so very much better.

Read more
Read less

Stay local! So we did

By

19 October 2020

club

Given current travel constrictions, we decided to celebrate our anniversary at this local hotel. The view from our room was fabulous over looking the whole of Cardiff Bay and beyond. I was a little disappointed to be on the 5th floor having been told at booking I would be on the 7th and strangely despite low numbers in the hotel, room and balcony noise from guests near by was initially an issue (why put us all together?!!). The room itself is a little 'faded glory' and with rather budget toiletries (Korres) in the bathroom and very average tea and coffee provided (no cafetiere). I think without the view this would be no different from a budget hotel room. The restaurant is lovely with calm ambience, ideal for dining. Our exuberant waiter, Max was very attentive. The menu was very paired down but to be expected at the rate paid. Complimentary glass of wine and champagne was a really appreciated touch to acknowledge our anniversary. Breakfast was very enjoyable and again the restaurant staff excellent. Overall we enjoyed our experience of this hotel, it was somewhere we never had need to stay at before and it did feel like a short break. No it probably isn't as luxurious as the Rocco Forte days and yes, could do with a refurb but the staff were delightful and the sunset view from the balcony, beautiful.

Read more
Read less

Lovely staycation

By

18 October 2020

club

Due to local lockdown restrictions we stayed for two nights as we could not take our planned holiday. The views from the hotel are stunning and it was well worth a visit having looked at it from the outside for a number of years. We would definitely return for another stay at some point and we had a great nights sleep in both rooms (St David's Suite and Junior Suite) as the beds were very comfortable . However, I am not really sure that it was a five star experience. Whilst the welcome was warm I had to point out to the member of staff the contents of the package that we had booked which included an upgrade if available. We would not have received this if I hadn't enquired. We were not greeted with the 'locally influenced treat to kick-off a guests stay' which we understand should have been welsh cakes and is the alternative to biscuits in rooms (which would have been preferred). The bathrobes in both rooms had holes in them and were on the small side and only just fitted me (size 12). Generally bathrobes are huge and are based on a 'one size fits' all approach. Breakfast was tasty but again, not five star. I do not want this review to sound too negative as we would definitely visit again but as the premier hotel in Cardiff I would have expected those extra special touches.

Read more
Read less

Great service

By

17 October 2020

club

Brilliant , Hotel itself is lovely, rooms good size and friendly staff. A very safe and clean place to stay. The hotel made sure all cleanliness measure were on place. We would stay again

Read more
Read less

Excellent hotel very polite

By

15 October 2020

club

I was staying at the Voco St David on business. The hotel is in a beautiful position overlooking the bay

Read more
Read less