Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-16-2014)
(e.g. Apr-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 66 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by SECOND STAY I have stayed at Barnsley Holiday inn on two separate occasions in November and December booking Six rooms over that period . The second time from the 4th December was not as good as the first there were things missing on the second time . For example no bath mats available as advertised . Room very cold on return in evenings . No walk in shower as requested . Perhaps next time . December 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good experience On arrival there was little recognition for a Platinum member. No room upgrade, no offer of bonus points, no vouchers, only a free drink at the bar. I arrived at 20:30 and so only left bag in room before heading to the bar for food. The bar was not busy and so an order of a starter and main course should be not problem. It took a while and then both the starter and main course arrived together ! I needed to get the waiter to take the main course back to the kitchen while I ate my starter. When the main course was returned it was very hot. It was only fish, chips and peas but the batter was particularly bad - so thick that it was inedible. On returning to the room it was quite spacious. The bathroom was poor and not clean - no soap in the sink bottle, mouldy shower curtain, dirt around lower walls. On check-out I was offered a receipt from a printer that was barely readable - it took time to find a decent one. A poor hotel in all. December 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice, clean , helpful staff,comfortable beds, I would go to other Holiday inn hotels, but not Holiday inn express. This was the first time we have gone away for a break, and tried Holiday inn hotel. It was very nice and the trip from Manchester over the hills to Barnsley with all the views was great, having never been up north before. Thank you to all your staff for making a nice break for my wife and I. December 7, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by One to avoid Booked a double room with a bath. Room was not ready at 5.30pm so I was given a single with a shower. I was told there was two functions on until 1am. I thought that meant it would be busy down stairs. what that really meant was your room will vibrate with the noise and you will hear not only the music but even the DJ speaking. I would recommend if you have to stay here do not accept a room on the first floor. December 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor sleep quality On this occasion our stay was not as memorable as the last time, due to the poor quality of the mattress. Due to arriving late we had arranged for the heating to be put on , this was not done. On the plus side good spa etc and breakfast was good. December 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Excellent customer care from reception and duty management I had chosen to stay at the Holiday Inn Barnsley for 4 nights on a business trip. I had a minor problem with a fan type noise in my room which disturbed me on the first night. I reported to a very helpful receptionist who had the duty manager come and see me. I was assisted to move rooms as the noise could not be identified. The staff at this hotel are courteous and most helpful with local directions. This rates as the best of the Holiday Inns I have tried and on this trip alone I have stayed in three. November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super welcome Another warm welcome, fantastic stay, great food and service with a smile. Always 10 out of 10 Thanks, November 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to Holiday Inn's usual standards A good sized room, laid out for 2 adults and 2 children. No real platinum PC recognition nor welcome pack. No paper and pens in the room; none available at reception when complained. Paid for breakfast on Sunday, was not advised no late breakfast, as is usual with most hotels. Missed by 10 minutes, no real pain shared by reception. Overall, not my best stay in Holiday Inn this year. November 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, but a very soft bed Nice hotel, not a standard holiday inn. The entrance gives you a warm feeling when you enter the lobby. Nice seats situated in the lobby area and friendly staff at the reception. Had a nice meal at the restaurant and good service. The only comment is about the softness of the bed. I believe I was in room 231 and it was like a lot of elephants did sleep in this bed prior to my arrival. Not a good matrass when you drove the whole day in your car and need a good sleep. November 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by cleanliness we were disgusted when going to bed in the evening as the z bed that was provided for our son the sheets that were on it were solied. Therefore for this experince alone i rate it lower than poor Staff were appoligetic but the should NEVER happen October 31, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by very noisy room The pillows were hard and i unfortunately didn't see the tag on the pillow saying you could request other pillows my husband had removed them and put them away ! and then complained all night how bad they were .THe room I think must have been over a kitchen as a loud fan noise kept us awake all night along with slamming doors and the noise from a disco downstairs. The food I had was appalling as a coeliac i know it seems to be difficult for chefs to be inventive but fruit for starter and for dessert... come on even ice cream would have been acceptable ! The main meal was dry and tasteless too . October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very enjoyable stay Lovely room, nice and clean food was a very good standard in restaurant and a excellent service everyone seemed to care that we had a good experience. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bit of a mixed bag We (wife, daughter and myself) booked an exec room, looked great, felt great, tried to get to sleep - disastor, all the airconditioning units were below our window. it was horrendous. we had booked for two nights so got out of bed and rang to see if we could change rooms. we could, the floor directly above, still terrible, which meant we had to move to a normal room the other side of the hotel. The staff were great. had to ask to have the room rate altered at the end of the two night stay, bit of a shame to have to have to ask. overall could of got the room cheaper down the road, we had decided to pamper ourselves and it fell foul. The food in the restaurant was great, no complaints there, buffet breakfast was good quality and well stocked. evening meal was really good quality ther is a gym next door an it's advertised that you can use the facilities, i evne rang and asked, even asked about the nipper. shock horror the nipper could only use theswimming pool for two hours mid afternoon, which is when we were out. also dissapointing as it was another reason we chose this as a family. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by upgraded room and excellent service I had booked a standard double for my husband and myself although we were travelling separately. My husband checked in a short time before me only to find we had been given a room with twin beds. However, when he went back to reception to see if we could change the room they upgraded us to the bridal suite. This was a very pleasant surprise which we very much appreciated. The next morning we had a lie in and nearly missed breakfast. Again, the service was very good as I rang to place our order to have it in our room. Everything arrived cooked to perfection and nice and hot! Very pleased with this stay. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wedding 12th october 2013 i had the executive suite the room was wonderful. for me an my bridesmaid plus family to get ready for wedding ..the staff marvolous sarah co ordinater made us all very welcome she apsolutly ace shame it rained for photos in secret garden but that didnt stop us from having the best day ever..the honeymoon suite made the day even more special the treatment and all the staff the girls on reception were wonderful and very helpful ..i would like to say a very special thankyou to sarah who co ordinated all through the day and night making everyone welcome please can we have her full name to thank her personly.. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Restaurant Holiday Inn Barnsley is probably one of the least attractive sounding locations but this hotel is excellent. Next door to a massive Gym, with an excellent restaurant, comfortable bar and genuinely friendly staff. I have had the good fortune to be upgraded as a Priority member and the Exec rooms or Suites are very spacious and comfortable. Much better than the other HI hotels within a 20 mile radius. October 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Almost certainly the worst Holiday Inn I've ever stayed in Noisy rooms, dreadful food and generally poor service. There are a few more very good staff. I'd suggest staying on the M1 for a little longer. October 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in Yorkshire I stay at Holiday Inns literally every week, and I know what constitutes a good and a bad hotel. This is one of the best Holiday Inns that I've stayed at within the UK! Easy to find, just a short distance from M1, ample car parking and smart building. The staff were great and couldn't have been more helpful. Immediately identified as a Plat card member, though other guests appeeared to be handled in the same way. The room was excellent; furniture and bed good quality. Large flat screen TV. All good. I had dinner in the restaurant with a colleague, and whilst the buffet selection was not particularly wide, the food was fresh and tasted good.. All of the staff with whom I came into contact were friendly and courteous. Will I stay again? Most certaiinly! September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Expectation surpassed I have stayed many times in Holiday Inns and the experience and quality is overall good. However, I was pleasantly surprised to experience a really comfortable and spacious room, excellent buffet meal and although I didn't get my newspaper in the morning as promised, I would definitely stay at Barnsley again and recommend to all. I didn't know I could have used the Bannatines gym across the road prior to my stay...so didn't have my kit with me...Very friendly and helpful staff. September 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bed/ bar staff All of our party 12 or more rooms had a very uncomfortable night as all of the double beds wre saggy causing all couples to roll to the middle of the bed. The bar staff were all very inexperienced causing a lot of mix ups with all orders September 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value I stay at this Hotel on a regular basis and always get looked after. All the Staff are friendly and very welcoming. Thanks again!! September 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 - Star service (again).... Another enjoyable stay with superb service, great food, a lovely room and Scotland almost won......!!! August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Evening and Morning We decided to stay overnight after our neice's wedding. Reception welcomed us with a smile and nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay. We would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel. August 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noise 2 out of 3 nights very good, the third night was very noisy. We specifically asked for a quiet room and the first 2 nights were fine, however there was a wedding on the third night and the music went on until 1.00am. We could hear it loud and clear in our so called quiet room. Finally gave up trying to sleep. Had a 300 mile drive home the following day, very tired. August 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAFF AN EXCELLENT TEAM WHO REALLY LOOKED AFTER US, GREAT BREAKFAST AND PLENTY TO DO NEARBY August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, staff, rooms and food choice I stay over in this area about twice a week and always choose this hotel. The rooms are of a consistently high standard, relaxin and quiet with good air con which is great for these hot summer nights! The range of food is excellent, room service, restaurant or the bar curry buffet(which is £10 all you want with a bottle of cobra thrown in) The staff and friendly and welcoming, even remembering my name when I ring to book in. Nothing is too much trouble. I haven't used the gym next door, or the additional facities but I believe they are of top quality. There are a few hotels to choose from in this area but I always try to get in here. It gets full quickly midweek so book early if you can. July 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff great otherwise disapointing Have stayed in many UK Holiday inns, found this hotel disapointing although staff encountered could not have been more friendly or helpful. Room was clean on arrival but bed uncomfortable, soft with a dip in the middle. Stayed 2 nights - room not serviced during stay. (Never not had bed made even in lower grade hotels) Nuisance of key card for room which did not work on 2 occassions. Breakfast all the basics but unexciting. Too few staff,1 cup instant coffee,bacon not nice. Asked for poached egg which member of kitchen staff called me to collect as no waiting staff to be seen. Also had to ask for water as non out. Dined in restaurant in evening,only when seated discovered it was the monthly dinner dance. Case of put up with the music or dine elsewhere outside the hotel . No alternative area to eat offered ( 1 party did get up and go) ) Meal disapointing. "Steak with watercress" was steak with basil served with potatoes/chips no vegetables or accompaniments. Hotel busy with weddings on Friday,Saturday and Sunday and with locals at dinner dance did often feel like an intruder at a private party and that staff were always too busy dealing with these guests who took over all spaces including any outside seating. Booked as part of a Groupon deal would not want to pay full price for this hotel. July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service I stay in a number of hotels in the course of my business and the service in this hotel was exceptional. July 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great price and facilities I stay at this hotel several times per year to visit family in town. While my primary reason is to access the Bannatyne's Health Club next door - which is excellent - I enjoy the Breakfast buffet and friendly staff. The room is standard Holiday Inn fare - comfortable and clean although I have yet to be assigned one of the refurbushed rooms which look more appealing. The wired internet was fast free and reliable however they have just 'upgraded' to WIFI and I was only able to connect in my room around 50% of the time - with variable speeds - not so pleased with that service. During my recent stay there was a Saturday Night Wedding which was not announced to guests. My room was directly above the reception and so was impossible to sleep until the music stopped at 1am - the room was almost vibrating it was so loud. It would be a great service if a notice could be put under the door of the affected rooms the day before so at least you could plan to sleep late - I work unusual hours and had to be awake at 6am next morning - not so happy about that. I will return to the hotel in August and hope that will not be repeated! June 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for money The hotel was in easy reach of the motorway,plus had the advantage of being with 15 minutes from two shopping areas. The added bonus was the use of the adjoining leisure centre. June 8, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>