Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 143 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by upgraded room and excellent service I had booked a standard double for my husband and myself although we were travelling separately. My husband checked in a short time before me only to find we had been given a room with twin beds. However, when he went back to reception to see if we could change the room they upgraded us to the bridal suite. This was a very pleasant surprise which we very much appreciated. The next morning we had a lie in and nearly missed breakfast. Again, the service was very good as I rang to place our order to have it in our room. Everything arrived cooked to perfection and nice and hot! Very pleased with this stay. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wedding 12th october 2013 i had the executive suite the room was wonderful. for me an my bridesmaid plus family to get ready for wedding ..the staff marvolous sarah co ordinater made us all very welcome she apsolutly ace shame it rained for photos in secret garden but that didnt stop us from having the best day ever..the honeymoon suite made the day even more special the treatment and all the staff the girls on reception were wonderful and very helpful ..i would like to say a very special thankyou to sarah who co ordinated all through the day and night making everyone welcome please can we have her full name to thank her personly.. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Restaurant Holiday Inn Barnsley is probably one of the least attractive sounding locations but this hotel is excellent. Next door to a massive Gym, with an excellent restaurant, comfortable bar and genuinely friendly staff. I have had the good fortune to be upgraded as a Priority member and the Exec rooms or Suites are very spacious and comfortable. Much better than the other HI hotels within a 20 mile radius. October 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Almost certainly the worst Holiday Inn I've ever stayed in Noisy rooms, dreadful food and generally poor service. There are a few more very good staff. I'd suggest staying on the M1 for a little longer. October 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in Yorkshire I stay at Holiday Inns literally every week, and I know what constitutes a good and a bad hotel. This is one of the best Holiday Inns that I've stayed at within the UK! Easy to find, just a short distance from M1, ample car parking and smart building. The staff were great and couldn't have been more helpful. Immediately identified as a Plat card member, though other guests appeeared to be handled in the same way. The room was excellent; furniture and bed good quality. Large flat screen TV. All good. I had dinner in the restaurant with a colleague, and whilst the buffet selection was not particularly wide, the food was fresh and tasted good.. All of the staff with whom I came into contact were friendly and courteous. Will I stay again? Most certaiinly! September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Expectation surpassed I have stayed many times in Holiday Inns and the experience and quality is overall good. However, I was pleasantly surprised to experience a really comfortable and spacious room, excellent buffet meal and although I didn't get my newspaper in the morning as promised, I would definitely stay at Barnsley again and recommend to all. I didn't know I could have used the Bannatines gym across the road prior to my stay...so didn't have my kit with me...Very friendly and helpful staff. September 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bed/ bar staff All of our party 12 or more rooms had a very uncomfortable night as all of the double beds wre saggy causing all couples to roll to the middle of the bed. The bar staff were all very inexperienced causing a lot of mix ups with all orders September 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value I stay at this Hotel on a regular basis and always get looked after. All the Staff are friendly and very welcoming. Thanks again!! September 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 - Star service (again).... Another enjoyable stay with superb service, great food, a lovely room and Scotland almost won......!!! August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Evening and Morning We decided to stay overnight after our neice's wedding. Reception welcomed us with a smile and nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay. We would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel. August 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noise 2 out of 3 nights very good, the third night was very noisy. We specifically asked for a quiet room and the first 2 nights were fine, however there was a wedding on the third night and the music went on until 1.00am. We could hear it loud and clear in our so called quiet room. Finally gave up trying to sleep. Had a 300 mile drive home the following day, very tired. August 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAFF AN EXCELLENT TEAM WHO REALLY LOOKED AFTER US, GREAT BREAKFAST AND PLENTY TO DO NEARBY August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, staff, rooms and food choice I stay over in this area about twice a week and always choose this hotel. The rooms are of a consistently high standard, relaxin and quiet with good air con which is great for these hot summer nights! The range of food is excellent, room service, restaurant or the bar curry buffet(which is £10 all you want with a bottle of cobra thrown in) The staff and friendly and welcoming, even remembering my name when I ring to book in. Nothing is too much trouble. I haven't used the gym next door, or the additional facities but I believe they are of top quality. There are a few hotels to choose from in this area but I always try to get in here. It gets full quickly midweek so book early if you can. July 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff great otherwise disapointing Have stayed in many UK Holiday inns, found this hotel disapointing although staff encountered could not have been more friendly or helpful. Room was clean on arrival but bed uncomfortable, soft with a dip in the middle. Stayed 2 nights - room not serviced during stay. (Never not had bed made even in lower grade hotels) Nuisance of key card for room which did not work on 2 occassions. Breakfast all the basics but unexciting. Too few staff,1 cup instant coffee,bacon not nice. Asked for poached egg which member of kitchen staff called me to collect as no waiting staff to be seen. Also had to ask for water as non out. Dined in restaurant in evening,only when seated discovered it was the monthly dinner dance. Case of put up with the music or dine elsewhere outside the hotel . No alternative area to eat offered ( 1 party did get up and go) ) Meal disapointing. "Steak with watercress" was steak with basil served with potatoes/chips no vegetables or accompaniments. Hotel busy with weddings on Friday,Saturday and Sunday and with locals at dinner dance did often feel like an intruder at a private party and that staff were always too busy dealing with these guests who took over all spaces including any outside seating. Booked as part of a Groupon deal would not want to pay full price for this hotel. July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service I stay in a number of hotels in the course of my business and the service in this hotel was exceptional. July 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great price and facilities I stay at this hotel several times per year to visit family in town. While my primary reason is to access the Bannatyne's Health Club next door - which is excellent - I enjoy the Breakfast buffet and friendly staff. The room is standard Holiday Inn fare - comfortable and clean although I have yet to be assigned one of the refurbushed rooms which look more appealing. The wired internet was fast free and reliable however they have just 'upgraded' to WIFI and I was only able to connect in my room around 50% of the time - with variable speeds - not so pleased with that service. During my recent stay there was a Saturday Night Wedding which was not announced to guests. My room was directly above the reception and so was impossible to sleep until the music stopped at 1am - the room was almost vibrating it was so loud. It would be a great service if a notice could be put under the door of the affected rooms the day before so at least you could plan to sleep late - I work unusual hours and had to be awake at 6am next morning - not so happy about that. I will return to the hotel in August and hope that will not be repeated! June 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for money The hotel was in easy reach of the motorway,plus had the advantage of being with 15 minutes from two shopping areas. The added bonus was the use of the adjoining leisure centre. June 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 A fine example I stay regularly in Holiday Inns/Express etc. and I found this one to be one of the best I have used. Clean and comfortable with friendly staff. I ate in the bar and the food was very good. As someone who is away most weeks I get inundated with requests for reviews and usually ignore them but this was particularly good. May 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value base for cycling group As organiser of a group of 20 cyclists looking for good value overnight accommodation our recent stay at this hotel provided this in abundance. Rooms were clean, the 2 course buffet offered excellent value for money and all the other amenities were very relaxing. The hotel staff were more than happy to find secure overnight storage for our 20 bikes. The only criticism I would have would be the lack of a real ale on the bar and the slightly more expensive prices for the drinks. All in all a very enjoyable stay and we would definitely consider this hotel or one of its partner hotels again. May 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Corporate Hotel I have used this hotel over many years and sadly as I am changing employer will no longer have to come to Barnsley. The hotel has impo Roved over recent years but there's always a however, the bar prices are high and I am sure if they were brought inline with local establishments you would get more trade. Breakfast staff very good didnt use the restaurant in the evening much May 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dont use if you have kids who swim Its a shame the "staff & service" are the same rating as the staff were nice but the service (re food) wasnt. The only reason we booked this hotel because of its restaurante & pool. On arriving we were told the restaurante was SHUT & the pool didnt allow kids on Sunday afternoons! The manager told us we could use it tomorrow at 11:30 so we hung around, BUT when we then went to the pool we were told NO KIDS at all on Mondays! Because the restaurante was closed my family & I had to eat in the BAR. It took 2 1/2 hours from receiving our starters to receive our desserts! People were clapping when the food arrived. My breaded brie was stone cold. My son ordered a diet coke & was given a flat glass of brown water, we asked the barman to taste it & he said it was horrible & would change it. It took an hour for its replacement to arrive. We are so dissapointed. BTW, the pool was empty on both occasions we tried to use it. May 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel I have stayed at this hotel many times before and always had a good experiance. This time all was very good except for the evening meal in the main restaurant. I decided to opt for the hot buffet and the food was awful. Most dishes where empty and we kept being told it wont be a minute! We where left standing there for about 15 minutes and the food was not good. I have eaten in the restaurant off the normal menu before and this has always been very good April 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Super Stay at the Holiday Inn Dodworth! This was not our first time at this Holiday Inn, Dodworth, but it was to celebrate our Daughter's birthday, so it needed to be special! My Wife and I along with our Daughter and her Husband stayed 1 night and had a wonderful meal in the restaurant. The food was especially good and the Prosecco excellent! The waiters and waitresses were very, very attentive and they certainly delivered a superb service. The breakfast next morning was also very good and overall our stay lived up to our very high expectations. Once again, thank you for your wonderful hospitality and another superb stay. April 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, improvements needed at hotel though. We stayed at the hotel as was visiting friends nearby. Expected a pokey hotel right next to the motorway so was so happy when we arrived there to see a really nice looking hotel, great reception area in a quiet location. Cannot fault the warm and friendly service by all staff. Everyone at this hotel from reception to housekeeping staff are so friendly and helpful and genuinely so. Probably the nicest bunch of staff in any hotel. There were 3 weddings on when we were there, but this didn't affect us at all, you could slightly hear the music on the 2nd floor, but not enough to stop you sleeping. We were with 2 children and were put in a king executive room, which was huge. A good, clean, bright and airy room. A few improvements could be made though: There was nowhere to hang towels so even if you wanted to be green and re-use the towels, you could't unless you want damp towels all over the room hanging on the back of chairs. Radiators were thick with dust behind them so didn't want to hang anything on them to dry. The seal around the shower door was thick black and mouldy - definitely needs replacing as the housekeeping staff did a brilliant job, but nothing they can do with that. Pillows and duvets were very thin, clearly very old and could do with being replaced. Restaurant is nice, we had a buffet dinner one night, food was very good and service was exceptional also. Only issue was that the food wasn't hot enough from the buffet - maybe as it was a very quiet evening? Breakfast is good, lots of choice and being topped up all the time so plentiful and hot. Danish pastries and croissants were rock hard - maybe need to be covered with a clear plastic dome lid to prevent this as people wanting a continental breakfast would be disappointed! If you are going with children thinking you can use the swimming pool next door, this is only available for children between 11.30 - 3.30 at weekends and only certain times on Tuesdays and Thursdays. It does say this once you have booked, but maybe should be detailed somewhere before you book. The above minor things would not stop us staying again, this is a good, clean, well equipped hotel, with great staff and atmosphere. Just needs a bit of TLC here and there and some investment in pillows and duvets and it will be perfect! Thanks Barnsley! April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfy and freindly overall a very nice hotel, rooms spacious and all what you need for a comfortable stay. having children with us it was nice to have a connecting door between the rooms. would highly recomend this hotel. didnt eat at hotel always feel that hotels are a bit pricey where food is concerned. had a drink in the bar a couple of times again a bit pricey but was convienient at the time. April 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simply the Best Excellent staff, excellent room and excellent food. I travel most weeks of the year. This hotel is at the very top of my list when I when I am in the area. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Stay, Clean & Comfortable Room, Excellent Room Service Platinum PC member, I was upgraded immediately upon checking-in, smooth and easy check-in process. Upgraded from standard room to family suite. Absolutely fantastic room, 2 sofas and 4 poster bed with complimentary toiletries, chocolate and mini-bar in room. Very friendly staff and the room service was great, excellent portion size although the tray charge is rather steep at £4.50. Overall though, very good, clean hotel and certainly value PC members. April 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recommended to stay!! Stayed here over the Easter weekend for 2 nights and the staff was very pleasant and helpful throughout. Requested for an extra bed in the room and was pleasantly surprised to get an upgrade. Definitely coming back here to stay considering the reasonable proximity to Peak District. April 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Service THE SERVICE COURTESY AND FRIENDLINESS OF THE STAFF IS EXCELLENT. THE FOOD WAS FIRST CLASS INCLUDUNG THE FAMOUS BARNSLEY CHOP. April 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Barnsley stop over.... I've stayed at this hotel a number of times now, and can honestly say it's certainly in my top 3 UK Holiday Inns. I'm always impressed with the reception staff, and they always make me feel welcome. I've always been recognised as a Platinum member and have been given various levels of upgrades. The rooms I've stayed in have been clean, an have all the amenities I require. Bar & restaurant is very nice, and accommodates my needs. Back there today !! Looking forward to another nice stay....... March 20, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>