Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 877 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

877reviews

  • 5 Stars
    482
  • 4 Stars
    235
  • 3 Stars
    82
  • 2 Stars
    45
  • 1 Stars
    33

Peaceful stay

By

16 January 2017

Great location.
Great staff.
Free breakfast was a plus the pancakes and cinnamon rolls were delicious.
The bathroom was really small.
Rugs were dirty and stained.
Requested a balcony with city view but got a view of the pool and the hotel was under construction so we had that in our way of the view. For them being under construction the noise wasnt bad at all we couldnt hear anything.
It was a very peaceful stay and relaxing something i really needed. They allowed us to check out later which was a plus. Parking garage is really tight you feel like your going to hit the walls. Parking was $16 a night.

Read More
Read Less

great location. delicious breakfast

By

15 January 2017

Great location . Breakfast with lots of delicious choices

Posted byHotelStaff
16 January 2017
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown.  We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.
Read More
Read Less

Great experience

By

13 January 2017

club

New to IHG Rewards but the staff made me feel like a elite status member. Clean, comfortable room. Good location and can watch the planes approach the airport over the city. Check-out was very easy and no hassle. Parking is a bit inconvenient but tolerable given how downtown San Diego parking is.

Posted byHotelStaff
16 January 2017
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback about your stay and welcome to IHG Rewards club. One of my favorite parts of being a member is the special rate you receive and the app.  I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in
Read More
Read Less

Stay away

By

13 January 2017

platinumelite

Until they are finished remodeling. I wouldn't stay here

Posted byHotelStaff
16 January 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We understand and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the construction. We are currently working to make enhancements to deliver a more comfortable stay for all of our guests.
Read More
Read Less

Good choice in San Diego

By

12 January 2017

The service is what sets this hotel apart, with everyone very friendly and accommodating. We appreciated the shuttle service to many points in the vicinity and back. The hotel itself is not fancy, but good. The rooms are standard, not cramped overall, though the bathroom was on a smaller side. Happy hour and the lounge area were a nice diversion. Probably could add one more microwave and arrange that microwave/coffee area a little better (it's a bit awkward). Often found hot water thermos with tepid water or out of water (one time the concierge noticed it and ran to get me hot water personally from elsewhere). Free breakfast was appreciated, especially the pancake making machines, though was a bit iffy on hot egg options. And I want to say special thanks for the nightly fresh baked cookies and the lemonade cooler.

Posted byHotelStaff
16 January 2017
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay. My team and I will work on keeping an eye on the water to make sure it stays hot. As part of our remodel we will be addressing the bathroom size issue. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback.
Read More
Read Less

Nice rooms, OK Location, Construction

By

11 January 2017

Our room was nice and the bed was quite comfortable, but the rest of the hotel experience was not ideal. Construction going on in and around the hotel made the stay a little less enjoyable, and the location was not really close to much of the sights in downtown. Staff was very courteous and helpful.

Posted byHotelStaff
16 January 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We understand and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the construction. We are currently working to make enhancements to deliver a more comfortable stay for all of our guests. We hope for the opportunity to make this up to you the next time you are in the area.
Read More
Read Less

Our first Holiday Inn stay

By

11 January 2017

My husband and I stayed at this property in the summer. Although it is an older property, it was very nice. The room was clean and comfortable with a nice view of San Diego. The lobby was spacious with refreshments available at anytime. The breakfast area had quite a few seats available with a nice, varied selection for breakfast. The cinnamon rolls were delicious! The staff was very nice and attentive most of the time. The only thing that was a bit bothersome was that checking in took around an hour because the room was not ready on time but it was no big deal, it was a busy day. Overall it was a nice stay. Thank you Holiday Inn and staff!

Posted byHotelStaff
16 January 2017
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. I apologize for the room not being ready by the 4 pm check in time.  I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in.
Read More
Read Less

Vacaciones en San Diego

By

09 January 2017

Excelente hotel, durante mi estancia algunas zonas se encontraban en remodelación sin embargo no causaron molestia. Su personal atento y servicial.
Los cuartos limpios. Cercano a muchas atracciones del.centro de San Diego.

Posted byHotelStaff
10 January 2017
Gracias por tomarse el tiempo para responder a proporcionar información sobre su estancia / estamos muy contentos de haber disfrutado de nuestro pintoresco, hotel histórico. Mi equipo directivo y yo continuaremos trabajando duro y esforzándonos por la satisfacción final de nuestros huéspedes. Esperamos ser capaces de hospedar de nuevo en caso de que sus viajes le llevará a la hermosa San Diego de nuevo en el futuro.
Read More
Read Less

Great potential

By

08 January 2017

The hotel is a bit inconvenient as it is downtown and parking for checking in with any vehicle but a car ( a tall truck for instance) is bothersome. The hotel is under construction and noisy during the day. The rooms are clean and nice. Internet is slow. Perhaps it is uncommon, but, there was no breakfast as advertised the morning I went down. Parking is expensive. This isn't the only hotel that charges for parking but I find the extra charges bothersome. Many hotels do not charge to park your vehicle. Once the construction is complete, I imagine it would be a better experience. The staff was very friendly and professional. There was no 'little store' as there is in other Holiday Express hotels and no store nearby.

Posted byHotelStaff
10 January 2017
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. our breakfast is served from 6:30 am - 9:30 am Monday through Friday, and 6:30am to 10 am on Saturday and Sunday in our new breakfast room on Level M1. I am sorry you missed is. Please let me know if I can ever be or service to you again in the future at our hotel. Simply let me know once you have booked a return visit and I will ensure the best room possible and exclusive service during your stay.
Posted byHotelStaff
10 January 2017
Gracias por tomarse el tiempo para responder a proporcionar información sobre su estancia / estamos muy contentos de haber disfrutado de nuestro pintoresco, hotel histórico. Mi equipo directivo y yo continuaremos trabajando duro y esforzándonos por la satisfacción final de nuestros huéspedes. Esperamos ser capaces de hospedar de nuevo en caso de que sus viajes le llevará a la hermosa San Diego de nuevo en el futuro.
Read More
Read Less

Nice Location and service

By

07 January 2017

I liked the location of the hotel since it is quite close to the Gaslamp Quarter . The room was clean and the hotel staff was courteous .

Posted byHotelStaff
09 January 2017
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.  Consistently providing excellent customer service is something our staff takes great pride in. We hope you will visit us again.
Read More
Read Less

Great stay and cruise (or fly) package

By

06 January 2017

club

The hotel is undergoing renovation but was still quiet and comfortable for sleeping. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Posted byHotelStaff
11 January 2017
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown.We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in. We understand and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the construction. Thank you for your understanding. Please let us know if we can ever be or service to you again in the future at our hotel. Simply let us know once you have booked a return visit and we will ensure the best room possible and exclusive service during your stay.
Read More
Read Less

Last Minute Stay

By

05 January 2017

club

Due to flight issues, we had to stay one additional night in San Diego and I had no problem booking a room at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown. We were able to take the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown shuttle to the airport.

Posted byHotelStaff
07 January 2017
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. The complimentary shuttle is a great service to take advantage of. We hope you will visit us again.
Read More
Read Less