Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 607 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent staff Starting at valet, followed by doorman, bellmen, front desk, housekeeping, bar and restaurant, I could not have asked for a more pleasurable experience. A 26 February 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Girls Get Away We take a girls "24 hour" trip every year. The Intercontinental was a wonderful place to stay on the Plaza. The view was terrific and we were able to walk to all of our activities that day. The staff was extremely friendly and competent. The rooms clean and updated, but the hotel still kept the "old style" charm it had when it was built. It used to be such a treat to stay at the Alameda Plaza back in the day. The Intercontinental still keeps that experience. The only complaint we had was being booked in a room next to the elevator shaft. We could easily hear the elevator coming and going all night. The room temperature was, also, a little high. However, no one ever turned the thermostat down. Overall, an excellent time on the Plaza and I would highly recommend staying at the Intercontinental if you are in the area. 25 February 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Below Expectation My wife and daughter stayed there while my wife visited the daughter. Reservation was in my name (unable at last minute to go). Ratings and comments are based on phone conversations during the stay and discussions after. Pros: Very convenient to UMKC; staff were friendly and generally very responsive and accommodating; lunch in restaurant was quite good; property is nice overall. Cons: Check-in clerk failed to ask about Platinum Club amenity, said internet was free, but failed to provide access code, didn't tell my wife about concierge lounge information or to code room cards for lounge access; bathroom sink basin was discolored and shower curtain had obvious mold on it; room refrigerator wasn't cooling; my wife reported the garage was not secure against unauthorized entry and that entry to room to floors could be gained through the garage. Bottom line: (1) initial impressions matter; (2) a sense of security matters, especially when it's your wife and daughter; (3) this was our first experience with the Intercontinental flag, and, frankly, I expected better. 25 February 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is a typical stay at Intercontinental KC More often than not the experience at this hotel is superior to all other hotel chains. From the valet to concierge, the staff throughout the whole property is kind, courteous, and goes out of their way to ensure a comfortable stay at the hotel. While I travel enough to know what consitency to expect, I am delighted to stay at this location time and time again. 23 February 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice stay Hotel no doubt has an attention for details and comfort. Was nice to come into a comfy room with bed turned and robe and slippers waiting for me. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only downfall which may seem petty but with the attention to detail this hotel pays to everything it is big. After my first night which was a very late night working I woke to find that when cleaning service cleaned the room they only left decaf coffee. I called down to frontdesk and ask for 3 bags of regular coffee, they brought up 2 bags fairly quickly. Went to make coffee to find that the cleaning staff had taken the coffee cups of which I had only used one. Just not a great way to start a day after long evening 22 February 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service We had an overall terrible experience. No one came to clean our room until 4:30 pm when we were needing to get ready for our evening. Rooms are old, run down and needing to be updated! Our Sunday morning brunch was atrocious. Absolutely no food at the buffet, and no ability to order off the menu when they told us we could. The hallways were frigid going to the elevators and on the elevator. This hotel needs a total remodel. Very sad!This was a disgrace for such prime property! 19 February 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Time My wife and I had a staycaton and chose to stay here and it was a great choice!! 19 February 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overpriced for not a good night's rest. Staff was however very understanding! Started off my reservation even though I booked it for the weekend somehow was switched to a weekday. Called and got that fixed with ease. Problem started when we got into our concierge room. The beds were a mess, they really did look like someone flopped onto them. One didn't even have a comforter. I was so surprised because we threw our wedding there and it was INCREDIBLE! Every penny was worth it that special night! So planning a night on our "first meet anniversary at the Intercontinental was a big deal to us because of the memories shared. The room was right next to elevator and it was so loud I called the front desk for some earplugs or maybe purchasing some. They had none. Finally at midnight I couldn't do it anymore. The slamming and banging from the elevators, hearing people laughing and screaming in the elevators, going up and down. They moved us to the 2nd floor which was great but forgot I paid for the concierge package and breakfast for two. Well by the time we moved all our stuff to the new room, (we had packed to go on a snowboarding trip) it was pushing close to 1:30-2:00am, including us driving around trying to find earplugs. Yes it was still loud and granted it was Valentine's Day so I completely understood. Once kinda settled in decided to finally get some dinner. Called at 2am was told worse case 45 minutes, completely understood! 3:30am, no food. Finally my husband called the front desk and they had no idea or any clue on what to do since the breakfast menu was the only thing available at 3am. Asked to connect to room service and they did with a quickness and called back later to make sure we were ok. Turned out room service did try to deliver but changing rooms messed it up somehow. Then once they figured it out they called our "new" room. Well sadly the phone was not charged so it never rang! They quickly brought our food that was reheated the best they could do and we were very appreciative! It was on the house and we still do feel terrible for that because it was an accident. We were just so grateful for any food by that point. I know it sounds a bit crazy but I've stayed there before and our wedding day. I just have a personal place in my heart for his hotel and regardless the bumps I would come back! The staff is what made it memorable. From valet to just random staff members waking by saying hello and is there anything I can do to make your night even better. It's personal, to take the time to show that they truly care! Yes, I recommend this establishment, I think with Valentine's Day it was just overwhelming and the staff was very busy trying to ensure everyone was having a great night. Oh! They had me get the breakfast for two even though I had the concierge package. The morning staff didn't understand why that was even suggested and immediately refunded the breakfast. Night staff apologized that they couldn't put us on a concierge floor and couldn't do anything about that but gave me the key to the lounge from the 2nd floor. I wish we were on the correct floors because thats what I originally booked but I could hear the guy becoming flustered and I didn't want to add onto his stress. So overall may not have been the best stay this time but I (we) will always have a special place for everyone there in our hearts at the Intercontinental and will be back! 19 February 2015
2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>

InterContinental Kansas City At The Plaza

  • 401 Ward Parkway
  • Kansas City , MO , 64112
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-816-7561500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Small pets under 25 pounds are allowed with 25 dollar nonrefundable cleaning deposit. Pets left unattended must be in a kennel. Guest will be held responsible for noise or other complaints about their pet.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    7:35 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      4:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 15 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs