Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
More Fewer Options

* Required Field

Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

MANAGE A RESERVATION
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

MANAGE A RESERVATION
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
85%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 521 reviews
85%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

521reviews

  • 5 Stars
    281
  • 4 Stars
    126
  • 3 Stars
    64
  • 2 Stars
    32
  • 1 Stars
    18

Good

By

January 17, 2017

platinumelite

Clean and tidy hotel, location not bad. Staff very courteous as you would expect from the Crowne Plaza.

Breakfast was decent, rooms were clean and comfortable and the bed was nice - good nights sleep!

Posted byHotelStaff
January 17, 2017
Many thanks for your review and pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon Robert
Read More
Read Less

Birthday stay

By

January 14, 2017

I have stayed at this hotel before and, as always, the stay was excellent. The staff are great and always willing to help especially Jack on concierge who really knew his stuff and could not of been more helpful.

Posted byHotelStaff
January 16, 2017
HI Many thanks and I will pass on your kind comments We look forward to welcoming you back Robert
Read More
Read Less

Great Location and Facilities

By

January 14, 2017

Stayed for business. Good location, comfortable rooms and excellent service from every member of staff.

Posted byHotelStaff
January 16, 2017
Hi Random526 Many thanks for your comments Hope to see you again soon Robert
Read More
Read Less

Embassy location

By

January 12, 2017

platinumelite

If you are visiting the us embassy, this is a good location
No parking provided

Posted byHotelStaff
January 13, 2017
Many thanks for your review. Whilst we do not have a car park, we are able to offer concessionary rates at a car park 500m from the hotel Kind regards Robert
Read More
Read Less

Awesome staff but food was absolutely appalling beyond belief!

By

January 09, 2017

I have to commend the staff at this terrific hotel. From the moment we arrived we were greeted at the door by the concierge, Scott and his colleague Jack. One of our party has a wheelchair. Scott and Jack were awesome and we couldn't have asked for better help in navigating the hotel and setting out the access ramps etc.

The reception staff were also very good. Bar service was a bit slow most times.

The quality of the rooms is faultless although the bar area is a little small, but thankfully the bar prices are not bad at all.

Right now here is the bad bit.

The food we had was absolutely terrible. Let me give some examples:

We ordered Chips with Mayo as a snack to share before leaving for the city centre for the evening. They were incepid undercooked frozen chips and the Mayo was not Mayo it was more like Marie Rose. When we asked for actual Mayo they bought out some Heinz Sachets! Really? This is a 4 star hotel!

We ordered the Cheese Board. I have never seen a worse attempt. There was literally around 2 oz of cheese, one cheddar and one blue cheese and 4 of the worst biscuits ever!. Oh and 3 grapes.

We ordered a couple of pizzas when the waiter came over and told us how good the food was and that it was good value for money. The description of the pizza sounded great (thin base, fresh ingredients ...). What we actually got was cooked 2 frozen pizzas that were baked to a crisp. They were probably from Iceland, the base had the classic perfect round and the seam on the edge. I wouldn't cook then at home never mind serve them to customers. Frankly at 11 quid each this was an insult.

So why didn't we complain? It's typical, when there are a few people in the party and half of them feel embarrassed, plus the staff were genuinely very nice, so it's a dilemma!

Back to Scott and Jack, given we were not familiar with Edinburgh they were extremely helpful and guided us the some terrific recommended places and even phoned ahead for us.

Great hotel amenities, great staff, food stinks frankly.

Posted byHotelStaff
January 11, 2017
Many thanks Aamir, as previously stated, all feedback is useful and we will review and take action to improve Robert
Read More
Read Less

4 star.... should be a 3 star

By

January 09, 2017

club

Very poor experience. This was my Christmas present from my partner and it was expected to be a luxurious and relaxing break but there were many aspects of the stay which were really very poor....
Parking outside is £2 per hour, or use of a nearby car park for £12 for 24hr. When I say nearby,you couldn't really walk with luggage, it's a 5min walk.
DO NOT EAT THE FOOD room service or restaurant, so poor value for money and the quality was unbelievably poor, we were shocked at what arrived on the plates, you'd get better in a 2star hotel.
No baby/child facilities in the leisure changing area. One chair in the ladies changing room, that's it!!
Bed was extremely uncomfortable and traffic seemed very noisy at night.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, it's a shame the establishment let down the overall experience.

Posted byHotelStaff
January 11, 2017
Hi Kirst2908, Thanks for the feedback and I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your constructive comments will be reviewed and considered and the appropriate changes made to improve our guest experience Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write Robert
Read More
Read Less

Not what you'd expect from an IHG hotel

By

January 09, 2017

club

This hotel is not the standard of a normal Crowne Plaza. The hotel is run down. It has no 4 star qualities. We were offered an upgrade. We already had a king Exec room so the upgrade was purely to use the club lounge. It was 7.15pm at Check in and complimentary drinks and canapés finished at 7.30pm and they were trying to charge us £50.
The concierge were rubbish. Don't even think they existed??? I emailed the hotel 3 times before I got a response and that still didn't answer my questions.
No offer to take bags to our room.
Bathroom was horrible. Cleanliness not great. Bath was tiny. Shower was pathetic.
The only good thing was the size of the Room and the pillow spray. Otherwise I felt it was run due . Uncomfortable and not IHG standard at all!
Will defo never return to this hotel! Ruined my partnersbday just glad we had another hotel booked for our 2nd night whom allowed us to check in at 10am so we could leave Crowne Plaza as soon as possible.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed service was average

By

January 03, 2017

platinumelite

Everything from the start was perfect. It was not till the following morning when getting ready to leave the shower was broken. Upon letting reception know there was no apologies just ok we will get that looked at.

Posted byHotelStaff
January 05, 2017
Hi Welshy03 Thanks for the feedback. Sorry about the broken shower and the lack of apology. Not good enough and we will be reviewing with individual concerned Robert
Read More
Read Less

Great hotel experience

By

January 03, 2017

platinumelite

Welcomed as friends comfort and security of the hotel was excellent. Room was everything we required. Local to all tourist spots, easy to get around the area when walking. Staff were brilliant all through the stay. Will return.

Posted byHotelStaff
January 05, 2017
Hi Waldomeboy Thanks for the feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon Robert
Read More
Read Less

Not the best start to the stay...

By

January 02, 2017

club

We arrived for check-in at the specified time of 2pm, to be told our room wouldn't be ready for another two hours-acceptable? This interrupted our plans for the day and meant we couldn't explore Edinburgh as much as we wanted to, as we spent most of our time in your lobby waiting....with no compensation of a complimentary tea or coffee offered. I class this as very poor customer service and appalling service failure, with no attempt of service recovery. I left my time at the Crowne Plaza hotel Edinburgh Royal Terrace feeling very disrespected, unacknowledged and not valued, which are three things a customer should never feel.

Read More
Read Less

comfortable and great location

By

December 21, 2016

Just a one night stop to visit the Edinburgh winter market, great welcome, comfortable room and excellent location for an easy walk to Princes Street.
Great for a morning walk to Calton Hill and observatory for views over the Forth.

Read More
Read Less

Great Location - Great Service

By

December 20, 2016

whilst an old building, the interior and rooms are clean and up to date.

the plumbing can be a bit quirky, but ok once you figure it out.

club lounge is great idea, but could have more choice of drinks/snacks.

staff were very good, and looked after us very well.

Posted byHotelStaff
December 21, 2016
Many thanks for your feedback. Hope to welcome you back in 2017
Read More
Read Less