Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
82%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 2009 reviews
82%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

2009reviews

  • 5 Stars
    911
  • 4 Stars
    592
  • 3 Stars
    237
  • 2 Stars
    144
  • 1 Stars
    125

It is Always the Housekeeping

By

21 May 2022

I stayed for 2 nights. Cleaniness of the room definitely needed improvement. On the second night I requested a late check out for one hour with the reception which was consented (normal check out time for the hotel is 11:00 am)
It is always the housekeeping. (1) Left bedside lamp did't work, possibly the bulb had been burnt. (2) At about 9:45 am on the second day, a housekeeper tried to open the door without first knocking on it. (3) No replishment of coffee and tea (4) At about 11:43 am on the third day, one senior housekeeper knocked on my door and asked me why I had not left.

Read More
Read Less

Good Location

By

27 April 2022

platinumelite

Having stayed at this hotel a few times now because of it's location to the M6 and Birmingham City Center.
On all occasions we have experienced issues with the booking.
On one booked a Romantic break which was B&B/Evening meal , bottle of wine and a flower of some description, when we arrived told room only. After as long conversation with reception they finally agreed to the deal but still waiting for the wine and flower/s.
The last time 2 x rooms again informed room only and it was Ann on the reception who rose to the challenge agreed to do breakfast but had to pay half price again, not happy.
On 3 occasions had to argue with reception that B&B was booked and have experienced this with other IHG hotels in the UK. Never had any issues in the States.
However the hotel is tired but kept clean, rooms clean and the swimming pool is good.
We where upgraded to executive rooms but let down by no bath robes or slippers, again Ann got this sorted immediately.
The location is good because we use the public express bus which stops almost outside the hotel to go in to Birmingham Center, cheaper than parking the car and no fuel waste sitting in traffic.
Need to have complimentary EV charging points installed for hotel guests.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable stay

By

14 April 2022

club

We had a comfortable stay at this hotel. We were welcomed in a very warm and friendly way. We were very pleasantly surprised by the food that we ordered in the restaurant. It came quite quickly, but was actually really very nice. I'd come back again, just for those fries! The icecream and sorbets tasted home made and were really good, too.
This was our second stay at this hotel and we are getting better at regulating the temperature in the room. It didn't seem possible to turn the radiator off completely, but with the help of the airconditioning, we manage to get the temperature down enough to be able to sleep.
The room was nice. We hadn't been given much milk, but were able to get some more at reception. We felt the room could do with a coffee table. perhaps a foldable one so it wouldn't be in the way when sofa bed is used.
Our one disappointment was the lack of towels in the swimming pool/gym. This meant we had to go back to our room to get the towels from the room, which then got wet on the way back to the room, which meant we had to dry ourselves with damp towels after our shower (in our room).
Apart from that it was a pretty perfect stay. And in such a convenient location -- so close to M6.

Read More
Read Less

Business

By

07 March 2022

Checked in and went to the room, found there was a slight problem with it, went back to reception explained to the gentleman the problem, changed my room no fuss and happy to help, breakfast was as it always is, really friendly happy staff, stayed for a meeting bought some coffees, again great service with a smile, well done Birmingham.

Read More
Read Less

Lovely break

By

20 February 2022

Lovely break. Clean, comfy and restful time. Swimming was a plus. Chris, Christine and David took care of us as always.

Read More
Read Less

Good Service and friendly hotel

By

16 December 2021

We had a really good stay at the hotel. The staff were attentive, friendly and very welcoming. Rooms were clean and modern as as requested. The kids also loved the size of the hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Another excellent Christmas experience

By

16 December 2021

Stay every Christmas time, Christmas shopping in Birmingham - bus take the strain! Concerts also normally happen at this time, as it did this year. Great all round location with excellent friendly staff

Read More
Read Less

Ok

By

15 December 2021

club

Party on at time of stay, mask wearing not observed by party guests. No physical distancing being encouraged.

Read More
Read Less

Another lovely stay

By

11 December 2021

platinumelite

When we visit Great Barr we always stay here. It is so convenient.

Read More
Read Less

Disabled parking

By

08 December 2021

Disabled parking, disabled parking, Disabled parking, Disabled parking

Read More
Read Less

Christmas stay

By

07 December 2021

The hotel is not close to the city, the hotel is a little dated and the rooms rather basic but comfortable.

Read More
Read Less

Nice but a few issues

By

02 December 2021

club

Loved the staff who were very friendly, accommodating and helpful.
Very informative about the area.

Had issues with heating in the room as radiator was not strong enough to fill the room with heat so given extra heaters to try and help.

windows in the corridor that we’re letting in the cold and could not be closed which was next to the bedroom.

Breakfast was nice.

Read More
Read Less