Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
87%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 1071 reviews
87%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1071reviews

  • 5 Stars
    635
  • 4 Stars
    261
  • 3 Stars
    80
  • 2 Stars
    56
  • 1 Stars
    39

Disappointing

By

21 June 2022

The weekend was especially busy and costly due to multiple graduations in the area.
The front desk staff was patient and helpful and were pleasant each time we requested any information.
We are not ones to leave negative reviews, however, it was not the ideal scenario. We understand that everyone is short staffed and challenges are a constant. Staff did their best.

Bathrooms are very small; could not comfortably accommodate two people at sink at one time. Toilets are not the new required ADL heights. Bathtub/shower was slippery while showering and water did not drain properly. (ankle deep water while showering)

The room was far from relaxing. Doors constantly slamming in corridor; walls are thin.
Restaurant food service was disappointing. (Actually charge a fee for small, sad buffet choices)Thank goodness there are restaurants near by for alternate choices.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable

By

29 May 2022

Comfortable bed and location. Great looking can hotel inside and out. Nice bathrooms. Inside cleanliness was very good…………………………..

Read More
Read Less

No hot water and never fixed

By

28 May 2022

I stayed at the holiday inn Evanston from 5/19 to 5/23. The afternoon of 5/19 I went to the front desk to notify them there was no hot water when we went to turn on the shower. We also notified them about our broken lock box (which was fixed the same day, so I assumed the water issue was also resolved). The next morning on 5/20 we heard a knock in the morning and someone trying to open our door. Luckily the door stopper was in so they weren’t able to open it fully. I was then told they were sent to fix the hot water and they were told that we were moved to a different room (we were never offered those accommodations). The following night I went to the front desk asking again about the hot water, and asked if it was a building issue or just our room and if they were able to fix it. I was never given a straight answer and for the duration of our 5 day stay we never had hot water or offered different accommodations.

Read More
Read Less

Evanston IHG

By

25 May 2022

Everything was fine except the shower. The water wasn’t close to hot enough.

Read More
Read Less

it was not good

By

22 May 2022

I was traveling as an actor to do a brief lecture and workshop for graduation students on the business of acting and voiceover. My talk was 9am I arrived at the hotel at 7 am. I called the day before to see if I could check in early, I was told, "no Problem". There was a problem! First the room was not ready. Second I was put into anther room different than the one I reserved. 3, I was then told I would be able to check into the correct room later in the day when it was ready. That was a lie. They had no intention of putting me into the correct room. If they had just been honest this would have been so much easier. I was never allowed to enter the room I ordered and paid for with a king size bed. I came back in the afternoon as instructed and was told there was no availability and I would have to stay in the room I was in.

The problem was that room was not that clean, had two queen size beds and the door handle was broken, literally falling off!!! I reported it to the front desk. They seem to be familiar with the situation as they asked , "is it just loose or has it fallen off again". The the door lock was broken and locked me out of the room, even though I had the key on three different occasions. The maintenance person came three different times, twice to reset the lock, then a third time to replace the door handle and lock altogether while I waited or left the hotel out of frustration and went for a walk.

It was not a good or pleasant experience and no one seemed to care

Read More
Read Less

Relocation Stay

By

21 May 2022

The stay at this property was the result of a job relocation to the Chicagoland area. This is a very good base location in which to explore the area which was to become my new residential location. The hotel staff were all very accommodating; this property has my highest recommendation.

Read More
Read Less

Functional lodging

By

17 May 2022

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Chicago North Evanston to attend a college graduation. Picked the property due to convenient location and a good price relative to other options. As a place to sleep, it was good enough, although if taking another trip to Evanston in the future, I would try another hotel.

The train runs quite close to the hotel, and could easily be heard inside our room. A light sleeper might be bothered, as the trains did run late into the evening.

We stayed for a few days, and like many hotels at this time, there was no housekeeping service.

The front desk also appeared to be lightly staffed. At one point, we went to ask for more cups and Keurig pods for the in-room coffee service. There was also another guest trying to purchase something from the small convenience store, and neither of us was able to see a hotel employee at the desk. Eventually someone came out from a back room to handle the store transaction and give us the coffee setups.

The parking garage is in need of significant repair work. The floors/driveways have a considerable amount of broken-up concrete, and rainwater drips through cracks in the ceilings. In one coned-off area of the structure, it has even formed small stalactites on the ceiling.

Read More
Read Less

Wonderful location

By

16 May 2022

It seemed like the hotel was going through some sort of transition. We’ve stayed here many times and it was a great experience. This time, it wasn’t as good. However, I would still give it another chance!

Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

13 May 2022

The hotel is in a great location. Easy walking distance to many stores a food businesses. A close easy drive to Loyola University. The hotel is very safe for all.

Read More
Read Less

Disappointed

By

04 May 2022

Overall it's a nice building with adequate conference rooms and the staff were attentive within the conference space. The room however had a lot to be desired whereas there was no hot water from the shower. I asked twice to have this fixed and it was not. Likewise I was bit by an insect on my knee & thigh while I was sleeping. The room was never cleaned while I was there and they said they did not clean rooms everyday because they were understaffed.

Read More
Read Less

One of the worst

By

02 March 2022

First night of stay shower was ice cold. Told front desk next day and they promised to fix it. That next night water hardly ran from shower head so plan was to move us. Next room smelled terribly of cigarette smoke but we were told only room available. We stayed and started to shower. Water ran fine but drain started to back up the water and someone else's thick black hair. Needless to say we left early the next day. Hotel is generally run down and dirty - I reccomend booking elsewhere.

Read More
Read Less

Hit or Miss

By

18 February 2022

platinumelite

Level of service and friendliness of staff really seems to be up and down. Have stayed several tines at this location...sometimes it's fine...other times not so much. On the recent stay the service was lacking, The sundry store was basically empty and the service at the desk was lackadaisical at best. Will still stay there because the location is convenient and the town of Evanston is a nice location

Read More
Read Less