Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
95%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.5

based on 1822 reviews
95%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1822reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1202
  • 4 Stars
    476
  • 3 Stars
    89
  • 2 Stars
    41
  • 1 Stars
    14

Good location; friendly staff

By

16 May 2022

We arrived early, 10:00 am, and had our bags held at the desk until our rooms were ready at 4:00 pm. We were greeted with a smile and helping hands. The room was a bit small, but quite comfortable and clean. The bathroom size was adequate. Breakfast each morning was good, but not outstanding. Fairly standard fare, but the sausage, bacon, and baked beans were always hot. Can't comment on the eggs, since I don't eat them. Small selection of breads (toast, croissant, 2 kinds of muffins), though the chocolate muffins were quite good. My wife said the coffee was very good; I'm not a coffee-drinker.

Read More
Read Less

Nice Hotel in a great location

By

12 May 2022

platinumelite

The hotel is in a great location for exploring the Royal Mile of Edinburgh. Staff was very kind and helpful. Room was clean but compact. Enjoyed the included breakfast. Would stay here again.
The staff found a ready room for us when we got to the hotel around noon. After a long overnight flight, it was greatly appreciated.

Read More
Read Less

Close to everyting and great sleep

By

09 May 2022

The hotel is close to the old town. Rooms were very clean but compact. Employees were were helpful in getting us acquainted with the area.

Read More
Read Less

Good Location

By

02 April 2022

platinumelite

It's a good location for all the main city attractions. However, as with any city centre hotel, rooms are small, the parking is remote and in the same building as a homeless shelter etc.

Security isn't great either. Could easily bypass reception and use the lift or stairs to any floor without a key card or even getting noticed as we did on many occasions.

Read More
Read Less

Good location and staff. Breakfast needs a bit of work

By

24 March 2022

Very well placed - just off the Royal mile, and within easy walking distance of Grassmarket, Arthurs seat etc. Rooms weren't as good as some other HIEs I've been to - e.g. no powerpoints next to the bed, and the rooms were a bit smaller than usual, but comfy and clean.
The cooked breakfast was not great - I know it's the same menu everywhere, but all the food looked like it had been sitting around for some time, and the bacon was really fatty and rather unpleasant. The other choices were fine though. The buffet area could do with some reorganisation as it got very choked up with more than a handful of people getting breakfast at the same time.
However, overall, a good hotel and I'd go back there.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent hotel

By

19 December 2021

platinumelite

Great staff, highly recommended (and dog friendly too!)

Read More
Read Less

18th Birthday celebration

By

04 December 2021

club

Always try to book a Holiday Inn simply because the rooms are always so clean. No exception here!
Comfortable and quite,

Read More
Read Less

Visit to Edinburgh

By

01 December 2021

On a recent visit to Edinburgh stayed here and enjoyed the hotels excellent location ,friendly service and good and plentiful food.

Read More
Read Less

Stay in Edinburgh

By

28 November 2021

Bad quality mattress. Got moved to a second room the second night and mattress was no better. Very soft and saggy, woke up with sore back

Read More
Read Less

Business trip

By

27 November 2021

Great location and service. Stay was ruined by a noisy character outside most of tbe night.

Read More
Read Less

Enjoyable weekend

By

17 November 2021

club

Expensive but comfortable. Room a little small. Be nice to have a bath. Breakfast good. Friendly staff.

Read More
Read Less

Higher standards expected even for Express hotel

By

15 November 2021

platinumelite

Unfortunately disappointed after 1 week stay. Room and bathroom outdated. Bed needs changing.
Breakfast very poor quality although it seems there is big choice

Read More
Read Less