Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

InterContinental Sydney Double Bay

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Sydney Double Bay
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 1244 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1244reviews

  • 5 Stars
    845
  • 4 Stars
    192
  • 3 Stars
    91
  • 2 Stars
    62
  • 1 Stars
    54

Staff is everything

By

18 June 2022

platinumelite

The hotel itself is in need of a few updates but the staff do everything possible to make the stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I was particularly impressed with Makalya (sorry if I spelled this incorrectly), Silvia and Shannon who helped with a number of issues we had. Their level of service was 5 star quality. If not for their efforts I may not have considered staying again but they made the hotel feel like a home which made the visit a great experience. Thanks!

Read More
Read Less

Amazing experience

By

16 June 2022

such an amazing hotel will definitely be staying there again. a beautiful area away from the busy city cbd
staff were friendly and the room was beautiful

Read More
Read Less

A very run down gem

By

06 May 2022

We are huge fans of this hotel and have stayed many times because it’s location is fantastic and usually the service is great.

Sadly the hotel is beyond run down and very expensive for what it is. We just cannot justify staying there anymore. Hopefully a big renovation is on the horizon.

Every time we walked out of our room (we had two rooms interconnecting) the halls were filled with dirty food trays. There was no service on the top roof level where the pool is and this is a major feature of the hotel. To get a drink was hard work.

Will come back once they fix it and we totally understand that times are tough with getting staff etc, but the prices asked to stay are not fair

Read More
Read Less

Very disappointing

By

02 May 2022

I have stayed at this property on more than 50 occasions over the past 8 years. Over the past 5 years it became the best Intercontinental with a very high standard, attention to detail, staff would make stays exceptional. The standards were very high and I was always looking forward to my stay. Before my stay in April I was at the property in June last year.
I called the hotel 3 hours prior to my arrival advising I would arrive at 11.30am. When I arrived at the Ambassador check in the young man did not seem to have a clue what was going on I went to the reception and was advised my room was not ready. I proceeded to the lounge, staff in the lounge were attentive and I waited patently after 45 minutes I suggested to lounge staff that I was busy and needed to get changed. I was advised my room would be ready soon and I suggested that all options should be considered. She returned with my room key shortly after.
In the morning breakfast was excellent as usual and I checked out shortly after. I asked for my account to be emailed, this was done in a timely fashion. I flew out and when I arrived at my destination I received several more accounts and changes to my original account. I called the hotel and spoke to the receptionist who said she would fix the issue. I received nothing further from the hotel so I am not sure and will need to wait for my statement.
This experience is so disappointing as often recommend this hotel to people as I travel and feel extremely disappointed with the service level. I do not think I will return to the hotel in the near future, prior to this visit it was my first choice for Sydney.

Read More
Read Less

Great for pets, wonderful staff

By

04 March 2022

I had a lovely stay at Intercontinental Double Bay for my birthday and it was such a treat to be able to bring my dog. Although the pet fee is expensive for what you get (a bed and a bowl), I have no regrets. My cavoodle had a ball and got so much attention from staff and guests alike. Overall the staff at the hotel were wonderful and I was really impressed with the quality of the food, which I mostly ordered through room service. We really enjoyed our two night stay and will definitely consider doing it again in the future. It's a great place for a staycation.

Read More
Read Less

Relaxing stay in Double Bay

By

11 February 2022

All staff members were delightfully helpful in all requests which made my stay with my daughter and her 5 month old baby so much more pleasant. They accommodated our dining together in a quiet area of the restaurant as well as at the very lovely club.
This attention to the needs of individual guests was remarkable in these difficult times.
The club concierge staff were outstanding.

Read More
Read Less

Amazing stay

By

01 February 2022

We stayed two nights at IC Double Bay. The original Club room that we booked was upgraded to a Bay View Twin room, however on check in we were advised that the room was not available and had been occupied due to a glitch in the hotel booking system so we were given a Village View room instead. As expected we were unhappy about this and felt a bit let down, more so because we were celebrating a special occasion. After this point the hotel front office team, in particular Sylvia done what ever was possible to make us happy and put a smile back on our face. It appeared she will not stop until were happy as she provided us with a number of options. 10/10 for the front office.

The breakfast at this hotel is one of the best I have had anywhere. The team is very courteous and attentive. They would move from table to table and politely check if everything was in order. 10/10 for breakfast.

Now the Club, evening canopies were ok and generally limited with options, however the high tea was absolutely amazing. Food was generally of high quality and very delicious. We didn't try the Club breakfast as the main restaurant was superb. The team at the Club IC are again very polite and professional and super attentive to any request. 9/10 for the Club and 10/10 for the staff there.

The rooms and the hotel building are well maintained and stylish with the rooftop pool being a great place to relax. Location is great with close proximity to restaurants, shopping and the beaches. 10/10 for the property and location

Overall a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a true five star experience with nothing to compromise.

Read More
Read Less

Amazing service, so clean and always looking after me as a Corporate Client.

By

13 January 2022

platinumelite

thank you again to all the staff that makes me feel special as a Corporate Client. As i have many 5 star hotels to choose from our IBM Corporate Rate i only choose to stay at Intercontinental in Double Bay.

Thank you once again for upgrading and looking after me.

Athena Gavardinas (Korras)
IBM Executive.
Melbourne

Read More
Read Less

First Class excellent value

By

17 December 2021

club

It is always nice to be greeted by friendly staff who take care of my car while I check in. Check in and out easy. Room always first class, bed comfy and excellent nights sleep. Have stayed at this hotel a number of times, and will do so again.

Read More
Read Less

guest feedback

By

16 December 2021

Nice location, older hotel but quiet smart, great parking, pool bar closes at a silly time such as 5.30pm.

Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel

By

15 December 2021

club

Loved my stay here. Great sized rooms, great location, very comfortable bedding and amazing

Read More
Read Less

Can’t be bothered

By

14 December 2021

I found the whole stay from the appalling attitude of the front desk to the run down room with curtains that didn’t close properly a joke, only thing I enjoyed was the outstanding location.

Read More
Read Less