Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 621 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

621reviews

  • 5 Stars
    411
  • 4 Stars
    117
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    29

Good location

By

November 19, 2020

We’ve stayed here many times. We miss the staff that used to be there. They were very friendly and cared about making your stay comfortable. They valued repeat business. This stay didn’t feel that way. It was still a good stay but just not as accommodating as before. We miss the late 2pm member checkout. The beds were comfortable but the rollaway was a complete miss - thin, wiry, uncomfortable, no pillow, no comforter. We asked for them

Read More
Read Less

Average at best.

By

November 19, 2020

I expected and hoped for more. In every category for a hotel, at best everything was average, I could compare this hotel to another on the side of a freeway. Nothing stood out to me to make it above the rest, except cost was more then than a sub par hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable room

By

November 18, 2020

Would stay there again. Easy access to the college and nearby restaurants.

Read More
Read Less

Easy check in and check out

By

November 17, 2020

We knew we were staying in San Marcos but didn’t have a reservation. As we drive in, this property was the first one we saw. Looked clean and the parking lot was lit well. I checked prices online and they were reasonable so we parked and went in. We used our AAA discount which matched online prices. It was 8:00pm by the time we checked in and needed to get back on the road by 5:30am so our stay wasn’t long. The room was nice and clean and bed comfortable. I grabbed a free cup of coffee from the lobby on our our way out in the morning (no check out required) and we were back on the road.

Read More
Read Less

VERY INFERIOR Housekeeping

By

November 11, 2020

This property needs a MASSIVE wakeup call on housekeeping. Housekeeping does not remember the last time the floors were FACTUALLY cleaned in our room (photos attached). Plastic bags & dirty tissues still on the closet floor from prior guests. Dirty shoe prints easily visible on the bathroom floor. Hair & used bar of soap in the tub. Hair, popcorn kennels & dirt on the entry floor. Used tissue on floor underneath edge of bed & gum wrapper under desk. If you stay here get a room facing the BACK of the hotel, since traffic noise levels in rooms facing the freeway intersection make sleep difficult, & we are not light sleepers. Am an IHG Spire Elite Member with 2+ million points, but received the same exact welcome a 1st time guest would receive --- meaning absolutely ZERO recognition. Perhaps they do not recognize the importance of the IHG loyalty program? Do not blame individual employees since they were all polite & courteous. This hotel just seems to lack "professional" management.

Read More
Read Less

A Member that won’t stay at Candlewood again

By

November 04, 2020

I’ always have a good stay when I stay at an IHG hotel but this one was by far the worst. I normally book online, but this was a last minute book and the staff member was not very helpful and charged me twice. Not sure if he was new or just didn’t know what was going on but couldn’t answer any questions. Charged me twice. Hotel wasn’t clean as to what I’m usually accustomed to with IHG hotels. Both inside and out. No water pressure in our room and smelt as if it hadn’t been cleaned in months. I will stick to Holiday Inns. Never candlewood again.

Read More
Read Less

Terrible Hotel

By

November 04, 2020

platinumelite

Filthy hotel. Run down, dirty floors, dirty walls, dirty room, dirty everything. No amenities, the pool is green without algae. There was bird droppings from an infestation outside of tens of thousands of birds in the trees. Bird droppings everywhere. I took pictures and videos.

Read More
Read Less

Not a good stay not helpful

By

November 01, 2020

I have stayed at candlewood properties before but this experience was not like my others I was supposed to stay a whole month had to check out in 9 days due to all the issues there would not recommend it did not have a good experience at all.

Read More
Read Less

Spacious but smelled horrible

By

October 27, 2020

The staff was very nice and polite. The room was spacious and useable kitchen, however smelled awful! The full size refrigerator smelled, the ac smelled like mold. The entire room smelled like urine. As soon as you walked in it hit you. I stayed two nights, I didn’t change rooms because I was only there to sleep but if I had my family we would’ve been staying elsewhere.

Read More
Read Less

Cockroach infested and extremely dirty

By

October 26, 2020

platinumelite

Stayed here many times before COVID and generally clean. Now during COVID it’s the filthy and distgusting. Bird feces all over the entry to hotel. Pull out bed stained. Floors extremely dirty, plates not clean, pull out bedding stained with mold and brown stains, the pool was full of algae, the bath towels had 100’s of cockroaches hatched in them. Last time this platinum member will stay at this location!!! Manager on duty did not seem to bothered as well.

Read More
Read Less

very dated location

By

October 21, 2020

club

the location needs a remodel and does not have breakfast

Read More
Read Less

You will survive.

By

October 17, 2020

platinumelite

If luxury is expected, this is deffinitely not your place. If you're in town for a night or two, you will survive. Rooms are large, sadly they are loud, dated and appliances are loud. I am strictly expressing my opininon on our stay and room. It would have been nice not to see ripped towels and comforter on the bed, again you can fold the towel or use another one.

Read More
Read Less