Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

InterContinental Kansas City At The Plaza

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Kansas City At The Plaza
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
83%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 2035 reviews
83%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

2035reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1216
  • 4 Stars
    366
  • 3 Stars
    203
  • 2 Stars
    151
  • 1 Stars
    99

Felt like a queen

By

22 September 2020

club

For this stay I had a suite. Our was very clean and the color palette was peaceful. The bed was so comfortable and the bedding so soft. I stood on the balcony and took in the ambience of the evening. I enjoyed my stay. A perfect getaway. I felt like a queen.

Read More
Read Less

Strange behavior by bar staff

By

21 September 2020

A group of us chose to stay overnight in this hotel prior to our son's playing a soccer game the next day. We all ended up in the bar area after having dinner on the Plaza.

Many of us ordered drinks from the bar via our table's server. However, a couple of our party brought their own beverages from their room.

Without any warning or notice, a member of the staff reached over or around these two people and picked up the offending drinks. He simply said "you can't have that in here!" He then proceeded to throw these drinks away.

Now, I get that you may not allow outside beverages or food, but it is my experience that you let those people know of their infraction and give them a chance to remedy it. He could have asked them to take those outside, finish them somewhere else or ask if they'd please throw them away.

The overall experience was a little bizarre.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent stay in a beautiful, historic property

By

21 September 2020

We love staying at this property. It is a luxurious room with marble in the bathroom and we had a fantastic balcony overlooking the Plaza. We love the proximity to the Plaza and quiet, historic grandeur of the Intercontinental.

Read More
Read Less

HoHum

By

19 September 2020

platinumelite

Due to Covid-19, there were no services available as one would expect at a luxury hotel. I received no recognition as an Ambassador Member, no guaranteed room upgrade, mineral water, etc. The room was spacious and very comfortable, breakfast was good, but average for an IHG. The servers were cheerful and welcoming.
We were guests on Sun-Thur so so restaurants available nor bars, but were informed on check-out the bar would be open that afternoon, along with one restaurant. I hated paying $20 a night for parking in their garage when there were about 20 cars in the entire space. Parking was very convenient for our 2nd-floor accommodations.
We will look forward to returning. unless the pandemic becomes a new normal.

Read More
Read Less

very memorable visit

By

16 September 2020

platinumelite

All staff very very friendly and made every effort to keep everyone safe. The hotel was not very busy. Therefore we were provided an upgrade to a very nice room with a beautiful view. We really appreciated that as it really made our stay special and memorable.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent anniversary stay

By

14 September 2020

club

We stayed here for our 10th anniversary. While we had originally planned a bigger trip, plans had to change and this was a wonderful staycation for us. We felt very safe and comfortable, our room was lovely, and we had a good time people watching from the balcony.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable COVID Stay

By

11 September 2020

club

Clean rooms. Staff working hard to keep staff and guests safe.

Read More
Read Less

Horrible Service

By

10 September 2020

club

Checked in Sept 5, 2020. Paid extra for concierge level. Upon checking in I was informed there were no concierge services available. Went to the pool to celebrate friends 50th birthday party. Were there over 3 hours and no one ever came by to take an order. Next morning we checked our bags so we could go to breakfast. Upon returning to get our bags, we waited over 20 minutes for someone to help us. Only one person was working the front. We would have expected much better than this. Extremely disappointed.

Read More
Read Less

Great stay at Country Club Plaza

By

09 September 2020

We recently returned to the Intercontinental Hotel at Kansas City's Country Club Plaza for my Birthday. We usually stay there around this time of year. It was our first time staying in the hotel since the Pandemic began. The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The gentleman who checked us in, Jason, was terrific and very helpful! The hotel and our room were VERY clean and many precautions were taken to preserve the health of all guests. We had a terrific room on the 8th floor with a nice view. We grabbed drinks at the bar in the evening after dinner. I was able to use the Fitness Center which was first rate! It was a terrific stay!

Read More
Read Less

Family trip

By

09 September 2020

platinumelite

During covid keep in mind services are limited. No separate check in area for ambassador members or any member benefits offered at this location. Valet

Read More
Read Less

Nice, but starting to look a bit tired.

By

08 September 2020

Nice hotel, but starting to look a bit tired. There was some wallpaper peeling off our bathroom wall. The entry door to our room had a loud severe squeaking noise. We had 2 kleenexs in the Kleenex container and no washcloths. Second-floor self parking had a electrical wire hanging down in the middle of the garage that would hit your car every time you drove in and out. You had to fight for chairs, tables, towels out around the pool. Some pool tiles coming off the pool. In summary, this is a nice hotel to stay at, but needs some fine-tuning especially if you’re bringing in the plaza type of clients.

Read More
Read Less

Absolute sad, poor reflection on the chain

By

08 September 2020

platinumelite

Couldn't adjust the 64.7 room temp. ( too cool for us). Telephone did not work for incoming or outgoing calls. No wash clothes, no set up for the coffee maker in the room. Room appeared clean but the carpets or something smelled stale or dirty. I would not recommend this location, the staff didn't even display concerns (or care) about any of the situations.

Read More
Read Less