Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 2480 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

2480reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1240
  • 4 Stars
    741
  • 3 Stars
    267
  • 2 Stars
    138
  • 1 Stars
    94

disappointing considering Edinburgh prices!

By

06 May 2022

This room was very disappointing as the kingsize bed had obviously been squeezed in so there was no bedside cabinet on one side and the light switches were behind the pillows.
There was no fridge but a slightly redundant trousers press which i'm sure no one uses when on holiday.
There were no bedside sockets for charging mobiles only one on the desk area and one at floor level. Wi fi not great as it kept dropping out.
The bathroom was tiny with only an overbath shower with a tiny head. The door was extremely tatty on the inside and needed a coat of paint if not replacing
The toilet cistern was loose and very dirty at the join between the lid and main chamber and despite the cleanliness commitment why leave a half used toilet roll between clients? not the most hygienic process.
The plug holes of both the bath and the sink were rusty
No soya milk available at breakfast - not great

Read More
Read Less

Great Value. Friendly staff.

By

03 May 2022

Nice, comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location. Not right in downtown, but not too far out of town. Even though I had never before used Edinburgh's public transportation system, I was able to easily catch a bus into downtown Edinburgh from right in front of the hotel. I also got a bus from the airport right to the front of the hotel without any difficulty.

Read More
Read Less

An almost perfect stay let down by couple of things

By

02 April 2022

Check in was efficient and was nice to see that as an IHG member all my preferences were acknowledged.

The room itself was nice bright and clean and modern looking. I loved the availability of plenty of plug sockets which makes such a difference. Couple of gripes, the safe did not work and nor did the air conditioning but at least the windows could be partially opened to let in some air.

The bathroom was small and the door kept swinging towards you when you were standing at the sink due to the sink itself sticking out. This was annoying as it meant you either had to fully close the bathroom door everytime or suffer banging into the door constantly when using the bathroom.

I went to use the restaurant one evening and the service was truly dreadful some of the worst I have ever experienced in any hotel. It was like the staff were just inattentive and disorganised so left to go and eat elsewhere. I chose not to bother having breakfast here and found plenty of alternative places in town.

The location of the hotel is a bit out of the centre but well served by bus routes both into the city centre and to the airport, and its also doable to take a walk into town if you have the time.

Overall it was a decent base to stay and the reception staff were certainly friendly and helpful. Shame about the couple of issues in the room otherwise that would have been the perfect stay. Not sure what was going on in the restaurant or why service was so sloppy but that was a real let down for this hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Ideal For Edinburgh Zoo & City Centre

By

29 March 2022

club

We had a great stay and will return again. The hotel is ideal for the Zoo and with the Bus Stop right Outside, it is easy to head to Princess St and leave the car behind. The car park is free and there are 2 charge Points for Electric cars in the Zoo car Park which can be used when staying in the hotel. The hotel was clean and comfortable, but in places, it is looking a little tired, but there is a refurbishment program on going, so don't let this put you off. The breakfast was plentiful and catered for all.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful, but my only criticism was the barman, who didn't take note of who had been waiting to be served, causing a few unhappy customers.

We didn't use the pool etc so we can't comment. There are local bars and restaurants within a 15 minute walk if you want an evening away from the hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Noisy

By

20 March 2022

club

First room was next to a room being refurbished, power tools in use on the adjoining wall, so we were moved. Next room was on a corridor being used as a racetrack/playground for children under no control, either parental or volume. Consequently unable to relax at all.

Read More
Read Less

Amazing location

By

16 March 2022

club

Really enjoyed my time here considering it was a last minute stay. The lady who was in training who helped me with directions and information to the zoo was very helpful and I wish you all the best with your training!
Only thing I would say is when I was asked about breakfast, I mentioned I was leaving before it began and when I did eventually check out at 5am, I saw grab bag were available but I was not told this was an option when checking in. I would have loved one for my long drive home but didn't have the time to enquire or pay when checking out.

Read More
Read Less

Room comfort nil

By

06 March 2022

We booked a room with a sofa so that we could sit in comfort and watch TV. When we arrived the sofa was laid out as a bed, not needed!. We asked for it to be removed and even tried to fold it up ourselves and were assured it would be seen to but two days later it was still there reducing our space and denying us somewhere to sit. It meant that on that side of our bed I had about 6 inches to move causing several bruises. The rest of the room was tired and a grubby office chair with the seat about 3 feet off the ground was our only seating available. Tatty carpets in the corridor covered in plastic for refurbishment did not enhance the place.
We had a good meal on the Friday in the restaurant but on Saturday a very reduced menu was produced mainly burgers, pizza and curries if I wanted fast food I would have gone to MacDonalds Pool, sauna and jaccuzzi great. Shan't be rushing back not value for what we paid for a rugby weekend .

Read More
Read Less

Needs a refurb!

By

02 March 2022

club

Staff were lovely. Hotel was fully booked (Scotland rugby at Murrayfield) but staff remained polite and cheerful.

Room was in need of refurb. Bathroom was dirty - previous guest hairs found in bathtub, area round extractor fan grubby, sink around plug hole unclean. One of the bottles of shower gel had fallen off the wall. Areas of the bathroom were mouldy (see pictures)
In the bedroom, stains on one wall - looked like coffee splashes or similar. Paintwork very worn. Windowsill bubbled. Radiator peeling and carpet dirty. The desk chair was very tatty and tired.

The room next door (234) had signs on it saying closed for refurb so I hope they’re working towards 236 next as it definitely needs it!

The main entry passage into the hotel is also tatty and has paint peeling.

Dinner menu was limited, but service was quick and polite.

Breakfast was good.

Great location - just tired now and in need of a freshen up.

Read More
Read Less

Edinburgh

By

27 February 2022

Really enjoyable stay. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Well-appointed and great views.

Read More
Read Less

REQUIRES REFURBISHMENT

By

26 February 2022

While the staff were friendly and helpful i was disappointed in the state of the furnishings in the room we were allocated. The mobile desk chair was poor with the covering showing tattered edges and this would mean maintaining a good cleaning (for COVID protection) would be difficult . The paintwork on the doors were also poor. It looks like the room needs a refurbishment and redecor.

Read More
Read Less

Great stay but need to sharpen up on Covid rules adherence

By

11 February 2022

Had a great stay the weekend of the Calcutta Cup even though for an English supporter it could have been better. The hotel is very convenient for public transport to and from the airport, Edinburgh town, Local shopping centre (Gyle) and of course to Murrayfield stadium.

Nearly all the staff were masked but some of the kitchen staff and maintenance staff were not and this is unacceptable especially after nearly 2 years of the pandemic. Staff in the bar area also should instruct customers to wear masks when moving around the bar area in the evening (ie getting up the toilet or to the bar). Also some of the maintenance staff who were painting on the first floor were unmasked .

Also in the lifts it wasn't very clear that during this time lifts should not be shared with other guests.

The room cleaning was sub standard and in 3 nights stay the beds were never made. Also Shampoo and Shower Gel/ Savlon should not be in reusable bottles as guests are not sure on how well they are cleaned between guests stays.

Come on HI you can do better.

Read More
Read Less

Refurbishment

By

09 February 2022

There's refurbishment underway at the moment so there's relentless banging, drilling, and thudding all through the day. Unfortunately, I am currently working overnight and trying to sleep through this. If you need quiet to work or sleep in the room during the day then ask for a room on the 4th floor at the Zoo end of the building. Sleep is impossible otherwise. I would normally recommend this hotel but not at the moment.

Read More
Read Less