Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
74%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.8

based on 305 reviews
74%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

305reviews

  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    103
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    28
  • 1 Stars
    24

Well done Holiday Inn Orwell

By

September 23, 2016

Excellent service - all of the staff were friendly, couldn't do enough to help. Drinks were expensive, but food was reasonably priced and very very good during my stay. Highly recommend.

Read More
Read Less

value for money, great staff, great hotel

By

September 08, 2016

club

front of desk personable, professional, attentive.
other staff, smiles, eye contact and great service . hotel very well recommended. Really enjoyed breakfast in the conservatory felt like being on holiday, oh Im not writing this also coz we got an extra nice room this hotel and staff is genuinely great!

Posted byHotelStaff
September 15, 2016
Dear Chocolateeventsuk, Thank you for your outstanding 5 star review of our hotel. We are all really proud to receive such high praise and delighted to hear that you found the staff to be genuinely great. I also think the team here are great and will make sure that they all get to see your kind comments. Thank you again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel really soon. Kind regards Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Summary of one night stay

By

September 07, 2016

club

All was fine except the sunday breakfast service could have been better, Lack of staff and follow-up - no-one to offer tea/coffee or take order for poached eggs, no spoon for serving scrambled eggs from buffet. no second cup of tea/coffee offered and tea out of a flask just doesn't taste right.

The room and reception were fine.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 15, 2016
Dear GeoffDR, Thank you for your 4 star review of our Hotel. I am glad that in the main part you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted the issues you identified regarding breakfast and would like to apologise for the shortcomings you experienced. I have spoken at length with our Food and Beverage Manager regarding the steps we need to take to make sure these problems do not re-occur. We have purchased new tea pots which covers one of the things you have highlighted. Thank you for bringing these items to my attention and I am sorry that we gave you cause to do so. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great hotel

By

September 06, 2016

club

Great staff, lovely room for my family. Really excellent value.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 07, 2016
Dear Talia17, It was a pleasure to host your recent stay with us. That your family enjoyed being here. I will pass onto the staff your feedback on staying and how it was value for money. We are looking forward to looking after you and your family again when in this area. Kindest of regards Stuart Crisp IHG Loyalty Champion & receptionist
Read More
Read Less

Don't go there unless you really have to

By

September 05, 2016

I have stayed in countless IHG hotels globally and the one thing I love about the brand is the consistency. Unfortunately, this does not apply to this hotel.

If you have a choice, find another hotel to stay in. I need to go there for work and without a car, I don't have many options in the area so have had to stay there a few times. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

On the plus side, there is a huge David Lloyds gym that you can use as a guest of the hotel which is just across the street, so that makes the stay more bearable.

Posted byCustomerCare
September 15, 2016
Dear russ415, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our property did not live up to your expectations. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience. We value you as our IHG Rewards Club Gold member. Sincerely, Krysllin G Case Manager IHGService
Read More
Read Less

Great service, a few niggles

By

September 01, 2016

club

Reception staff were excellent at a trying time.
The room did not have sufficient lighting to be able to read in bed easily.
Breakfast was good although the tea could have been better, either made self-service with water from an urn (not boiling) or served from a thermos jug, slightly stewed.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 07, 2016
Dear KPNo1Nut, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff I will make sure they are aware of your comments. I'm sorry that you found the lighting in the room not adequate please do let us know if you are returning as we add traditional lighting to your room for you. I will also pass on your feedback regarding breakfast to the Food and beverage manager so this can be improved on. Regards Stuart Crisp IHG Loyalty Champion & Receptionist
Read More
Read Less

The nicest front of house,restraunt/bar staff you could wish to meet.

By

August 31, 2016

club

George, Igor and Stuart are most helpful and friendly and always give a warm welcome. Charlotte,Wayne Leanne and Chloe never fail to provide first class service in the Bar/Restaraunt. Aaron cooked a perfect meal.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 01, 2016
Dear Saracens, I am delighted to read your amazing 5 star review of our hotel. I am pleased you have mentioned so many of our team members in your review, it makes me really proud to hear they have all delivered such great service as well as a perfect meal. Many thanks and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Birthday break

By

August 31, 2016

platinumelite

Lovely hotel, well located but needs the modernisation I understand it is going to receive. The staff were great.

The weather was very good but of course this meant that with no air conditioning in the room it was very hot at night. The whole hotel seemed to be hot. They provided a fan located in the wardrobe.

The hotel is in a great location, close to the main A12 and not far from the centre of Ipswich. There is a great bus service about 10 minutes walk away from the hotel, and I recommend spending some time looking round Ipswich. The tourist information office was very helpful.

An enjoyable stay.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 01, 2016
Dear Sumfink59, We are so pleased to receive such a great 5 star review on your recent visit to our hotel. As General Manager, I am really proud of the team here and they will be thrilled to read your glowing comments. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back really soon. Kind regards Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Excellent Staff

By

August 30, 2016

club

The whole experience was great from entering to leaving the hotel. No complaints whatsoever

Posted byHotelStaff
August 30, 2016
Dear Les41, Thank you so much for your 5 star review of our hotel. Delighted you had such a positive experience and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

AVERAGE AT BEST

By

August 22, 2016

I am a prolific user of IHG hotels but this one needs to try harder. The room was okay although there was a shortage of power outlets for an I.T. guy and there was NO discernible difference between the soft and hard pillows (this is typical of many IHG mid range hotels to be fair) so I bought one of my own to use!

The restaurant was poor when I went for an evening meal. I was asked what I wanted for dinner by 2 separate wait staff and said the same to each - a medium rare steak. A few minutes later one of them came back to ask how I wanted it cooked - it then arrived extremely well done!

I complained about it and was offered a small discount but I said that wasn't acceptable as if I had wanted it replaced it would have cost them more. They grudgingly relented and knocked 50% off but had the cheek to charge me for service!

Breakfast wan't much better - they wanted £14.50 (I think) for a breakfast but I said I only wanted a bowl of porridge and a coffee and wasn't about to pay that much for such a basic choice. They grudgingly relented and charged me for the two items I wanted - and so tarnished their already poor record.

On another evening I had an evening meal in an upstairs room as the restaurant was being used for a wedding reception (should have learned my lesson by now and gone out). The meal was mediocre at best although the guy serving me (and another couple there) had a fantastic approach - wish I could remember his name as his style should be copied elsewhere.

Staff training in the main restaurant is needed here - although the reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 01, 2016
Dear Travelling Cat Man, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased you found the reception team to be friendly and helpful. You mentioned that the service you received in the upstairs room was good I believe it was from Ben, I will certainly pass you comments on to him and I am sure he will be really proud. Regarding, your comments on the service and the food, I will investigate the points fully with our Head Chef and Food and Beverage Manager and we will take the relevant action to ensure the poor standards you received are not repeated. Thank you again for your comments and if you wish to stay with us again, please contact me directly so I can ensure that everything is to your satisfaction. Kind regards Jason Stringer General Manager
Read More
Read Less

A nice Stay

By

August 22, 2016

club

A nice ordinary experience. Rooms Clean and Tidy but you have a bit of a walk to the room 123.

The place does smell like an Old peoples Home ... sorry but had to be said

Posted byHotelStaff
August 23, 2016
Dear KencoMM, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell. Im sorry to hear that you found it a long walk to room 23. Would you mind contacting me at the hotel so I can find out more about the scent you mentioned the hotel has. I can be contacted at crisphiotraining@gmail.com we do hope that you will come stay again in the future. Kind regards Stuart Crisp IHG Loyalty Champion
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and great service.

By

August 20, 2016

club

Booked large suite for a special occasion, exceeded our expectations

Posted byHotelStaff
August 23, 2016
Dear galaxytime4, Thank you for your five star review! Its is so nice to know that everybody made your stay here welcoming and comfortable. And that we exceeded your expectations. We hope you will stay here again soon. Kindest of regards Stuart Crisp IHG Loyalty Champion
Read More
Read Less