Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
93%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 30 reviews
93%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

30reviews

  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Fiftieth Annuversay

By

October 31, 2020

This was the 50ieth anniversary of my first stay in 1970 and for the last 20 years or so we have stayed annually at his marvelous historic institution. It’s our Johannesburg home from home, set in beautifully landscaped and maintained gardens and having a staff who with many years of service who, especially in these fraught times, take pride in helping the guests. From the chefs, to the front of house, to housekeeping ....this is a special and unusual place in world. Take it from a world traveller with a lifetime Titanium membership in largest hotel chain loyalty program. Although not in the most fashionable hotel district of today’s Johannesburg, it borders on some of its best institutions.

Read More
Read Less

King size vs twin beds

By

October 26, 2020

Booked a king size bed room, was given a twin bed room. Same goes with smoking room was told all rooms non- smoking.

What’s the point of requesting a room and not getting what you requested?

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable stay

By

October 14, 2020

Amazing service from staff.
Staff very helpful.
Rooms are clean and made me feel at ease despite COVID-19.
I felt welcome.

Read More
Read Less

Best hotel experience ever

By

October 13, 2020

Upon arrival I was welcomed by the friendliest people I ever encountered in the industry. They were willing to go the extra mile from start to finish... I ordered breakfast and got a call from the supervisor on duty who had checked my details ad saw that I am Muslim. He then advised on what was and wasn't halaal and made the appropriate changes. This spoke to the integrity of the hotel and their staff. WELL DONE GUYS... SEE YOU SOON

Read More
Read Less

Not worth a full price stay

By

October 05, 2020

club

I stayed at this hotel at a discounted rate and I would have been very disappointed if I had paid the full rate. The rooms are lovely and clean with comfortable bedding and working space, but the bathroom has no window or extractor fan. The food was appalling. I ordered the Tbone steak and it was the driest, hardest piece of meat, it was barely edible. The room service breakfast was also not good, although the buffet was better. The staff generally took great care to sanitize and be conscious of the pandemic, but the hotel cleaning staff worked without masks on and I heard one person sneezing in a room they were cleaning with little to no ventilation.

Read More
Read Less

Great Service

By

October 02, 2020

Delon Govender the GM went the extra mile to make us feel welcome.

Read More
Read Less

Lovely Experience

By

September 27, 2020

Great hotel with great staff. I can't say no more..

Read More
Read Less

Relax and enjoy

By

September 26, 2020

What a hidden jewel. This hotel with its friendly staff from the security at the gate to the staff delivering breakfast,, was a surprising and pleasant find. The breakfast, served in the room, was more than enough to keep you going through the day and a different variety was given each morning. The bed was comfortable and the room is spacious. Thank you to the friendly staff who made our stay so enjoyable

Read More
Read Less

Warm welcome

By

September 22, 2020

From the arrival at the gate, the security guards welcome us by hand sanitizer our hands and check our temperature and note it down. The show us the reception. Again whe arriving at the reception we find a friendly sweet and humble receptionist who gave us a warm welcome. Everything was perfect

Read More
Read Less

IHG Sunnyside

By

August 27, 2020

club

The room was excellent and the service was great. The manager and staff really went out of their way in order to make sure that we received lunch and dinner when there was no restaurant or buffet available as normal. What was served was good enough for a king!
Thank you for walking the extra mile to make our stay comfortable.

Read More
Read Less

Stay at holiday inn

By

April 02, 2020

club

The carpeted rooms not good for people with flue. I think the hotel should tile some of the rooms

Read More
Read Less

Great service

By

April 02, 2020

club

Was a fair hotel did have minor issues but overall not a bad hotel

Read More
Read Less