Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
84%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 2703 reviews
84%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

2703reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1305
  • 4 Stars
    807
  • 3 Stars
    287
  • 2 Stars
    167
  • 1 Stars
    137

Good location but experiencing lots of issues

By

June 22, 2022

club

Location of the hotel is ideal in downtown Toronto. Room was small but clean and fit the purpose of our trip. Beyond that, there was little else we did not have issues with.

Staffing - as with most hotels, they are clearly having staffing issues. Lines at the front desk were always long and they never had more than 2 people working it. If you tried to call down from your room, no one answered. You hit the intercom at the parking garage because you needed help, no one responded.

Parking - our rate included parking but you still need to get a ticket and then have it validated. Validation can only be done at the front desk. (See above on long wait) It really would be more helpful if the bell hop or concierge could validate parking for you. During our stay they were doing work at the entrance of the garage so it was blocked with scaffolding.so no way to enter. We drove around the block, parked illegally in front of the hotel to go inside and ask at the front desk what to do. They had no idea work was being done! They ultimately did place someone outside the garage entrance who then let you in the exit. This would be fine except then your validated card did not work since you could not register the appropriate in/out. We spent much more time than necessary dealing with comings & goings from this hotel.

Breakfast - No reservations are taken and seating is first come/first serve so there was always a long line through the lobby of people waiting to get in to eat. We were very glad our rate did not include breakfast. Save the time & money and eat elsewhere.

Elevators - they clearly do not have enough elevators for the size of this hotel. It was always along wait and often the elevator arrived full to our floor. Only 2 of the 4 elevators take you to the parking levels so if you got unlucky enough to hop on one of those on the way down, you got to wait again in the lobby or had to take the stairs to get to your car.

Overall, for the price they charge, we would look elsewhere on our next trip to Toronto

Read More
Read Less

I will never stay at the Holiday Inn on Carleton in Toronto ever again. Do not go here.

By

June 20, 2022

Hotel miscommunicated parking situation and we had to pay $70 as a result instead of the previously agreed $30. Never received an apology or any offer of compensation. Room had stains all over the floor, one of the two beds had a headboard that was not mounted properly to the wall, and the filter on the air conditioner had a THICK CARPET LIKE LAYER OF DUST. There was not enough room for many hotel guests to enjoy breakfast, and by the time the line had died down, the restaurant would not accept us for breakfast and said the kitchen was no longer serving breakfast after waiting for 50 minutes to get a table. Lunch menu had no vegan options other than fries and only one vegetarian option on the whole menu. Do not stay here. I REPEAT, do not stay here!

Read More
Read Less

Great location and very friendly staff

By

June 15, 2022

Great place to stay! Nice, large and clean rooms. Paulette was excellent. Super location.

Read More
Read Less

Poor value, need to improve

By

June 13, 2022

The room was very expensive for what we got. The shower head was broken and fell off several times (hitting me in the head), there was a large cigarette burn in the carpet, the fire alarm in the middle of the night resulted in us being instructed to stay where we were (in the stairwell) while it was investigated, although the staff member on the tannoy was talking so quickly it was almost impossible to understand. The location is great, but otherwise I can't recommend this hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Terrible Rude Manner of Front Desk Employee

By

June 09, 2022

I felt like that Front Desk Employee tried to verbally argue with me when I was checking in. It seems like that the employee needs to be re-trained for the way how to care of guests in treating of them while the processing time of check in

Read More
Read Less

Extremely bad incident at reception

By

June 02, 2022

club

I presented to Reception at 12:45 pm and asked if I could check in. Without asking my name or even cracking a smile, I was told that there was a $30 early check-in charge. I asked what time the check-in was allowed and was told it was at 2 pm. No smile, no attempt to make me feel that they wanted or appreciated my business.
I left, returned at 1:45 and spoke to a different person who did smile when I stepped up to his window. I told him that I wanted to check-in and was told 'no problem' and he proceeded to do just that with a friendly, welcoming attitude. No problem, no hassle.
While I was standing there, at 12:50 pm another guest moved up to the window of the previous agent I had dealt with at 12:45 pm and said that he wanted to check-in. Incredibly, her first words were that there was a $30 early check-in charge - this now being 10 minutes before the 'approved' check-in time of 2:00 pm!!! The guest agreed and she went ahead and processed his check-in including the $30 early check-in fee. I can only assume that there is a commission or bonus if the reception staff can somehow convince an early guest to pay the early check-in fee. Thankfully, not all of the reception staff play that game as the second agent who dealt with me was professional, polite and friendly.
What an incredibly negative way to start one's stay at a Holiday Inn - or at any hotel. The rest of the stay was fine but that first contact and experience ruined what should have been a nice stay at a Holiday Inn!!!

Read More
Read Less

Lack of recognition of Elite member status

By

May 19, 2022

I tried several times to reach Holiday Inn downtown Toronto by phone prior to my arrival, with no success of reaching anyone at their front desk. At the date of arrival, my Diamond status was not recognized nor an elite member check-in service was available.

Room is clean and efficient, but long line at breakfast due to limited seating available (construction on-site).

Read More
Read Less

Great location, customer service and breakfast, room? Meh.

By

May 01, 2022

Front desk was friendly upon arrival. Location can not be beat. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful.
However, if you plan to stay in the room much - walls had stains on them which could have been wiped off so not sure about the cleanliness overall. Windows were drafty and dirty from the outside. This is clearly an older hotel that has been renovated several times. Hallways were drab and narrow. The actual accommodations are very 2 star, but everything else was 3 star. Price was high for the in-room experience but location, location, location. I would recommend going in knowing the rooms are drab and blah and basic.

Read More
Read Less

MS. McIlmurray

By

April 27, 2022

club

For the price we paid it was OK. Didn't sleep well the pillows were horrible. They have parking but it's not included but what do you expect in Toronto. We didn't park in their garage, last time I did someone scratched my car cause spots are too tight.
Went to book for a 3rd time just because of the location and other we knew booked their but they jacked their prices cause it was almost sold out. 75% increase... Thanks Holiday Inn for the amazing deal. I will go elsewhere from now one.
Do not recommend.

Read More
Read Less

Nice rooms

By

April 20, 2022

club

found the stay to be pleasant. most of the staff were very friendly and courteous. had difficulty controlling the room temperature, so needed to open a window to get the temp down below 25. also we were slightly disappointed that breakfast was extra. even to have a continental type would have been sufficient. seems a bit cheap on the part of the hotel. i will be sure to ask a few more questions before i book again.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent Staff

By

April 15, 2022

platinumelite

Very helpful staff. Sameer, Jenny, and the other front desk staff are very helpful. As well as the breakfast staff who are excellent and very attentive. Breakfast area is always clean. Breakfast is delicious - fresh fruit and bacon. The orange and cranberry juices are a great start to the day. Coffee could be a better brand.
The pillows are fabulous.

Read More
Read Less

Bad Service

By

April 14, 2022

platinumelite

As a platinum elite member, we stay in a lot of Holiday Inn hotels. Unfortunately, this experience was not one of our best. While pulling in the parking ramp to start our stay, the ticketing machine was broken and not dispensing tickets. Therefore, when we left the parking ramp we had to use the intercom for someone to open the gate each time. Upon check in we were told our room was not ready and they had put a rush on the cleaning staff. We were also told that breakfast was included in our reservation and that our parking would be free. Once our room was ready, it was quite clear that the room had been "cleaned" quite quickly and not well. Fast forward to the next morning, we went down to breakfast that had a very long line. After waiting around 20 minutes to be seated, we were told breakfast was not included in our reservation and ended up paying $35 for a mediocre breakfast. The breakfast staff was incredibly rude and overbearing. Needless to say, we did not have breakfast in the hotel on morning 2. Fast forward again and its time to head out. Parking situation still hadnt been fixed so again, we had to use the intercom to leave the hotel. Once we returned home, I checked my bill and noticed we received parking charges after we had been told it was included. All the information that was provided to us at check-in turned out to be untrue which is very frustrating. Will not be returning to this hotel.

Read More
Read Less