Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

South End Temple Gate House Temple Meads, Bristol, BS1 6PL

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
89%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 1805 reviews
89%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1805reviews

  • 5 Stars
    959
  • 4 Stars
    579
  • 3 Stars
    154
  • 2 Stars
    61
  • 1 Stars
    52

Overnight stop-over

By

21 May 2022

The hotel has improved its bar and food areas in the past three years. Our room was spotless, and the proximity to Temple Meads was a big plus.
There seemed to be a shortage of staff at times, but this seems to be a consistent problem for the hospitality sector.

Read More
Read Less

Convenient and clean

By

08 May 2022

This property is a typical HI Express, with free breakfast and spacious common areas. The room was adequate, though more power outlets and access to an adapter would have been useful. Bathroom and shower worked well.

Read More
Read Less

Fantastic Stay

By

16 April 2022

club

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night in April. I was very impressed by the clealiness of this hotel and smart presentation and attention to details. The hotel was well staffed (4 waiter/waitress at breakfast - approx 25 in restaurant at any time). Lovely buffet breakfast - the staff made sure the hot breakfast was always 'topped up' and that crockery was always available. Claudia on reception was very helpful and spent time explaining directions into town and bus and taxi details and hotel parking.
My room was cleaned and presented very well and the chamber maid was friendly and helped me carry my luggage.
The staff worked as one team helping each other.
The best hotel I have stayed at whilst visiting Bristol.

Read More
Read Less

Good stay

By

11 January 2022

club

This was our first stay at this hotel and indeed at a holiday inn express we have wide visits to holiday inns. This hotel for us had it's advantages and disadvantages. The main advantages included being so close to the railway station which is a 5 minute walk. The main parts of the City centre that we visited were a 15 to 20 minute walk including the harbor side and Bristol Cathedral both well worth a visit. There is also a good bus service to take you up to Clifton and the Clifton suspension bridge well worth a visit and walk across. Clifton village is well worth a visit as well.
Our rooms at the hotel were very good, though a comfy chair in the bedrooms would be a massive advantage. The staff both on our arrival and leaving were very helpful.
The only disadvantage was the breakfast quality, we have stayed at holiday inn many times before, and quite truthfully we would have to say the selection especially of hot breakfast is better then at the holiday inn express. Hot food kept in hot bowls and covered is not great especially for the bacon which was quite dry. At holiday inn things are kept in trays with those hot lights above keep the food hot, also there plates are hot in holiday inn. Also there should be the choice of mushrooms or tomatoes to make the breakfast more veggie for people who do not eat meat. But this is the only downside to this hotel. For the easy access to the station and city centre no mind if you want to walk or take a bus the hotel is a good place to stay.

Read More
Read Less

City centre Holiday inn Bristol

By

21 December 2021

This hotel is now named the city centre holiday inn, just like the other holiday Inn City centre Hotel. The staff that the real Holday inn City centre Hotel, reported that this is catching a lot of people out. The use of calling both hotels the same caused confusion. I would never stay in the temple meads holiday Inn out of choice, but this time had to due to the change in names

Read More
Read Less

Reasonably priced for a short stay.

By

14 December 2021

The hotel is a little tied or certainly the room in which I stayed, but for a reasonably priced room in Bristol on a Friday, for one night it was ok. The breakfast was satisfactory but the coffee was quite awful. The staff were polite and attentive throughout. Overall, a no frills room for a short stay in a good location for the train station but a little walk into central Bristol.

Read More
Read Less

Well looked after.

By

13 December 2021

club

The room was comfortable with everything we needed. The staff were welcoming and helpful, suggesting places to visit etc. Dan was a star.

Read More
Read Less

Poorly maintained property

By

12 December 2021

platinumelite

This hotel has a great City centre location which is reflected in the price. I arrived in the evening and quickly settled into bed,, unfortunately my sleep was constantly disturbed by the wind howling round the poorly fitting/ broken window frame! The carpets and decor are all beginning to look tired as well.
Breakfast was a good standard, however there seemed to be very few steps taken to prevent covid spread, no gels, no separate portions of honey, etc. it was impossible to take a plate or cutlery without touching other plates, spoons etc.
The staff were all polite and helpful

Read More
Read Less

Very poor

By

09 December 2021

club

If I list everything that was wrong I will cry. I've never had such a bad experience. Definitely not suitable for those with accessibility issues.

Read More
Read Less

Good location

By

08 December 2021

club

Fairly standard hotel, nothing fancy, booked last minute. Room was fine, clean and comfortable. Shower was poor trickle of water at best but guess functional.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable

By

07 December 2021

platinumelite

Very comfortable bed, quiet room and friendly and efficient staff. Good location for city centre and the train station.

Read More
Read Less

A comfortable room close to the station and city centre

By

06 December 2021

This is an expensive hotel with on site parking (extra cost), but is well located for the overland station and a short walk to the Quays and shopping centre.

The staff were friendly and professional.

Our double room was well equipped and clean, with USB socket and bedside sockets (important for my CPAP).

Comfortable bed and pillows.

Our room included iron and board, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, enough hanging and drawer space for a 3 night stay.

We hopped on a bus to see the Clifton Suspension bridge, but walked to the Quays and shopping areas (most areas are about 15-20 minutes on foot).

Read More
Read Less