Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
91%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 701 reviews
91%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

701reviews

  • 5 Stars
    396
  • 4 Stars
    206
  • 3 Stars
    68
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    16

Weekend stay in the Bay

By

06 December 2016

club

Met expectations overall. Good location for our needs. Room availability was limited, so we had a family stay for 4 in a small room with one sofa bed for the teenage kids. Room was OK, but could have been bigger - radiator was broken so that was a shame. Staff were great though - friendly and very helpful. Food was OK for money too.

Posted byHotelStaff
09 December 2016
Dear Lewis439 Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and apologies for the issue with your radiator. I hope that this was resolved quickly as soon as it was reported to the team. Our rooms are all one size at this particular hotel, and as you mentioned our family rooms have 1 double bed and one sofa bed in them. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the food with us and thank you for your fab comments regarding the staff. We hope to welcome you back next time you are in the area. Kind Regards Karen Matthews General Manager
Read More
Read Less

comfortable

By

28 November 2016

A pleasant stay in an average hotel. It is what it is.
Staff were most helpful and friendl and the room was quiet. Pillows were far two bulky which was a pain but there you go.

Posted byHotelStaff
30 November 2016
Dear DanielQ1 Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We recently changed all of our pillows, duvets and have new mattress toppers on our beds - so I'm sorry if the pillows were not to your liking. I do hope that this won't stop you from choosing to stay with us again the next time you are planning to visit Cardiff. Kind Regards Karen Matthews General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Efficient staff

By

28 November 2016

Check in was very efficient. Staff wre attentive. Good selection for breakfast. Great comfy beds.

Posted byHotelStaff
28 November 2016
Dear KJJ01 Many thanks for taking the time to write a fab review for us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are planning a trip to Cardiff. Kind Regards Karen Matthews General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Decent convenient budget hotel

By

24 November 2016

club

Within an easy walk of Cardiff Bay. Friendly hotel, easy parking, and comfortable.

Posted byHotelStaff
28 November 2016
Dear sparks22 Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed it overall and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Karen Matthews General Manager
Read More
Read Less

a bit sparse

By

22 November 2016

platinumelite

bedroom sparsely furnished - double occupancy but 1 chair - not value for money (I usually use points at this hotel but the option was not available).

Posted byHotelStaff
23 November 2016
Dear stylo Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We do have an allocation of rooms available each night for our IHG Rewards Club members to use for their Rewards Nights. These are on a first come first serve basis - so it is always best to book them as early as possible to avoid disappointment. Our rooms are furnished to the Holiday Inn Express brand standard - which does have 1 chair in the room, however we can always provide another chair on request. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Karen Matthews General Manager
Read More
Read Less

experience

By

18 November 2016

club

good overall experience
beds a little to soft
breakfast limited to sausage and scrambled eggs
fair choice of pasties and cereals
but overall experience was fair to good

Posted byHotelStaff
23 November 2016
Dear qbhs15 Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that the firmness of our beds was not to your liking. Here at Holiday Inn Express our complimentary breakfast is based on a continental selection with additional hot favourites, which is currently sausages, scrambled eggs and baked beans. We do however value your feedback and I'm delighted to let you know that there will be some changes to this coming in the New Year. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a visit to Cardiff. Kind Regards Karen Matthews General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great Stay

By

13 November 2016

Good stay

Have to pay for parking

food very limited

Posted byHotelStaff
14 November 2016
Dear DNA 1234 Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We do mention on the site that there is an additional charge for parking, so as not to mislead any of our guests. I am really pleased to hear though that you had a great stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Karen Matthews General Manager
Read More
Read Less

A very pleasant overnight stay in Cardiff

By

11 November 2016

club

I was alone this visit but my wife and I have stayed in other HI Express hotels in the past and been most satisfied, as I was with the one in Cardiff south. It is situated approx half way between the city centre and Cardiff Bay (sight seeing, restaurants etc) and only 15 minutes walk to either location. The staff went out of their way to assist with maps, directions and my general queries - very friendly which clearly helped to make me feel at home. This is more important than many people realise as if you are relaxed you often sleep better! I'm not a coeliac but need to avoid gluten and wheat (intolerance) and was impressed to find GF bread and cereal (cornflakes) available for breakfast. The only downside was that no obvious GF food was available for the hot lunch and the menu was rather limited (the latter to be expected in a relatively small hotel perhaps). Overall an excellent stay and will use again (for the right price) when visiting Cardiff.

Posted byHotelStaff
14 November 2016
Dear Bladgernock Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for your very valuable feedback. We recently started offering our All Day Dining menu - which is designed to offer a light alternative for those guests who choose to stay in the hotel rather than venture out to one of the many restaurants which Cardiff has to offer. Although we mention which items are suitable for vegetarians, your review has certainly given me some food for thought for the next time we are producing menus - to at least highlight the items which are safe to be eaten by guests who have a gluten intolerance. We do of course have all of the allergen information on each of our stock items available to hand to avoid confusion and to keep our customers informed. I am delighted that to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Cardiff. Kind Regards Karen Matthews General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great accomodation

By

09 November 2016

club

We enjoyed our stay and can recommend the hotel, but, please be aware that the cost of the parking (£6.00 per day) is added on at the end of your stay....

Posted byHotelStaff
11 November 2016
Dear Keith1951 Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We do mention on our site that there is an additional charge for parking so as not to mislead any of our guests and avoid unnecessary surprises. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are planning a visit to Cardiff. Kind Regards Karen Matthews General Manager
Read More
Read Less

extra needs met with great service

By

05 November 2016

club

thankyou for bringing the iron and board up, and also providing extra heating when ours appeared faulty, although found out later it wasnt switched on by the door!

Posted byHotelStaff
07 November 2016
Dear LesleyJane47 Many thanks for the 5 star review and we hope to welcome you back again next time you are planning to visit Cardiff. Kind Regards Karen Matthews General Manager
Read More
Read Less

cb1

By

05 November 2016

platinumelite

As i am alergic to CHEESE the availabilty of other choices of food was very poor.

The location of the Hotel is excelent, easy walking distance to Cardiff Bay, where there is a great diversity in the number

Posted byHotelStaff
07 November 2016
Dear cb1 Thank you for your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you felt that there wasn't enough choice of food for you. I am presuming that this is for our All Day Dining menu. We are limited as to how many dishes we can offer as it is designed as a light alternative for those who wish to stay at the hotel rather than visit any of the number of local restaurants. We of course have all allergen information available for our customers in line with legislation. I'm delighted that the location of the hotel suited your needs and do hope that we can welcome you back the next time you are planning a visit to Cardiff. Kind Regards Karen Matthews General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Don't expect to eat or park

By

04 November 2016

club

Our first experience at a Holiday Inn Express, very poor.
Very little choice on the lunch menu and told 'better off eating down the road' by the staff on reception.
Charged an extortionate amount to park my car in the car park...except there were no spaces available and I had to block others in. Still had to pay though.
Evening meal, family of 4 we came down to eat and were told 'sorry there is no food left we are waiting for a delivery'. Poor breakfast choices with just 3 hot items available to choose from.
Unacceptable, won't be staying here again. Go to the Holiday Inn at Cardiff airport, it's much better.

Posted byHotelStaff
07 November 2016
Dear websorino Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I'm sorry to hear that it did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. Here at Holiday Inn Express, we offer a complimentary breakfast which is based on a continental selection with additional hot favourites of sausages, scrambled eggs and baked beans - which is why you would have seen the 3 choices which you described. We recently introduced our All Day Dining Menu - and we based our orders on customer usage each night. This was the first time that we were caught out as we've never before experienced such a high volume of guests looking to eat in one evening - so please accept my apologies for the inconvenience this caused for you and your family. Kind Regards Karen Matthews General Manager
Read More
Read Less