Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL

1018 Dockside Road , London, E16 2FQ

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
91%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 1351 reviews
91%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1351reviews

  • 5 Stars
    778
  • 4 Stars
    409
  • 3 Stars
    86
  • 2 Stars
    46
  • 1 Stars
    32

Nice room and bed everything I needed..!!!

By

November 15, 2020

Yes great first visit but dissapointed that no deal could be made with regarding rate for room because I’m working at Excell right up to Xmas..☹️☹️

Read More
Read Less

Muy limpio y excelente atención

By

November 13, 2020

club

Todo está muy limpio, buenos protocolos al momento de servir el desayuno. El check in fue un poco tedioso pero en general todo bien.

Read More
Read Less

EXCELLENT SERVICE

By

November 06, 2020

EXCELLENT AS USUAL, VERY CLEAN AND FELT COVID SAFE, PRICES OF FOOD COULD BE A TOUCH LOWER.
STAFF VERY FRIENDLY AS USUAL.
WE ALWAYS STAY HERE WHEN VISITING LONDON

Read More
Read Less

Rewards Club Member? Dont Bother..

By

November 05, 2020

platinumelite

Pre covid ,this was a regular stop for me,but unless things change I wont be staying again.
Failure to acknowledge reward club membership at check in ,very keen to tell me the bar is open 24 hours a day but refuse to give amenity vouchers"because of covid"-.nonsense,the bar is open , this smacks of letting bean counters run the hotel,if you arent going to offer IHGs most loyal members what they are entitled to then you should say so clearly on your website,this will then enable to stay elsewhere if they like rather than at a hotel that fails to offer the perks it should,I have not had this at any other IHG hotel Ive stayed at since the first lockdown
.If you comment on this review perhaps you could tell me and the other reviewers whether your failure to offer amenity vouchers has been agreed with IHG?
Making a charge on a card for a damage deposit...Really??,this isnt a 1950s Brighton Bed and Breakfast..do reward club members do a lot of damage?..to then compound this by not clearing the charge for over 4 days after Ive checked out..
Make sure you look after the ever wonderfull Paula at breakfast,she is a golden asset.

Read More
Read Less

Ok but could be better

By

October 22, 2020

Hotel was ok but restaurant and bar understaffed and they use plastic glasses. Other local hotels have glasses. Also choice of cooked breakfast poor. Small things but enough to make me avoid staying there again.

Read More
Read Less

Very welcoming stay!

By

October 21, 2020

Reception staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, however the bedroom sofas would need a thorough ‘cleaning’.

Read More
Read Less

A lukewarm return

By

October 21, 2020

I know this hotel well; I used to stay weekly pre-Covid. It's location is great and most of the time the service was excellent.

I returned to work - and IHG, my preference for the last 20 years - about 2 months ago when lockdown ended to some extent. Coming back to IHG has been a really humbling experience to see how hard staff have worked to make the hotels safe for their guests and themselves. They are heavily restricted by chaotic government messaging and I know this must be very difficult to manage. So, the positives - the new breakfast service here, with Paula in charge (who is a legend of this hotel) - was perfect. It was calm, really well organised and I loved the balance of food available. Breakfast at this hotel used to be a stressful experience when it was busy; the new system is an improvement on that. And I was so happy to see Paula back.

The rest of the stay was just okay. At check-in I asked for an amenity voucher instead of welcome points, only to be told "oh no, we don't do the IHG rewards vouchers anymore". I'm assuming this is a cost-saving exercise locally as all 7 of the other IHG properties I stayed in recently have offered the usual welcome amenity. This is a big deal - they need to tell people they are not offering Rewards Club normal benefits in advance. I felt this was very dishonest of them. The check in agent was polite but said all she could do was suggest I make a complaint. This seemed a bit pointless given the circumstances, so the solution is simply not to return until they reinstate member benefits.

The check in agent explained the new cleaning process, which was reassuring. However, I'm not sure how strict this is. I've attached a photo of the skirting around the window. There was thick dirt, some wood rot and cobwebs on the carpet, suggesting this hadn't been cleaned for some time. Large, greasy handprints on the window also meant this was not part of the sanitisation process. Neither are a big worry to me but it kind of makes a mockery of all of the extra publicity about cleanliness if it's not done properly.

I'm glad the hotel is back online, and I wish them very well, but I think it’s a real shame they've abandoned their most loyal customers.

Read More
Read Less

all round enjoyable

By

October 20, 2020

Clean and cosy room.
We near on had our own wing, which was great.
I would have liked a view of the Themes but ... meh!

Odd knocking sound from something in my room that went off every hour or so.

Covid breakfast was free and very varied but ill give it a 6 out of 10.

The staff are brill! one lady by the name of Susan helped us out loads

IT WAS AN ALLROUND GOOD TIME

Read More
Read Less

Friendly staff

By

October 19, 2020

Overall experience was good. The customer service was ok and the environment was clean.

Read More
Read Less

Profit before valued customers

By

October 18, 2020

platinumelite

Arrived at hotel, having to pay£30 for car park for 3 nights, not greeted as an ihg platinum member. Told that the free drink was no longer an option would only be given points, of which I am still waiting. Company have said that they are no longer doing the free drink due to the current covid crisis, but I could buy a drink from the bar.
Asked ihg about this, informed that they new nothing of it and a senior manager would reply to my complaint within 24hrs.
I had To go looking for said manager to get told that the franchise company were no longer giving the complimentary drink just points. Stayed in another holiday inn on saturday night surprise surprise the free drink was offered.

Read More
Read Less

Fantastic hotel

By

October 16, 2020

Fantastic stay spotlessly clean fantastic staff limited menu but everything on it was really tasty. The Gent serving behind the bar and and the two ladies in the restaurant were helpful and nothing was too much trouble

Read More
Read Less

Great Stay

By

October 15, 2020

club

The venue reception is usually a straight telling of ideally what your room will look like in my opinion. The reception was neat and modernised. The room was spacious and clean which is very important. I wasn’t disturbed by any persons either. Can’t wait to take a break again and relax.

Read More
Read Less