Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Please enter Destination.
Please select Destination.
Please select Check in and Check out.
Please enter a Check In Date
Please enter a Check Out Date.
To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).
    MoreFewer Options

    * Required Field

    Corporate ID If your company has a preferred corporate account with us, please provide the account number here.This will allow us to display your company's preferred rates.

    IATA Number The IATA number is a number that identifies bookings associated with travel agencies.

    Group Code If you have a group code, enter it here to show a listing of rooms available for your special occasion.
    MoreFewer Options

    * Required Field

    ** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

    Need to make changes, like editing your check-in or check-out date, your room type, the number of guests in your room or cancel a reservation? You've come to the right place!
    Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view recent reservations.
    Please enter Confirmation Number
    Please enter Last Name
    Guest Reviews
    Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
    91%
    Recommend This Property

    Overall Experience

    4.4

    based on 164 reviews
    91%
    Recommend This Property

    Ratings Breakdown

    164reviews

    • 5 Stars
      111
    • 4 Stars
      30
    • 3 Stars
      9
    • 2 Stars
      8
    • 1 Stars
      6

    Excellent Hotel

    By

    January 19, 2017

    club

    My husband and I travel to Newport News often, and we always stay at this hotel. They are pet friendly, military friendly, quiet, safe, and a great value for the price you pay. The mini kitchen's in the rooms are super convenient, and the beds are always comfortable. We've had bed bug problems at other hotels, but never this one! I always recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in the area, even if it's just for the night.

    Read More
    Read Less

    Great service but poor bed

    By

    January 12, 2017

    club

    My wife and I enjoyed the hotel staff and what they hotel had to offer but had to change rooms after the first night. The mattress was slanted and uncomfortable so we didn't sleep at all. The staff was able to give us a new room and the second night was better.

    Posted byHotelStaff
    January 16, 2017
    Dear Robbbbb1, We apologize that you had to change rooms. Glad we were able to satisfy your needs on the second room. Feel free to contact us directly upon making your next reservation. We will try to make sure you get the same room. Thanks again for choosing the Candlewood Suites Newport News- Yorktown,VA.
    Read More
    Read Less

    Great service

    By

    January 04, 2017

    Really enjoyed this hotel. Especially because it was pet friendly.

    Posted byHotelStaff
    January 04, 2017
    Dear Domo219, Thank you for such kind words. You are now part of our extended stay family. Please tell your friends and family about your great experience during your stay at Candlewood Suites Newport News Yorktown, VA.
    Read More
    Read Less

    Kitchen and comfortable bed.

    By

    January 04, 2017

    club

    Location is excellent in my book. It's like a home away from home, comfortable, peaceful stay. Outdoor cooking area is also a great amenity. I normally cook outdoors when the weather permits.

    Posted byHotelStaff
    January 13, 2017
    Dear Dozer287, Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate the nice feedback and look forward to your return. Thanks for choosing the Candlewood Suites Newport News- Yorktown, VA.
    Read More
    Read Less

    My Experience

    By

    January 04, 2017

    club

    This hotel was very welcoming, clean, secure. The staff regardless of the shift/hour were extremely helpful, honest, courteous, and generous. The hotel uses key cards for access to its amenities within the hotel and for access into the hotel after/within certain hours. After I checked out, I was called by the manager and informed that housekeeping found jewelry I had left in the room (Marc jacobs and swavorski that I had completely forgotten about), safe to say that the personnel at this site have integrity and trustworthiness. The only things that I didn't completely agree with was that housekeeping is only once a week (Excluding checkouts) and the bed seemed petite and uncomfortable (definitely not the same type of mattress used by other Candlewood suites). Otherwise, I would definitely recommend this hotel and its staff to anyone traveling to the Hampton Roads/Newport News/Yorktown area.

    Posted byHotelStaff
    January 16, 2017
    Dear Anonymous, Thanks for your kind review. We are glad that our staff was able to retrieve your belongings. Many hotels have dishonesty in these situations but we have a bunch of boy and girls scouts among our crew. Our bedding is fairly new ,however we will mention this to the owner. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Candlewood Suites Newport News-Yorktown, VA. Hope to see you return soon.
    Read More
    Read Less

    Another Pleasant Experience

    By

    January 03, 2017

    club

    We've stayed here before and have always been satisfied. They've updated some things since our last visit which made the room even more pleasing to the eye. We look forward to staying here when we are in the area again.

    Posted byHotelStaff
    January 13, 2017
    Dear rsjeej, Yes, we have done a 10 million dollar renovation. I don't even recognize the hotel anymore! It was all for the better though and to become a higher standard. You are always welcome and thanks for staying and being loyal to Candlewood Suites brand.
    Read More
    Read Less

    Unhelpful staff

    By

    December 17, 2016

    I stayed at this hotel once in the last few years and it was overall positive but not the most comfortable. I chose it again because we were traveling with our dog and it was the only pet friendly hotel in the area. At checkin the staff member was efficient and pleasant enough but informed me there was a $50 pet fee which was not apparent on the website. The room was clean but the bed was lumpy and too soft and obviously quite worn because I kep rolling to the middle. The sheets were scratchy and while getting a seer I noted there were no bath towels only hand towels. I called the desk to let the staff know and was advised to come get them. I never mind going to the desk, but when I arrived the towels were on the desk, the clerk did not acknowledge me and she was busy on her phone (using apps)When I came down to check out she was on her phone again, and when I told her I was unhappy she provided a rehearsed and less than sincere sounding apology. I won't be staying here again.....

    Posted byHotelStaff
    December 20, 2016
    Dear Guest, We apologize for your experience during your stay. We are actually one of many hotels that allows pets in the area. However, our fee is the most reasonable. A one time charge of $50 or $100 dollars depending on the length of stay. Our linen is brand new and perhaps we were doing laundry at the time of your arrival explaining lack of linen. We will certainly speak with our staff in regards to proper acknowledgement of our guests. We want you to feel welcome while you are here. Thanks again for your return to our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future. Happy Holidays to you and your family!
    Read More
    Read Less

    Sizeable rooms and great service

    By

    December 07, 2016

    This is the second time we have stayed at Candlewood Suites in Newport News and it was a very nice experience again. The staff is wonderful and the rooms are a nice size for a few nights stay.

    Posted byHotelStaff
    December 07, 2016
    Dear gtg4, We appreciate you staying with us for another visit. Thank you for staying loyal to the IHG Brand. Happy Holidays to you and your family and you are always welcomed.
    Read More
    Read Less

    Great stay at Candlewood

    By

    December 07, 2016

    Enjoyed our stay in Yorktown. Very nice hotel and amenities

    Posted byHotelStaff
    December 07, 2016
    Dear LC38, We thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is at the end of a total remodel and you were one of the first guest to experience all that we have to offer. New kitchens, new grills, new lobby area, new carpet, and new furniture. We take pride in our hotel and the guest that come stay with us. Happy Holidays and thanks again!
    Read More
    Read Less

    Comfortable with great lakeside view

    By

    November 26, 2016

    Great lakeside view and most comfortable studio with kitchenette, WiFi, desk, comfortable bed and recliner.
    I enjoy the gym and a most pleasant professional management.

    Posted byHotelStaff
    November 30, 2016
    Dear Deb 02, Wow, well thanks for the kind review. Our studio suites have just about everything you need as you mentioned. We also have free laundry in the fitness area. Hopefully you were able to take advantage of that too! We will be sure to let the staff know you had a good experience with them as well. Welcome to the Candlewood Suites extended family.
    Read More
    Read Less

    Candlewood Suites Newport News/Yorktown

    By

    November 22, 2016

    club

    The hotel was nice and I would recommend, but I wish they would get rid of window / wall type air conditioners in all hotels. They are very disruptive to good sleep due to the noise, not just at this particular hotel, but many hotels. Would also be nice if the internet speed was improved, and if they would fix the left side building key scanner--could not get in and out and there was a sign not to prop the door open. Overall a good hotel in a good location.

    Read More
    Read Less

    Great View

    By

    November 16, 2016

    Excellent view especially in the morning of the nearby lake. Room was ready on arrival and check-in was a breeze. My wife and I spent 5 days and moved about with ease and no hassles whatsoever.

    Posted byHotelStaff
    November 16, 2016
    Dear Vesh22, Thank you for the great review. We try to make sure most of our guests get to enjoy that view you speak of. It is great facing the other way too. Across the street the other direction is the movie theater. Feel free to contact us directly the next time you come to our area. Thanks for choosing Candlewood Suites Newport News Yorktown, VA.
    Read More
    Read Less