Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
88%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 1134 reviews
88%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1134reviews

  • 5 Stars
    627
  • 4 Stars
    310
  • 3 Stars
    103
  • 2 Stars
    50
  • 1 Stars
    44

Accessible room not so accessible after all

By

21 June 2022

While the room was lovely and clean and staff professional, friendly and polite and a very good breakfast, this is pretty much where the positive bits stop. I'm a wheelchair user and this was not an an accessible room. The bathroom had one grab rail for getting on and off the toilet which was also way too low resulting in my husband having to help me, there was a stand alone rickety stool to use in the shower again resulting in my husband having to stay with me while I showered as I was so scared of slipping off the stool. The wash basin was set way too far back and couldn't reach it when sitting in front of it to clean my teeth. The chair set up in front of the mirror above the table was so low all I could see was the top of my head when trying to dry my hair and put makeup on. The chair had a lever, but didn't work and with no temperature control and a window that only opened a couple of inches, meant a very uncomfortable, hot night with very little sleep. The bed also was too low and yet again had to rely on my husband helping me get out and up from the bed. I have stayed in a number of hotels now with accessible rooms and this was one of the worst! Very disappointed with Holiday Inns!!!

Read More
Read Less

First bad stay

By

18 May 2022

I have stayed in many IHG hotels.
And the service is always brilliant.
Unfortunately on this occasion it was not.
The room next to me had a party loudly going on.
Twice I called reception to ask if they could sort it.
Eventually i had to get my 8 year old son dressed and walk down to reception and ask them to sort it again.
The lobby was basically a free for all full of drunk people and not enough staff or security to deal with it at all.

Read More
Read Less

Disappointing

By

09 May 2022

Staff are very warm and welcoming however that's as positive as I can be about my experience.
Room carpet was filthy with ground in dirt and stains, walls are paper thin so it sounds like the person in the room next to you is actually in your room.
Food in the bar was poor (and that's being kind), 40 minutes wait (when it didn't appear to be busy) and then served luke warm under cooked food.

This hotel used to be so much better than this, I've used it over many years however will now think twice.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed

By

26 April 2022

This hotel could do with a makeover. The room was spacious and comfortable, but it was dark and very tired looking.
Not well sound proofed, the next room incumbent had a loud tv on until 24.20am. We could clearly hear the words spoken through the adjoining wall.
Staff were friendly.

Read More
Read Less

Average interior not reflective of the exterior appearance

By

17 March 2022

platinumelite

Having previously stayed a few times in 2018/2019, this was a first return since Covid.

Hotel - it's still an impressive hotel from the exterior and entrance lobby. Staff all friendly throughout, couldn't fault them.

But it shows it's age once in the rooms. I assume they've had a lick of paint as the room itself looked okay. The desk chair was probably 50% of the seat covering missing and the 'lock' on it to not roll all the way back wouldn't work, making it impossible to sit comfortably on.

The bathroom - shower curtain just smells and is that horrible solid fabric curtain style. Also all the noise from flushing a toilet or running taps/shower/bath in the room above comes through into your room, so it's quite noisy.

TV - analogue aerial service only and it just didn't work. Blocky picture that kept cutting in/out on every channel. Rescanning did nothing to improve it. Waste of time.

Breakfast - all the spoons etc were kept within two containers with water (and then after use; oil/bean sauce etc mixed in). Just weird. Keep them out for use, not have people try and lucky dip which is the right handle to get something to take an egg or sausage etc.

I stayed because it was a) cheap, b) close to my destination and c) an IHG hotel. In truth... I'd probably not again.

Read More
Read Less

Christmas Treat

By

15 December 2021

club

Excellent customer service, fantastic food and couldn't believe this was on our doorstep. Beautiful building.
Attended a works Christmas do and wasn't expecting much after attending previous Holiday Inn events and being disappointed in entertainment and food. Absolute opposite here. Professional polite staff waited on us hand and foot. Nothing was too much. Clean rooms with comfy beds.. My only critism would be that a hot choc or 2 in the room would have gone down well at the Nd of a lively fun night.
Cannot wait to go back.

Read More
Read Less

Decent hotel, convenient location

By

11 December 2021

club

Stayed for Two nights on business.

Great location, close to the M1
Reasonably priced and good quality breakfast
Evening meal was fine, ran out of some dishes which wasn’t mentioned when initially ordered.
Room generally clean and comfortable, bathroom extractor fan however has clearly never seen a duster or any form of cleaning as covered in thick dust which wasn’t pleasant.
Staff at check in and breakfast particularly friendly and helpful.
Happily stay again for work

Read More
Read Less

Overnight stay after Christmas shopping trip

By

07 December 2021

Very comfortable room and great staff. Convenient as close to motorway for drive home. Safe car park.
Good choice of hotel

Read More
Read Less

Don't ask for help!

By

02 December 2021

club

Arrived at about 6pm after a 7 hour drive, so a tad tired I admit. Got to the room, but after a difficult 'find' - no arrows showing room numbers! So went wrong way! Got to room and bursting for a wee! No loo roll - well 5 'sheets'! Phoned reception at 6.30pm and asked for a taxi. She replied ' have you booked it '? No! Offered a taxi at 7.30pm! She told me that this was a Saturday night! It was Friday! So please organise a taxi at least an hour ahead of time! Room 201 - the safe would NOT open - I wanted to put my laptop in it! I phoned down to say that the 'safe' did not work! I got told that they were very busy as they had a wedding on and they would come and have a look when they could! I then hid my laptop and went downstairs to wait my relative to pick me up! The receptionist saw me and said that someone had just gone upstairs to look at my 'safe'......... no phonecall etc! The gentleman looked and tried to open the 'safe' but it was NOT WORKING! Took laptop downstairs to put in hotel safe. This was the end of the matter ! No communication and no 'safe' for the duration of my visit! Arrived on Friday night in a snow storm and left on the Sunday morning............ No help with bags and the car park was a SKATE RINK! NO offer of help. Took me 40 minutes from checking out to getting and de icing car - nobody offered to help! DISGUSTING............. This might sound trivial, but I sincerely expected more from IHG - a little bit of compassion and help for a 70 year old lady would not go amiss...........................................

Read More
Read Less

Good hotel let down by dinner

By

24 November 2021

club

The hotel was well located with friendly staff and a comfortable room. However, our stay included dinner and that was poor.

On arrival we were told that dinner had to be 6pm-7.15pm or after 9pm due to the hotel hosting a function. The dinner was in a room which was poorly lit (not good for those with some eyesight conditions) and no suitable table in the better lit lounge bar. The dinner should have included an option for a buffet, but it did not. The two main courses we had were sub-standard. It felt like the hotel kitchen could not deal with servicing a function and dinner to hotel guests.

Read More
Read Less

Fantastic Experience

By

03 November 2021

We visited the hotel in October during a birthday trip to Yorkshire. The staff were very attentive, the communal areas were vast but warm and comfortable, the room was lovely and we had a great sleep. This is a super hotel and it is great value for money. Well done team HI....!!

Read More
Read Less

Marc

By

25 October 2021

I arrived here and have to admit I was really happy with my stay. It's at the right price point for what it is, just really wish I was able to have got breakfast sorted as I was so tired I woke up later and had to leave.

I did grab an Apple from the breakfast area and the person in there was talking to the only person eating breakfast and was nothing short of begging me to have something else, which was really nice to see - although I wish I'd listened and taken a coffee to go now!!! :)

Would 100% stay again.

Read More
Read Less