Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
89%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 2029 reviews
89%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

2029reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1070
  • 4 Stars
    627
  • 3 Stars
    212
  • 2 Stars
    79
  • 1 Stars
    41

No Diamond Elite recognition

By

May 15, 2022

Little recognition of Diamond Elite status other than welcome points. Not even a bottle of water and a chocolate bar for a Diamond Elite member here.
On arrival reception insisted on charging credit card for stay - not a pre-authorisation - due to new card machine not able to take pre-authorisation! I have a credit card stored on my IHG Diamond Elite account details and I am rarely asked for even a pre-authorisation.
I went to room to find a twin room rather than double booked. I returned to reception to be told hotel was full by first receptionist. I insisted I had booked a double only the day prior and second receptionist found one!
Room was clean but tired. Bathroom was tired and tiny! I could only close door while leaning over the toilet and getting into the shower also meant climbing over the toilet.
On checking out I paid for evening meal (not great but expensive!), breakfast & parking. I spoke with my colleague later that day and he said they have never charged him for parking as a IHG Spire member. Reading other reviews it seems I should not have been charged £13 for parking.
Not a good experience and it seems to be a hotel to avoid!

Read More
Read Less

Great stay

By

April 26, 2022

Lovely clean hotel from the reception, bar, restaurant and room!
I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a very Central location!
We will probably visit very soon.
Thanks Holiday Inn

Read More
Read Less

A little tired, bed small and pillows uncomfortable

By

March 17, 2022

club

For a one night in the town, it was fine, but expensive because it was a rugby weekend. For the money, it was OK. Just. The breakfast I found to be very very average, and quite disappointing. I always rated the Holiday Inn experience and breakfast, but this just seemed not to come up to the mark. The coffee machine didn't service espresso, and my partner's hot chocolate was hot watery milk - no chocolate. We were told we were being upgraded to a bigger bed, but if this was a bigger bed, I dread to think what size the smaller ones are! But it was OK. The reception staff were really lovely though, and extremely helpful - they made the stay really, so a special shout out to these people. I would stay again, but would expect a much lower price tag.

Read More
Read Less

Customer Experience

By

March 13, 2022

club

Staff were absolutely amazing. From the Check-in desk to the House-Keeping every staff member was helpful and friendly. I must highlight the service provided by your staff member Sally was outstanding. Every morning she greeted all customers, she took time to interact with her customers and always showed a genuine smile and care.

Big thanks to your kitchen team and to the Chef. Food provided was absolutely up to the mark.

Room comfort was good. However, I struggled with the temperature and a little noise coming from the road, which was unavoidable considering the location of the hotel.

Over all 5 stars.

Read More
Read Less

Nothing bad to say

By

March 06, 2022

club

Room 405.
Location was great - 7 mins walk to city centre, across from Bute park and castle. If you are going to the Principality stadium you won't get any closer, it is right next door.
Parking at reasonable cost.
Friendly receptionists.
Super comfy bed.
Breakfast was delicious and plenty of options.
Like the review title says - nothing bad to say about our stay here.

Read More
Read Less

Overall Good

By

December 28, 2021

club

Staff were helpful and the room was clean.I checked in with a standard room and the receptionist was helpful offer us a family room for 4 members.

Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn Cardiff

By

December 28, 2021

Just a single night booked on points, to avoid having to get a taxi home late.
Very friendly and helpful team at check-in.
6th floor room was clean, with a nice view over the Castle and park.
The reception area and bar are really nice, the only thing letting the hotel down, is the bedrooms looking dated and tired.
It certainly wouldn't put me off staying again

Read More
Read Less

Great stay which was very convenient for our attendance for a match.

By

December 20, 2021

club

Very comfortable and convenient. Can’t speak highly enough about Reception lady who was so welcoming and helpful. We shall certainly not hesitate to return when the occasion next occurs.

Read More
Read Less

Great place

By

December 20, 2021

club

Central location, great bar and clean, tidy rooms.

Read More
Read Less

Business visit

By

December 20, 2021

Great location. Easy parking nice breakfast. Pleasant staff

Read More
Read Less

Perfect City hotel

By

December 19, 2021

club

Hotel situated in city centre, perfect for shopping and sightseeing- would recommend-helpful staff, Hotel clean and comfortable

Read More
Read Less

Room cards constantly not working

By

December 17, 2021

club

No additional pillows and cover in room. Room key kept not working and having to trek back to reception. Lovely staff though and great location

Read More
Read Less