Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Important Announcements
Read more Read Less
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 1481 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1481reviews

  • 5 Stars
    730
  • 4 Stars
    445
  • 3 Stars
    148
  • 2 Stars
    105
  • 1 Stars
    53

Overnight

By

October 24, 2020

platinumelite

Required overnight stay on the Wirral. Picked Tuncorn as I have stayed there in the past. Team were welcoming whilst dealing with circumstances. Room was clean and tidy.

Read More
Read Less

Good nights sleep

By

October 21, 2020

Stayed here a few times price being main reason.
Food not so good

Read More
Read Less

good stay but suffered effects of less staff probably due to covid

By

October 10, 2020

club

great staff especially the scottish girl on reception who worked incredible long hrs and seemed to turn her hand to every job. she needs a raise. in general all the staff appeared keen to ensure everything was good. however several mistakes occurred such as only one set of towels appeared on the second day (this also happened on our previous stay on 17 to 20 sept) also on both occasions a bit too short on the shower gel. I must add that when mentioned the staff bent over backwards to correct the error. it is understandable during covid time you are operating on skeleton staff so when mistakes were sorted we felt contented. Our evening meal on 6th oct was a disaster with no cutlery delivered so my curry got cold, also I dont think it was as good as I had the previous stay when i had it served in the room instead of the lobby. My wifes meal was delayed as a Kimchi salad arrived which was not her order, her chicken then came but with multiple roast potatoes instead of proper items. The room service was really good and we liked the boxes the food came in. Both the noodle dish and the chicken curry were exceptional. The fish and chips was as good as you would get in a fish and chip shop or anywhere. The drinks were on the high price side but the voucher scheme made up for that. On our first visit to see my brother in the local hospice we were not sure how many nights we would need and so paid the full price. Now that i know i could have got a cheaper deal using online it would have been handy if I could have been told about that and saved some money.

Read More
Read Less

Needs to improve

By

October 08, 2020

platinumelite

I am deaf and I lip read. When I tried to check in the receptionist was behind a screen with a mask on. I had my mask on. I repeatedly asked him to remove his mask so I could understand him (lip read), instead he just repeated himself and talked louder. 5 times this happened!!!! Other guests were laughing at the situation I was put in. I even my mask off and offered to write things down, but couldn't get any paper to tell him I was deaf. I had booked a dinner, B B deal. Found restaurant was closed. Ordered evening meal in the bar, service was really slow, took 2,5 hours for the whole meal and the food arrived cold. The room was tatty. Phone jack hanging off the wall bed support ripped and dirty. One of the worst holiday inns I have been in and I have been in a lot, all over the world. Totally understaffed in the evening. As a positive most of the staff were helpful and tried hard and kept apologizing for being understaffed and the delays. NOT a good experience at all!!!!!

Read More
Read Less

Enjoyable visit

By

October 05, 2020

Very convenient location and friendly staff, ample car parking and good local amenities.

Read More
Read Less

Fantastic Stay

By

September 29, 2020

club

Love staying here. The staff are very welcoming and look after us very well

Read More
Read Less

Wedding staycation

By

September 28, 2020

club

I stayed at the holiday inn for one night as I was attending a wedding nearby. The check in was very quick and the staff member was very friendly and informative. I had to wait about 15 mins to ensure my room was clean but that was fine as I arrived earlier than expected the hotel was bright and clean and safe with the guidelines.
My room was allmost perfectly clean comfy bed and chairs. Nice modern bathroom with a walk in shower. The room had everything I needed. They was no issues in the bedroom everything worked. It was easy to get to and find.

Breakfast was my only issue. The service was poor only 2 staff around and we pre booked but was then told we might have to wait for a table. Lucky we got in and had a table. They didnt explain the process of breakfast which left us confused.
The buffet was lacking a lot of items which staff amended when asked. No bread for toast fresh juice ect. Apart from that breakfast was ok. Restaurant was very messy not very clean but the staff were trying there best

Read More
Read Less

Good value for money and well managed during Covid

By

September 23, 2020

club

Staff very friendly and helpful. Good Covid measures in place even if other guests ignored them!

Read More
Read Less

Hotel stay

By

September 21, 2020

Fantastic hotel friendly staff room was perfect and so relaxing

Read More
Read Less

Lacking the devil in the detail

By

September 18, 2020

club

I understand that these are challenging times and have tried to reflect this in my review. However I do feel that because of these times the staff are often stretched to do multiple jobs and then the quality of things go down. I booked 4 rooms and three of them had lights that did not work - bulbs not working. The overall cleanliness of the hotel was ok. The breakfast was disappointing - poor ingredients but which they tried to make up in quantity!

Read More
Read Less

Tired, cramped and a bit grubby

By

September 11, 2020

club

Great reception and check-in experience.

First room had a broken bulb in the bedside light and a used lollipop stick on the carpet. I asked for a different room and one was really provided with sincere apologies, but how much confidence do I have in the thoroughness of room cleaning in this unusual time? Replacement room was even smaller and no sofa, but couldn't be bothered to walk back to reception again and be that moany customer!

Rooms were quite small and not that tall, so felt a little squished. Really disappointed with the shower - water flow and temperature were fine, but the shower base was 15vm deep and this didn't leave enough height for me to stand straight before my head hit the ceiling.
No chance of being able to actually stand under the shower! I'm only 6'4" and I don't think that anyone over 6' could shower comfortably. It should be noted that there is limited headroom.

Read More
Read Less

Runcorn Holiday inn

By

September 09, 2020

Great location, and good quality and value. Good Covid controls in place and good supportive staff

Read More
Read Less