Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
87%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 2276 reviews
87%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

2276reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1394
  • 4 Stars
    467
  • 3 Stars
    209
  • 2 Stars
    125
  • 1 Stars
    81

A tad bit disappointed.

By

April 27, 2021

platinumelite

I reviewed this at length on another site. So I will try to capsule this into a smaller review.
Furniture in room needs to be replaced.
There were electrical fixtures that were loose, I brought it to front desk attention, maintenance arrived with light bulbs.
Hallway carpet needs a DEEP clean or replacement. Litter in hallway was there for 4 days, some my entire stay. Coffee machine in lobby and ice machine on 2nd floor did not work on Sunday when I reported them, and still did not work when I checked out Wednesday. I really should have asked to see another room to compare, in case the problems were specific to mine, as drawers did not work, there was rot on wood near refrigerator door, brown stain on carpet at the door. Litter in stairwells. I did sleep ok and the view is great but I am still suspect of some resort conditions.

Read More
Read Less

A tad dissapointed

By

April 27, 2021

platinumelite

I arrived on time, was quickly checked in. I was never greeted as an IHG ELITE, but the check in was good.
My room was nice, but I soon found two electrical receptors were very loose and the plug on my CPAP would not stay in. Maintenance arrived with new light bulbs? I found a wall plug that worked.
On Sunday the lobby coffee machine was unplugged and the 2nd floor ice machine did not work. I was told maintenance would fix things. When I left on Wednesday neither machine was working and I brought it to the front desk attention twice.
I believe the room furniture really needs to be replaced. I never could shut the drawers completely and the night before I checked out I noticed wood rot by the refrigerator door.
While there I also noticed a half of an orange marshmallow peanut sat on the hall floor for 4 days. A wet towel was on a hall window ledge the entire time I was there. A brown stain was on the carpet in front of my room (203). Carpet in general appears in dire need of cleaning/replacement.
The hotel itself is in an excellent location, has nice pools, although I did not use them and I would consider staying there again if the above mentioned problems were addressed.
I would however check my room condition prior to completeing my check in stay. Perhaps a reconditioning is schedule soon, if not it should be.
I did get an acknowledgement of my IHG ELITE status upon checkout!
For the exchange cost in points, I may go to a different place next time to compare.
As stated, I could reccomend the hotel if problems were addressed.

Read More
Read Less

Birthday gift for grandkids

By

April 26, 2021

Having being out of the country for five months, just wanted to do a little something for my seven grandkids because we missed all their birthdays while we were gone. They range in age from 9mos to 19 and they all had a wonderful time on the premises. They are asking to do it again.. loved it, thanks for the memories. The smiles on their faces were priceless.

Read More
Read Less

Was once our favorite hotel in VA Beach...

By

April 25, 2021

club

My family and I stayed here back in 2018 in the off season (Oct) and had a excellent experience! Room was clean, hotel in general was clean, and staff was responsive to any requests. We recently went back and stayed in another suite for about 4 nights and we were crushed by how much it had all gone downhill! We were put in the building that also contains the restaurants this time. It felt dirty and out dated, there were multiple windows with shattered glass that had wood boards covering them, the room was again very old feeling, but mildly clean, the phones never worked to reach anyone at the front desk. We bring a fan with us on all trips to block out noise at night, but the people above us simply going in and out of the balcony of their room was incredibly noisy, even with the loud fan on high. The sliding doors are barely functional and very old, which it announces to the world every time it's opened. The air/heating made an awful noise when on and no one would have slept the first night if my husband hadn't looked into. My toddler was melting and we couldn't afford to wait for someone to fix it that night. The indoor pool, which is the main event for staying at this hotel, was cold every time, despite telling the front desk twice. Pool was updated on a chart for 80 degrees, but couldn't have been more than 67-70. Their response was that no one else has complained, so they don't think it's too cold. I was seeing kids get in slowly because of how cold it was. And kids usually don't think twice about such things. They also only had one pool light on and it was very dark. Since we had been there before we knew how magical the indoor pool was with the waterfalls and all the lights. But this was just dim and lifeless.
In the end my family really enjoyed the beach and our visit to VA Beach, and we'll definitely be going again some day, but I seriously doubt we will chance this kind of experience again at this particular hotel, especially at those prices. Just because you're oceanfront doesn't mean you have any sort of quality to back the price. Very disappointed. This might be my second bad review my whole life. As a self employed individual, I'm very sensitive to bad reviews and usually just let a bad experience go. But this was pretty extreme to us and I wish we had known how much it had changed before coming back.

Read More
Read Less

Very Clean

By

April 23, 2021

club

The hotel is very clean but customer service could have been better. The TV in the room was not working with the remote.

Read More
Read Less

Holiday inn is a vibe :)

By

April 23, 2021

I will be booking this property again. The beds were comfortable and clean, the balcony had a great view and parking was convenient.

Read More
Read Less

First time stay

By

April 22, 2021

We were looking for a place to enjoy the view of the beach and to relax and the staff make sure that I Jade a ocean view which was spectacular to us and we relax by the ocean and with the views in our room
Thank you so much

Read More
Read Less

Sister weekend

By

April 21, 2021

Had a very positive experience at the holiday inn. Only wish the pools were heated. The lazy river was always packed with kids so we could not enjoy the pool. one of the sisters really wanted a pool.

Read More
Read Less

Hotel needs some work

By

April 20, 2021

Hotel is outdated. Furnishing and carpet need updating. The old iPod clock is very outstated. The shower door would come off the track, the microwave didn't work and the fridge door had to be adjusted to get it to close.

Read More
Read Less

mixed review

By

April 20, 2021

club

Location is amazing! It's beachfront so what else can I say? I felt bad for the staff though. They mostly looked unhappy and grumpy. We didn't have the basics in our room (no extra tp, coffee supplies for only 2 people but 3 were in our reservation) so I had to ask (politely)- twice. The first person said "I'll try" and never got it done. The second person's response was "I get here for my shift and get all this" and pointed to a pile of notes or something. I'm not sure what's going on there but perhaps management can set these employees up for success so they are staffed properly and are equipped to help the guests.

Read More
Read Less

Nice location, poor room quality

By

April 19, 2021

club

This was a nice location on the boardwalk and right on the beach. Had decent experience in the bar area with very considerate bar tender. Food was good and staff friendly. We had to wait 3 hours before our room was ready after the 4pm checkin time. There was not sufficient staff to have the rooms ready in a timely manner. Once we got into the room there was a strange smell. Tried to change rooms but none were available. Balcony was nice overlooking the boardwalk and ocean. Could barely open the sliding door. Rooms are in big need for some upgrades. Supposed to stay two nights but left a day early due to poor room conditions.

Read More
Read Less

Room was in need of a good cleaning

By

April 15, 2021

club

The room was comfortable, but not very clean at all; I suppose that finding a pair of dirty underwear on the closet shelf crossed the line for me.

front desk staff were helpful and polite

Great location, very easy to walk to attractions

Read More
Read Less