Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Important Announcements
Read more Read Less

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Ottawa East

235 King Edward Avenue , Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7L8

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
88%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 347 reviews
88%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

347reviews

  • 5 Stars
    203
  • 4 Stars
    89
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    15

Quality price amazing

By

20 October 2020

Beaut Room and affordable price for last minute booking

Read More
Read Less

Pleasant stay, clean and bright rooms

By

20 October 2020

Overall stay was good. Breakfast choice could have been better and menu changed on daily basis as it gets repetitive for couple of days stay.

Read More
Read Less

Extremely clean and friendly service

By

18 October 2020

During this pandemic, great precautions were put in place to keep everyone safe. The bagged breakfast was a good balance of items. The room "smelled" fresh when we walked in and continued to do so when we would come back to the room. The TV was a good size and the cable TV also had a good selection of channels. The WiFi was very good also. I didn't have any problems with it. Other than traffic during the peak times, it was very quiet. There was a Good Shepherd close by, so there were some people cadging for money, but did not interfere with the hotel at all. The extra charge for the parking was very reasonable and safe. Close to highways.

Read More
Read Less

Great hotel but poor breakfast

By

18 October 2020

club

The hotel is great and the staff are accommodating. I only have 2 complaints. First being the breakfast. Not fresh and poor options.
Second being, I'm a frequent visitor to this hotel so it's a little frustrating that although I've clearly proven I take great care of my room I'm still charged a $250 deposit every single time. Even if I'm renting multiple rooms they charge a deposit on both. Which I find a little ridiculous.

Read More
Read Less

Great stay

By

17 October 2020

The location is good, the staff were very helpful with directions
and the hotel is very good. I will recommend this hotel and stay at my next visit.

Read More
Read Less

Nice Room

By

16 October 2020

Hotel rooms are nice. Employees at the hotel are welcoming. Security staff need customer service training.

Read More
Read Less

Parking was not free

By

14 October 2020

Site said parking was available. Didn’t say it was going to be charged. It was disappointing.
Microwave was not working. It took 1 night to fix it.

Read More
Read Less

Bon séjour dans ce nouvel hotel !

By

14 October 2020

club

J'ai apprécié séjourner dans un hôtel tout neuf avec une bonne insonorisation et un confort de haut niveau dans la chambre.

Read More
Read Less

Nice room

By

13 October 2020

We booked the leisure king room. Was really nice. We booked it last minute. The room was super clean. Was surprised that they had breakfast included in this pandemic time. The breakfast was a grab and go bag with orange juice, apple, croissant, peanut butter, jam

Read More
Read Less

If you looking for comfort and fun experience in a city like Ottawa, Its

By

11 October 2020

It's beautiful, check in was not up to 3mins ,check out was less than a minute. Great customer service ,beautiful views and building

Read More
Read Less

Great comfortable bed

By

10 October 2020

club

Hotel was great but had problem with noise from other guest’s room which lasted most of the night.

Read More
Read Less

Nice room, dishonest representation, shady location

By

10 October 2020

Booked through third party search, where hotel came up when searching for free parking and breakfast included. Called hotel to book direct as the IHG site says guaranteed best rate, price was 15% higher to book direct and would not even price match, so booked through third party. When we arrived, we were informed parking was not included. I informed them a major travel search engine had provided their hotel as free parking, and that it was unlikely this was the first time this had happened, and that it was their responsibility to correct this as it was dishonest representation. Front desk person would not outright admit it was a known issue, but said he had “Thought” he had heard this complaint before. Also learned breakfast was only a bagged breakfast, while I know other holiday inn express hotels were providing hot breakfasts. Also, if you aren’t down by 9:30, they will not provide your bagged breakfast. Also, hotel is adjacent to a large homeless shelter that must be passed if walking the few blocks to the Byward market or parliament. Huge homeless problem around hotel, used syringes littering sidewalks. Did not feel safe walking, especially at night. Room was modern and clean, sheets were pilled. As we had had to pay for parking, for only a few dollars more, we could have stayed in a large chain hotel closer to parliament/market, with hot breakfast (we ended up having to buy our breakfast as we missed the free bagged breakfast), in a much safer location. The hotel could have waived the parking cost and either provided the bagged breakfast or a breakfast voucher, but offered nothing. Our main reason for booking this hotel was the assumption of parking included (as this was a search criteria), and of having a hot breakfast included. This, combined with IHG not offering the best rate when booking direct (reason given: “we don’t have access to third party booking site rates”), leaves me feeling like this hotel has no issues knowingly using questionable business practices to obtain bookings. Obviously an inconsistency across the chain, as the hot breakfast included during COVID at their other hotels was not offered here, and was not updated in their hotel details. If booking today, I would book elsewhere.

Read More
Read Less