Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Algonquin

2595 Bunker Hill Drive , Algonquin, Illinois 60102

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
89%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 809 reviews
89%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

809reviews

  • 5 Stars
    523
  • 4 Stars
    174
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    32
  • 1 Stars
    35

Nice stay

By

July 30, 2020

club

Maria at the front desk made it great! Her customer Services was awesome. There wasn’t no hot breakfast, but you did get a grab an go bag.

Read More
Read Less

Great Weekend Stay

By

July 28, 2020

club

Great location, by lots of restaurants and stores. Staff was pleasant and room was perfect.... lots of towels and a/c was cranked up since it was almost 100 degrees that weekend. I will be back soon!

Read More
Read Less

Uncomfortable beds

By

July 27, 2020

club

The beds were not comfortable,
They could have been more comfortable.

Read More
Read Less

Won't stay here again. I feel like I was duped...

By

July 23, 2020

club

After spending a couple of weeks getting my property ready to sell, I decided to spend my last few nights in the area in this hotel - opted for the most expensive room - the "Whirlpool Suite." First off, I should have been suspicious when there was only ONE actual picture of the room (the 2nd picture on the site is NOT of this room type - (deceptive?)).

Outside the room: Grounds aren't well kept - weeds all over and what appear to be the maintenance workers staring at you while they smoke near their truck. Extremely strong odor as soon as you enter - chemical-like smell (not the pool) - like a "new material" smell, but stronger than anything like it I've smelled before. Housekeeping staff was not wearing masks while servicing rooms and working near their carts in the hall. Actually, I can't say that I remember any of the staff anywhere wearing masks.

Inside the room: Dated/old - overall dirty... Desk was broken - set my backpack on it and the whole thing felt like it was going to collapse (see pic). The whirlpool/"Jacuzzi" (should probably change the ad picture caption on the hotel's site, as that's a brand name and this isn't a "Jacuzzi") is old and dated - most of the chrome is destroyed/stained from improper cleaning. I never ended up using it because of the brown sludge I notice in the jets (see pic). They give you one bar of soap for the entire room, so if you have any intention of actually getting some bubbles going, be prepared to bring your own supplies. Big stain on the ceiling where a poorly done repair gives hints of water damage from above (see pic). Shower had some sort of dark colored substance along the door bottom (see pic). Bathroom mirror surround had water damage. Light switches look like they've never really been cleaned (see pic). The bed was comfortable and they actually use fitted bottom sheets, so everything stayed intact (so my feet weren't sitting directly on the mattress like other hotels who choose NOT to use fitted bottom sheets).

Front Desk Staff: The only employee I interfaced with at the front desk was courteous - no complaints there. Although I wonder why no hotels ask "how was your stay" anymore...

Housekeeping Staff: I stayed two nights and my room was never serviced by housekeeping (no, my "do not disturb" placard was NOT on my door the entire day - I was out of the room by 9AM and back at 9PM). Also, they don't appear to wear masks while they're in your room or working in the halls.

All in all, a pretty big disappointment. I feel like I was duped by intentional lack of pictures to help describe what the room is really like. My inability to use the whirlpool because of its cleanliness was disappointing and ultimately a waste of money. I'd recommend looking elsewhere if you need to stay in the area.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable Bed

By

July 22, 2020

Then bed is very comfortable, however some of the rooms do not include a mini-fridge which was surprising

Read More
Read Less

Less Service. Same Price.

By

July 14, 2020

Pretty expensive cold blueberry muffin and tiny bottle of water instead of an actual breakfast. TV did not work. Room 133 was run down. Still same price. No effort put forth at this place. Go elsewhere.

Read More
Read Less

Disgusting Do not stay here

By

July 10, 2020

club

dirty beyond gross. My husband wouldn't pack it up and leave or you would have seen smoke in my trail. The front desk clerk warned me the room "might be dirty because their housekeeping couldn't figure out their clean and dirty system" upon checkin. She also proceeded to tell me there woild be no coffee in the am and "you'll be lucky if you get a granola bar"! We didnt. Not only no coffee (some in the room and she was kind enough to give us extra) no bar of hand soap or anything else in the room. The lights weren't even on in the common area to sit. I would have used the coffee maker but the overall lack of cleanliness of the room made it impossible. Just disgusting. The common area garbages overflowed...I dreaded going back each day. Do not stay here.

Read More
Read Less

Not a good stay

By

July 08, 2020

club

Nothing! Wow, dirty. Got checked in and received a room that hadn’t been cleaned. Moved to another room with torn towels and a broken toilet handle.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and quick service!

By

July 07, 2020

The stay was lovely, our bed was so comfortable we stayed in it most of the time. We called down for a few things and they were brought up to us with in minutes of calling. Employees are friendly!

Read More
Read Less

terrible

By

July 02, 2020

the room was not very clean. The outlet the TV was connected to was not working. The jacuzzi was dirty and looked broken. The toilet was broken the bathroom was dirty. The fridge did not work and the fridge door was hanging on by one hinge

Read More
Read Less

RECENT STAY

By

July 01, 2020

Well I think the review iprodess is to long
Make it shorter

Read More
Read Less

comfortable bed and great services

By

June 27, 2020

nice relaxing nice location and place to park truck very nice night crew

Read More
Read Less