Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Algonquin

2595 Bunker Hill Drive , Algonquin, Illinois 60102

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
83%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 947 reviews
83%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

947reviews

  • 5 Stars
    563
  • 4 Stars
    195
  • 3 Stars
    71
  • 2 Stars
    50
  • 1 Stars
    68

Slightly overpriced

By

June 28, 2022

Everything was decent enough. Bed was comfy but some things were not thoroughly cleaned such as A/C controls and curtains.

Read More
Read Less

Never Again

By

June 28, 2022

My husband and I stayed at this location from June 15th - 19th to attend a memorial service in the area.
1. They had a sewer break multiple times while we were there. This resulted in the entire hotel reeking of sewage for 3 days.
2. The air conditioner in our room had never been used. This resulted in a chemical smell in our room for 2 days of our stay.
3. On our 2nd day we noticed our room had not been cleaned. We inquired and were told we had to request it. We were not told this at check in at all. We then requested it for the next day. If we had not been at the hotel the next day it still would not have been done as housekeeping skipped our room entirely. We had to go to the front desk and remind them.
4. No coffee pot in room. We notified the front desk that we didn't have a coffee maker in our room. They insisted we did. We called again after double checking and told them that we didn't have one. They finally brought one to us.
5. The cards and locks throughout the hotel were malfunctioning. Ourselves and numerous other hotel guests were constantly having to get our keys reactivated because they would quit working. Staff tried to claim we were demagnetizing them but couldn't explain how since we were keeping the key cards in our wallets. Additionally, staff couldn't even get the door to the pool to open. They had to go outside, access the area from the outside door and then prop the inner door open.
4. Workout equipment was very old and squeaky.
5. Hot tub had a ring of scum around it

I called customer service about these issues and was told that the manager of the hotel would reach out to me. That was on June 17th and I still have not received a call to date.

Read More
Read Less

Worn down!

By

June 28, 2022

club

This property is in need of some major updates! There are stains on the carpet in the rooms, the halls have a weird smell, and beds majorly dip on the side closest to the night stand. It didn’t feel clean, the bathroom floor was sticky and there was a fig Newton in our air conditioner! We reserved 2 rooms with fridges/ microwaves and neither room had them, the only redeeming quality was the front desk attendant was super nice even though I could tell she was having a rough day!

Read More
Read Less

Nice

By

June 17, 2022

Convenient location for us. My only complaint is that there are no USB ports in the room. Otherwise the stay was perfect. I always get value staying at a IHG property and I love the consistency and quality of service and amenities.

Read More
Read Less

Very clean

By

June 14, 2022

Very clean and comfortable beds. Quiet, right off randall road making it very convenient to all the things to do in the area. Hot tub was not functioning

Read More
Read Less

Disappointed Platinum Member! for the 2nd time!

By

June 01, 2022

club

Both times I have stayed at this hotel (and we are Platinum Members) have been rough. I would not recommend this location at all. I am actually taking the time to write the review because I was so disappointed in the stay. There are other locations near this one...go there.

Read More
Read Less

Poor food

By

May 24, 2022

The quality of the food was poor. Items were mislabeled. Empty food offerings were not refilled in a timely manner. Something as basic as sugar was not available in the coffee area. Dirty tables were left unclean. I could go on, but I don’t want to relive the experience any further.

Read More
Read Less

Northwest Illinois Visit

By

May 23, 2022

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Algonquin, Il and the location was perfect with easy access to the Hotel. This was a very clean and comfortable hotel and we enjoyed our stay while visiting family and friends in the area. The staff did an excellent job and always had a smile for the guests.

Read More
Read Less

A solid travellers hotel

By

April 26, 2022

While I didn't partake in the breakfast, my room had the perfect layout, a small sink, decent sized mini fridge.
Great location for my business trip.
Staff was accommodating and professional.

The hotel overall is next to a school, but I experienced no issues due to that proximity.

The hotel overall is a bit dated, and could use a refresh, but everything worked perfectly, so.....

This is not a hotel for a get away with children, but a good location for business travellers enroute.

Excellent proximity to grocery stores and restaurants.

Would recommend this location.

Read More
Read Less

Hotel was very out dated

By

March 22, 2022

platinumelite

Hotel was very outdated and needed more consideration to the customer's overall stay. It was hard to tell if the employees were guests, or working there. Everything was very informal, employees were wearing Victoria's Secret 'Pink' clothing to work. ? One younger girl with long dark/black hair was dressed professionally in all black and did a nice job.
The dresser in the room was split down the side. My blow dryer didn't work, and my ironing board hardly stood up. It kept tipping over from the weight of the iron and the iron kept falling on the floor. Luckily I didn't burn my hand reaching for it. All of my outlets didn't work, and the light on the desk didn't work. (That's helpful for getting work done!) When I checked in they sent me to room 205. I lugged my suitcases all the way up there and the door wouldn't open. I had to lug my suitcases all the way down stairs again and get a new room and keys. There were two main light switches when you walked into the room, only one of them worked.

Read More
Read Less

Room

By

December 08, 2021

Will stay there in the future. Great service. Room was excellent.

Read More
Read Less

Poor value

By

December 06, 2021

Although the check in and breakfast staff was very nice, the “hotel” was lacking. From a cheap dresser drawer that wouldn’t stay closed to particle board furniture to mouse droppings on the room conditioner, the room certainly wasn’t worth what was spent. There is a surprise $75 charge taken at check-in for incidentals, whatever that might have been, then refunded at check-out. Few hotels in the area meant a limited selection.

Read More
Read Less