Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West

538 West 48th Street , New York, New York 10036

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
89%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 1587 reviews
89%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1587reviews

  • 5 Stars
    936
  • 4 Stars
    416
  • 3 Stars
    108
  • 2 Stars
    60
  • 1 Stars
    67

Great location but could be better

By

August 11, 2022

This particular hotel needs more staff, it always looks like they're overwhelmed. They're friendly and helpful to their best of their abilities
The breakfast area is always heavily crowded and there's not enough food or seating for everybody
The rooms are small and the plumbing is bad, also the AC leaks a little bit, making the carpet wet

Read More
Read Less

Very good with a couple of glitches.

By

August 11, 2022

The shower was tricky. Had to call to find how it works. The box for the t.v. was hidden and I couldn't change the stations. Lots of people in the elevators and breakfast,which is good for you but somewhat difficult for me. But it's NYC and I take that into consideration. Staff was excellent. Problems were solved. No big difficulties.

Read More
Read Less

Baja calidad del personal

By

August 09, 2022

Lamentablemente el personal no está capacitado para dar un servicio apropiado a los huéspedes. La manager se desentiende rápido a pesar de ser preguntada directamente, lo que impide que de soluciones.
La noche previa al check out se me presentó una urgencia con el candado de mi maleta pues se cerró cuando ya había perdido la llave. No podía abrirla y mi vuelo salía temprano al día siguiente. Lo comuniqué al sr William de recepción quien solo atinó a decir que "el ingeniero podía ayudar pero no llegaba sino hasta el día siguiente y no tenía su teléfono". Por suerte, el sr Tony, de mantenimiento, se apareció pasada las 9 de la noche en recepción cuando seguía tratando de explicar mi urgencia. Tony entendió todo, sacó sus herramientas y abrió el candado. Es decir, mi problema se arregló por una casualidad, no porque el sr de recepción pusiera interés en ayudar. La solución estaba en el mismo hotel! y no la buscaron.
La primera noche me falló el control de la tv, subieron a cambiarlo, tampoco funcionó. Me dijeron que espere que venían con otro pero me dejaron esperando y nunca volvieron.
En general, al hotel le falta orden, el primer piso está desordenado y lleno de cajas que dan mala imagen.

Read More
Read Less

Stay away hotel

By

August 08, 2022

Our room was very uncomfortable because the AC was very loud and people kept knocking on our door in error.

Read More
Read Less

Crowded with damp rooms

By

August 03, 2022

platinumelite

I stayed here on a Friday night. Understandably the hotel was busy, but I tried two rooms and both were very damp smelling. Mold was visibly growing on a lampshade in one of the rooms. Poor upkeep of this hotel, and I'm surprised it is in the IHG group.

Read More
Read Less

Terrible Horrible Stay

By

August 01, 2022

The property is definitely not recommended. Infested with bed bugs

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed with Unprofessional staff

By

August 01, 2022

Check in Experience : the reception has only one receptionist if there are 3-4 guest to checkin in same time u can wait a lot , avoid to make late reservation u may not able to take your room as they not have room service at late night to clean your room .

Room : The best thing is the bed it is comfy and clean . Room small and furniture is basic and outdated .

Sleep quality : if your room near elevator or near house keeping station u will be in trouble , house keeping staff speak very loudly u will hear lot of stories .

Bath room : small and need lot of maintenance.see the photos .

Lobby : Small and very basic .

Restaurant: Good chairs and tables , serving some breakfast food . The good thing is coffee station all the day .

Staff : Very Rude or May be they hate tourists . Reception staff ( except the manager ) very un professional need tons of training to be more customer oriented

Avoid check in or try to solve any problem during reception shift change they will neglect you and your request will be transferred to morning shift .
Example (1)
At 11 pm I had a request from reception, she told me hurry told me what u need exactly as my husband waiting outside as it is end of my shift .
Example (2)
Need a 2nd room to my family , and the room is open to book at ihg application , at 11 pm went to reception to make the reservation online and check in , they told me even u make reservation now u will not get your room as no house keeping available to clean. I left the hotel at midnight to anther hotel to sleep .

Management: the manger at the morning is very professional and she will try to solve your problem.She follow up with me by phone after I make a complain at ihg customer service and tried to solve my issue .

Management try there best to reopen after COVID restriction lifted , but need to be ready from day 1 specially in basic things .

Location : 11-13 Min walking to time square , some convenience store 5 min walk hotel street is very narrow and I feel un safer around the hotel streets .

Don’t try to solve any problem or request any thing by phone while u outside the hotel , I tried twice the receptionists told me when u come here we can serve u .

Summery :

Area to improve:
1-staff training to be more customer oriented, specially at reception.
2- Two receptionists rather than one specially at daytime
3- house keeping staff at night .
4- Hotel maintenance ( bath rooms , furniture , delayed elevator )
5- corridors floor need to be cleaned regularly.
6- solve late reservation and room availability at ihg application
7- Reduce the noise from house keeping staff during there morning shift .

Area done Good :

1- Reception manager
2- bed clean and comfy
3-fast check out

Read More
Read Less

Very poor

By

July 31, 2022

platinumelite

The hotel is under construction and it was not mentioned when I reserved th room.
The stuff are not friendly and always something was missing in the breakfast.
I am asking to refunds some of the points I paid because of the bad experiance.

Read More
Read Less

Juan Smola Review

By

January 05, 2021

The stay was not pleasant, I traveled with my family, my three daughters and wife. Dirty rooms, poor cleaning service. They did not place the cafe ninge in the room, you had to call to remember it. When I hired the rooms they promised breakfast included and this was a lie and the price of the rooms the same

Read More
Read Less

Great service

By

December 31, 2020

Everything was good, love the good attention they gave.

Read More
Read Less

Good place

By

December 28, 2020

Good room, everything seemed clean which is particularly important these days. Only many concern was the different noises coming from outside the door as we were by a vending machine and there was high traffic in that area of the building.

Read More
Read Less

Overall, excellent customer service and accommodations.

By

December 27, 2020

The staff and room was excellent. I would recommend getting some sort of parking voucher for the guests who have cars. Example, parking lots. Get a voucher for 50-75% per/day vouchers.

Read More
Read Less