Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
87%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 928 reviews
87%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

928reviews

  • 5 Stars
    405
  • 4 Stars
    309
  • 3 Stars
    114
  • 2 Stars
    67
  • 1 Stars
    33

comfortable bed

By

July 20, 2017

club

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The air conditioning/heater unit did not work so the temperature bounced around from comfortable to uncomfortable and back. We were given a fan to help.the location was excellent. It was within walking distance to many historical places.

Read More
Read Less

Good quality, convenient and nice staff

By

July 20, 2017

Excellent location for holiday Portsmouth, very convenient to all the facilities and naval attractions. Good quality hotel, good parking arrangemt and nice helpful staff.

Read More
Read Less

Efficient staff, comfortable stay

By

July 19, 2017

Very efficient service, staff friendly and sorted any issues out before our arrival and on our arrival too. Informative too. Rooms great, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast far better than previous stay. Lots of choice and replenished frequently.

Read More
Read Less

Be prepared !

By

July 18, 2017

club

Great location for visiting friends and family and being surrounded by shops and restaurants. Sadly this property is vastly overpriced and I cannot justify the expense - even for the location.

Breakfast is a horrendous experience and we ended up going out on the second morning.

However we must say all the staff here are EXCELLENT. Very polite, helpful and happy !

Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

July 16, 2017

club

Great for a short stay. Location excellent for the Historic dockyard

Read More
Read Less

Perfect place to stay to shop and relax

By

July 15, 2017

club

Ideal proximity to the shopping oultlet and a wide array of restaurants.
The beds are comfortable and the breakfast was of very good quality. If you are looking for a short break in Portsmouth, stay here.

Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

July 15, 2017

club

Great Location for shops and to Wightlink.
Staff welcoming on arrival. Lovely newly refurbished breakfast area.
Just need to change beds especially the pull out sofas

Read More
Read Less

Very good experience

By

July 15, 2017

Very pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth. The location is perfect to visit Gunwarf Quays and the historic area. The members of staff have been very helpfull and nice with us. I recommand this hotel and we will come back soon.

Read More
Read Less

Great location,great service and clean

By

July 14, 2017

club

Had a great stay at the holiday in express gun wharf quay's have stayed before and will stay again

Read More
Read Less

Great Location for business or leisure.

By

July 12, 2017

platinumelite

Ideally located, this hotel is relaxing. But if you want want shopping, eating and drinking, this is all within 1 minutes walk from the hotel. It's a very clean hotel with modern standards and a great breakfast to start the day.

Read More
Read Less

Great Location

By

July 11, 2017

club

During our stay we received fantastic service from all the staff and a good breakfast, However the beds gave myself and my partner backache and I feel the beds should be of a better quality. I stayed in this hotel due to its location and I completely understand why it is fairly expensive but I feel more could of been done to improve the hotel guests nights sleep and comfort.

Read More
Read Less

Great Location

By

July 10, 2017

The hotel is in a great location for visiting Gunwharf Quays (shops and bars/restaurants) and the Historic Dockyard - both of which are just a few minutes walk from the hotel.

Unless I missed it, the exit from the car park does not make it obvious which direction you walk in to find the hotel entrance and it was by pure luck that I happened to head in the right direction. The car park exit - that I used - was approximately 5-10 minutes walk and with a reasonable amount of baggage is not ideal for getting up/down the escalators and/or steps.

The entrance to the hotel appears to be round the back, rather than on the main thoroughfair and therefore can be quite easily missed.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful and my room, whilst clean and tidy, overlooked the entrance to the car park, so not a great view but mostly quiet. It was good that the windows opened as I prefer this to using air conditioning.

The room felt a little dated - for example the desk chair had a small threadbare patch on it.

Overall if I were visiting the area again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there, nor would I hesitate to recommend it. It probably needs a bit of an update, but for a single night it was okay.

Read More
Read Less