Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
85%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 1272 reviews
85%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1272reviews

  • 5 Stars
    727
  • 4 Stars
    291
  • 3 Stars
    118
  • 2 Stars
    79
  • 1 Stars
    57

Great hotel, best bed!!!

By

June 29, 2022

Enjoyed my recent stay. Had been on the road all day and was ready for a good nights sleep. Study and cozy sheets, super comfortable bed!!! I didn't want to get up in the morning. The noon check out time let me be relaxed and in the morning and not stress having to leave. Was able to get some work done before getting back in the road. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were awesome.

Read More
Read Less

read above

By

June 20, 2022

read my issues false advertisement.... no restaurant and no breakfast and no bar. very disappointed in this place and no compensation was made whatsoever. Read my explanation in the previous questions. Would no stay here again and would never recommend it to anyone. We plan on staying in Charlottesville for all future reunions but not at this place.

Read More
Read Less

Great staff

By

June 15, 2022

We had a very positive experience at the Charlottesville University Holiday Inn. The bedding was extremely comfortable. The shower was so nice that my husband now wants to track down a similar shower head for
our home. The breakfast was very good and we're glad we arranged to add that when we made our
reservation.

Read More
Read Less

Great location great service

By

June 13, 2022

We were greeted by friendly staff upon arrival. The hotel and guest room was very clean. The staff was very accommodating. We enjoyed the outside patio which was easily accessible and also very clean.

Read More
Read Less

Great location, Friendly Service

By

June 06, 2022

We have stayed at the University location a few times now, and plan for several future visits. It's location is close to campus, with great surrounding places for food, shop, r anything else. Only issues we have encountered is it seems one elevator is not working, and the other one is super slow.

I also learned that this location offers breakfast in its restaurant, but doesn't have a breakfast buffet as it is not a Holiday Inn Express (didn't realize this was a thing).

Read More
Read Less

gone downhill

By

May 13, 2022

I have stayed at this property numerous times without any issue, but my recent stay at Holiday Inn University Charlottesville may be my last.

My room was missing a light bulb in the desk lamp and a battery in the thermostat. The man at the front desk sent the maintenance man to fix those things but I still couldn't get the air condition unit to kick in, even though the thermostat seemed to be working. So when I approached the man at the desk he told me, "If you are looking for problems, you will find problems." Oh. No. He. Didn't.

I think I'm entitled to a working AC and a working desk lamp. The disrespect was uncalled for.

Other general things that I didn't like were the lack of furniture in the room. There was no bench or luggage rack so I had to balance my suitcase on the little ottoman. Also, the garbage in the laundry room was overflowing out into the hallway for over 24 hours. Kind of disgusting.

I must say the the maintenance man who came to the room was very polite and professional. That's about it. The manager called to apologize and promised me some compensation in the form of points but a month and a half later, no points and no reply to email.

So for these reasons I will stay at other properties when I travel to Charlottesville.

Read More
Read Less

Better days before

By

May 09, 2022

Not a good place if you want breakfast included. No tea and no cream in lobby. Garbage near coffee. Dog in lobby. Tub needed cleaning. Bed is comfortable. TV didn't work initially. Storm reported as reason.

Read More
Read Less

The Perfect Weekend

By

May 09, 2022

So clean, so quiet and extremely friendly and hospitable staff. Made me feel at home!!!!!

Read More
Read Less

Location

By

May 03, 2022

Good proximity to the university and downtown areas. Right off route 29 near barracks road shopping center.
Close distance to bodos and raising canes

Read More
Read Less

Bar closed earlier than 9am as well as food service. Beer taps and lines were dirty, could get a proper draft beer poured. Bartender was terrible!

By

May 03, 2022

Terrible service by bar tender. Too busy prepping to close poor service and knowledge of bar etiquette.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable Stay

By

December 20, 2021

platinumelite

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was spotless, the bed very comfortable and provided a choice of pillow firmness. The kitchenette was convenient for preparing snacks and having a refrigerator with a small freezer was a benefit.

Read More
Read Less

Bad service

By

December 18, 2021

Waited over an hour for food I never received but was charged for it

Read More
Read Less