Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
91%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 358 reviews
91%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

358reviews

  • 5 Stars
    207
  • 4 Stars
    98
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    9

Brilliant hotel

By

August 08, 2016

The hotel is modern and fresh, the staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are lovely, most have good views of the surrounding countryside. The food is excellent and good value, you can get a 3 course meal and a drink and still have change from £25. Probably the best Holiday Inn I've stayed in in the UK.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 10, 2016
Dear Winter Wiccan, Thank you for the fantastic five star review, it is great to receive good feedback and share with the hotel team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Pat MacInnes General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Very Homely and comfortable

By

August 06, 2016

The hotel is excellent, all the staff are friendly and helpful. Although the dinner menu is limited and quality of the food and service is very good. I will use this as my base when working in this area in the future

Read More
Read Less

darlington

By

August 06, 2016

club

friendly and helpful staff, clean, quiet and well equipped room.

Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel great touring location.

By

July 30, 2016

club

Excellent location for visiting south Durham region by car. The hotel is a Very Good Holiday Inn. The areas adjacent to the hotel is a small service station and no other outside amenities within walking distance. Don't let that put you off. The area has much to offer and this hotel lets you unwind after a hard days sight seeing. Kybnren is a must see so book your show tickets and hotel now.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 05, 2016
Dear Peterh96, Many thanks for the fantastic 5 star review you left of your recent stay. We are all so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find us to be a great hotel to stay in when touring around the Durham area. County Durham has many fantastic attractions whether you are here to see the amazing Kynren historical show, take in the beautiful city of Durham or just here to enjoy the gorgeous countryside. This area really does have it all and we are always proud to welcome people to it. We hope that you will come back to stay with us again. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Stay on pleasure in July spire member

By

July 30, 2016

Stayed here to visit family for weekend. Rooms ok and breakfast was fine although some of the hot Buffett food could have done with replacing for late morning starters at the weekend (beans had a thick skin on them, and bacon was v.dry)
My only main gripe was according to IHG this has come up on my account as a non qualifying stay with no IHG points even though I booked it with the IHG app and paid cash. WHY ??

Posted byHotelStaff
August 05, 2016
Dear Insomniac for the night, Thank you for your kind comments. We always take on board the points that our guests leave us so that we can improve on our service and facilities. We were very concerned to hear that you did not receive your points for your recent stay. We have investigated this and have made sure that your account has been credited with 5000 points to cover the points which were not added automatically by our system. Please always let us know if you have any problems of this type as we are always happy to make sure that you receive the points you are entitled to. We hope to see you back again in the future. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Service

By

July 25, 2016

From the moment I arrived at the hotel I felt there was a very friendly and welcoming feel. The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and efficient, and the service I received was excellent.

The quality of the food both for evening dinner and breakfast was excellent, however if there is just one small point, there could be a better variety of food options for the evening menu.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 27, 2016
Dear Trout20, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Your lovely comments mean a lot to us all here at the hotel. We are delighted that you found our service to be excellent, this is such a wonderful compliment to receive. With regards to our evening menu this is due to be updated at the beginning of August. We hope that we can welcome you back again. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager
Read More
Read Less

More like an Express by Holiday Inn

By

July 23, 2016

The hotel is not your usual full service Holiday Inn; in my opinion the conversion from the independent hotel 2years ago to a Holiday Inn wasn't the best decision.

The rooms are a good size, comfortable, clean, and come with most of the facilities you'd expect.

However, the bathroom was tiny with a tacky plastic shower cubicle like a budget hotel would have, every Holiday Inn I've stayed in (UK and USA) have a bath?

The Air Conditioning unit looks like it's very old and not replaced on the refurb. It doesn't work; making the stay extremely uncomfortable. Avoid in the summer. Would be a lovely hotel in the cooler weather.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 27, 2016
Dear Andrew 1902, Thank you for your comments it is always great to hear from a seasoned Holiday Inn traveller. We are sorry that you did not like the bathroom facilities that we provide. Though it is not a Holiday Inn standard for every room to have a bath our executive rooms do have this facility if this is your preference. We are always happy to take peoples preferences in to consideration when allocating rooms, when we are advised of them. Please always let us know and we will be happy to help where possible. I note that you stayed during the hottest period we have had in many years wherein the mercury hit 30c in the area. We apologise that our system was not able to handle these extremes but during more normal summer temperatures we do not experience such challenges. Thank you for your kind comment that we would be a lovely hotel in cooler weather. This means a lot to us as all constructive feedback such as you have posted helps us to improve the facilities and services we provide. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager
Read More
Read Less

A relaxing night

By

July 20, 2016

club

We used the hotel as a base after visiting family during the day and attending the nearby Kynren event. The hotel was to a high standard and very clean, staff were welcoming and friendly and we enjoyed a good quiet nights sleep, followed by a excellent full english breakfast. Will return again if in the area.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 27, 2016
Dear Cliff54, Thank you so much for the great 5 star review. It is brilliant to hear that you found our hotel to be of a high standard. We are really happy that you came to stay with us while attending Kynren. The event itself is massively impressive so we are glad that we were able to finish off your break with a relaxing night. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Not the standard you expect from a Holiday Inn

By

July 15, 2016

platinumelite

The room was fine .. simple but clean and comfortable.

The food at breakfast was extremely limited and not of a great quality. If any extras where offered (like ppached eggs) then it was not made clear.

Hardly any bacon left and fried eggs. Bread was normal sliced .. no cold stuff apart from cereal.

Nice mushrooms !!

Dinner menu is limited and if you are hungry - not great in terms of portions or quality. Very disappointing after a long day in the road and not what I expected.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 20, 2016
Dear mc220, Thank you for your feedback. We are so disappointed to hear that you were not happy with our breakfast buffet. This is an area we are often complimented on so your comments came as a surprise. Please be assured that we value your feedback and will use this to make improvements wherever we can. Kind Regards Pat Macinnes General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Super Hotel. Klasse Service

By

July 11, 2016

Sehr schönes Hotel mit einem spitzen Personal.
Einzig die etwas angeschimmelte Decke im Badezimmer trübt die Gesamterfahrung.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 14, 2016
Dear Lynos1988, Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed your comment regards the bathroom ceiling to our Maintenance team who will look into this. Thank you for letting us know. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Business Stay Away

By

July 09, 2016

platinumelite

A very pleasant stay with a speedy and efficient service in the restaurant. Comfortable sleep with access to the mini gym being a bonus

Posted byHotelStaff
July 12, 2016
Dear meastroinsky, Many thanks for the 5 star review. We are all pleased to hear that your time with us was very pleasant, Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn Darlington

By

July 05, 2016

club

Excellent accommodation; friendly, welcoming and helpful staff; good restaurant service.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 12, 2016
Dear CDKJAK, Thank you for the lovely comments. They are most appreciated by all at the hotel. Kid Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager
Read More
Read Less