Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
90%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 1195 reviews
90%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1195reviews

  • 5 Stars
    710
  • 4 Stars
    310
  • 3 Stars
    85
  • 2 Stars
    61
  • 1 Stars
    29

A conveniently located stoppping place

By

June 29, 2021

Reception and other staff very friendly and helpful. Hygiene was excellent.

Read More
Read Less

hotel stay

By

June 28, 2021

Nice and Comfortable Hotel and ease to get on the A1M home

Read More
Read Less

Clean Comfortable Room and excellent service

By

June 27, 2021

Lovely clean comfortable room
Extremely friendly and helpful staff who responded quickly to my requests
Good breakfast and evening meal options, tasty food.

Read More
Read Less

Mr Majoros

By

June 27, 2021

Good price and location, great food. It was a little bit hard to find the hotel but I can recommend this place.

Read More
Read Less

Not as good as previously experienced

By

June 25, 2021

As a Spire Elite member I have always experienced a terrific stay in Darlington North.
This time no welcome letter, no welcome treats in the room, no bathrobes, no slippers, no extra pillows and I had to request a second bath towel and hand towel for my wife
No daily room service - only on request.
Breakfast with the regular chef was great as usual - when he was not on duty the standard dropped!

Read More
Read Less

5* all round

By

June 25, 2021

Amanda in the restaurant was great and looked after us very well.
Was very disappointed the the hearing in the room did not work at all although I did not report it until we checked out.

Read More
Read Less

Good value on booking. com site compared to IHG site

By

June 24, 2021

Good stop off point on travel north. Excellent staff. Good food

Read More
Read Less

Not fantastic

By

June 23, 2021

Air con and heating didn’t work
No toddler bed on arrival at bed time as pre arranged
Sink mechanism blocked so unable to drain

Read More
Read Less

A great central abase for exploring

By

June 23, 2021

Good staff, courteous, helpful and friendly.neither good awareness of covid requirements,
Good location for exploring the Durham area.
Excellent service throughout our stay. Super breakfast, didn’t need lunch any day.
I wouldn’t hesitate to return and would recommend the hotel to friends.

Read More
Read Less

Nice stay

By

June 22, 2021

club

The staff when you could find them were very friendly. The bar prices are quite high and service low (had to wander round to find staff). Breakfast was good, small portions and a miserable person serving. Rooms very clean and comfortable.

Read More
Read Less

One night stop

By

June 16, 2021

Stopped for one night on way to Scotland. Excellent hotel, staff really friendly and helpful, We had our little dog with us and no problems there, ground floor room with easy access.
We had the evening meal in our room, 3 courses for £22 great value, just easier with the dog but you can sit in the lounge with your dog and eat just not restaurant area.
Room was excellent, large comfy bed, shower was huge with toiletries. Cold beer and wine in the bar, easy road access.
Usual petrol station and fast food outlets near hotel. Must stress, no overnight noise from the area etc. Will definitely stop again as great value.

Read More
Read Less

Fantastic staff and everybody friendly

By

June 16, 2021

The staff who were on shift made our stay very enjoyable. We were staying as a couple with our greyhound. The girl on reception was just amazing (shift 3-11pm) and the lady behind the bar was so friendly. I would recommend to all.

Read More
Read Less