Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Athens

1819 Holiday Drive , Athens, Tennessee 37303

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
92%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.6

based on 800 reviews
92%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

800reviews

  • 5 Stars
    572
  • 4 Stars
    153
  • 3 Stars
    36
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    16

Room and Hallway reminded us of a wet dog

By

September 21, 2020

Staff was great. No exhaust fan in the bathroom and the hallway and room smelled like a wet dog

Read More
Read Less

Great for a clean and comfortable place to sleep

By

September 20, 2020

club

The good:

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room temperature was very warm when I checked in, but the thermostat had it cooled down quicker than I imagined it would be. The staff was friendly.

The bad: due to Covid-19, the pools are closed, the gyms are closed, breakfast no-longer includes hot foods or much to choose from. We had the option of muffins, yogurt, cereal or fruit. The tv channels were limited, and there was no option to log into my Netflix or Hulu account.

Overview: If you are looking for a clean and comfy place to sleep- this is it. If you want entertainment such as swimming, working out, or watch tv or movies- look someplace else.

Read More
Read Less

Sprinkler Line Bust

By

September 18, 2020

club

Overall the stay would have been decent but this location needs to get their sprinkler system fixed. I was told by another hotel in the region that it was not the first time their pipes had burst.

Read More
Read Less

Overall great place

By

September 15, 2020

club

I am disappointed that there is still limited breakfast items. The staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel is clean.

Read More
Read Less

The most uncomfortable bed

By

September 15, 2020

The bed needs to be replaced. The bed and the room being clean are the most important things when you stay at a hotel. The was horrible. When you first get in the bed it made a horrible know. it was the box springs. It looked like it was broke when you get in bed. And the bed had big indentions where people have been sleeping. It was so uncomfortable that I had to try to sleep on the middle hump which was uncomfortable also just not as bad as the 2 sides where you would normally sleep on a king bed when there are 2 people. I will not be staying there again.

Read More
Read Less

Maintenance

By

September 13, 2020

club

The toilet ran and was hard to flush
At one point there was no hot water to the shower
WiFi did not reach my room very well so I was unable to do work
Room had stale cigarette smell
Housekeeping never once serviced my room

Read More
Read Less

Extraordinary Service!!!

By

September 12, 2020

This was our second time staying here. As a former hotelier, I believe the attitude of the hotel staff is a reflection of the manager. This could not be more true. This property always goes WAY out of their way to accommodate us.

Each staff member seems as though they were all hand-picked for competence and attitude. This is the way to run a hotel.

Kudos! We'll be back!

Read More
Read Less

Hard pass here for me

By

September 10, 2020

Was not notified prior to booking that the pool was closed down. Had no time to book another hotel once we arrived due to timely obligations. We were roomed directly next to a storage unit on the 3rd floor and a machine of some sort vibrated on and off all night and kept us awake. Called night staff that didn't want to hear anything I had to say but wanted to move my sleeping family to a new room. The soap dish was ripped off the bathroom wall exposing underneath. There was 2 squirts of conditioner in the bathroom. The breakfast was more than terrible. No one bothered to say good morning. Ice machine broke on the 3rd floor. I'll take a hard pass.

Read More
Read Less

hotel stay

By

September 03, 2020

club

Great overall. Your put out too many towels in the room.

Read More
Read Less

Poorly handled situation

By

September 01, 2020

We were on a long journey with two children and two elderly guests, so just wanted to relax and rest. After arrival, the fire alarm went off. We all waited outside in the sun for around 30 minutes, then were given the all clear. Upon getting to our room, we were called by the employee working and told the entire hotel's water would be shut off for "about an hour". We needed showers, bathrooms, and rest, but could not take a shower or even use the bathroom for over 2 hours! I called IHG to point out the problem, but was not told anything. Furthermore, the hotel staff was poorly trained and said, "It's not like I wanted this to happen"--no discount offered, no offer to move us next door to another hotel, no remorse, and no mask worn (I have a picture).

I have a friend who works in the city's Water Department, and he called the hotel and discovered the issue for the water problem--a sprinkler issue. He pointed out to the employee that night that the sprinkler water was on a separate line from the rooms' bathroom water, so there was not a need to shut everything off. He was told that, "I'm just following what I was told."

A portion of my bill was discounted the next morning when I asked the morning desk staff (who was wearing a mask), but not even an apology was given.

Read More
Read Less

Great Staff and Service

By

August 24, 2020

platinumelite

The Holiday Inn Express in Athens provided me with an excellent and comfortable stay. The front desk associate Kristen was incredible!! She was helpful and attentive in every way and I appreciated her greatly!! If all IHG employee's were like her, all other hotels would go out of business because no one would stay anywhere else.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent stay - Double Billed for room, tho

By

August 20, 2020

club

I am a consistent business traveler.
One of the best hotels as far as accommodations.
But for... arriving home and the credit card has been double-billed for a one-night business stay.

Read More
Read Less