Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Birchwood Road, Off Ipswich Road A12 (Southbound Shell Garage) , Colchester, CO7 6HS

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
87%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 1714 reviews
87%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1714reviews

  • 5 Stars
    897
  • 4 Stars
    514
  • 3 Stars
    155
  • 2 Stars
    74
  • 1 Stars
    74

Holiday Inn Express Colchester

By

July 30, 2021

Comfortable bed and great breakfast. Bedroom was very hot and the air con didn’t seem to cool it down.

Read More
Read Less

Never again

By

July 29, 2021

Dirty rooms, too hot and temperature control did not work. Awful room service experience. Child treated poorly by staff, smell of sewage in the car park and close to rooms. Underwear on the floor at the entrance to hotel

Read More
Read Less

Excellent value for money

By

July 29, 2021

An extremely clean and comfortable room with a super shower. The staff in the hotel are friendly.

The included in the price of the stay buffet breakfast is plentiful with a good dejection of choices. Excellent!

Try and ask for an upstairs room rather than a gloomy downstairs room. We had a problem with a shower light in a downstairs room which was responded to immediately and thankfully we were given a room change to an upper room which was 100% pleasanter.

Read More
Read Less

Perfect stay

By

July 29, 2021

Everything was great
Fab breakfast
Comfortable bed
Lovely friendly staff
Definitely worth a visit great location

Read More
Read Less

Mostly good but

By

July 29, 2021

All ok except that meal served in bar was not as described on the menu, and staff did not warn us about thAt.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed, enjoyable stay once we found the hotel.

By

July 27, 2021

When the sign for the hotel is removed /hidden by reconstruction work on a service area in front of it, (the hotel is hidden from the road) it really does not take much thought to erect a temporary sign, we only found the hotel by accident when we pulled off onto a building site having passed it on a fast road twice and had to return twice from the next junction to look for the hotel.
A really annoying start to our stay and an unnecessary annoyance if anyone involved with Holiday Inns had actually bothered to realise that all signage on the approach to the hotel was missing.

Read More
Read Less

Uncomfortable, hot

By

July 26, 2021

Would not recommend. We spent an hour and 15mins driving in circles because the car and phone say navs went to different places and didnt take us to the holiday inn. It was poorly signed from the road. The lady at reception said that happens to everyone. During this time we called the hotel who did not answer.
Then we had no travel cot in the room so went to reception to get one. Then the air con wasnt working. When we told reception they knew and just said we could borrow a fan. They didnt seem sorry.
When checking in they said food was served till 930 but when we ordered at 920(having been massively delayed by the above) we were told food is served till 930 bit last orders are at 915 so we would be unable to get food but could drive to McDonald's. Having a one year old all this disruption meant that she was over tired and hot so didnt sleep well, so none of us did.
The bed was awful and infact had a plank of wood under the matres.

Read More
Read Less

Air conditioning did not work during the stay

By

July 26, 2021

club

Sleep was significantly affected due to lack of airflow

Read More
Read Less

a noisy Hotel when you can find it

By

July 26, 2021

Did not enjoy hotel, looks to need refurbishment, Very noisy when guest doors shut! bREAKFAST WAS FREE BUT EAT THE COLD BUFFET

Read More
Read Less

Easy check in

By

July 25, 2021

platinumelite

You always know what to expect at IGH, clean areas, helpful staff, very pleased

Read More
Read Less

OK but not great

By

July 25, 2021

club

Staff very friendly, comfy beds and pillows with good cooked breakfast.
However, no signage to Hotel and Satnav could only get me so far - be prepared to have problems finding it. WiFi blip, noisy doors slamming, flies around cereal, eve food average (at most), rooms a little tired with one of our rooms having very noisy air con.

Read More
Read Less

Far better than expected…..

By

July 24, 2021

On arrival the signage was so poor we had to ask a local postman even though sat Nav said we where there(you will see)
That was completely off set when a young lady called Storm at reception could not have been more helpful she put us into room 40 at back of hotel near reception even though we had arrived a little early, this made our day. Thank you Storm.
The other staff where helpful and friendly over our stay but Storm stood out she should be used to train others in customer service. Room needed a bit of a tidy up on walls and chair was awful. Outside seating area was unkempt

Read More
Read Less